We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oxley Court Serviced Apartments
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Tired”
Reviewed 7 March 2013 via mobile

Location is good but the positives end there. These units are probably more suited to families than business travelers but the price is hard to justify.

Overpriced tired rooms, uncomfortable bed and shower head set so low that you need to sit on the floor to get your head wet.

From an accessibility POV, note that there is no lift to upper floors, only stairs.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomadicOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OxleyCourtCanberra, Owner at Oxley Court Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Hi NomadicOz

Thank you for your feed back and review.

I'am sorry your stay was not suitable. Since your visit early March, we have new beds and bed linen in all apartments.

All apartments have an adjustable shower heads to accommodate different heights. I am not sure if yours had been adjusted when showering.

Regards
Rob Spry
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    70
    21
    10
    0
See reviews for
82
21
1
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blue Mountains NSW
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We - 2 middle aged couples - were happy with our 6-day stay at Oxley Court. The apartment was clean and spacious and the beds were comfortable. There is only one bathroom/toilet, but it is very large and well ventilated, so this was no problem. In retrospect, I realise that I should have asked for an apartment on the ground floor or even the first floor, as the stairs to the second floor got a bit much after about the second day! There was nobody in reception when we arrived, but there were clear directions as to how to contact the manager, who told us how to get our key. He also arrived quite quickly, and was kind enough to carry our bags up the 2 flights of stairs. The apartments are a little tired, but the location is fantastic, and I would recommend Oxley Court to other travellers.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OxleyCourtCanberra, Owner at Oxley Court Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Hi Ruth S

Thank you for you positive feed back.

We do recommend guests who book to request either upstairs or ground floor. Sorry we had you upstairs.

Regards
Rob Spry
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We stayed here last night, it was a great apartment and a fantastic location! Great restaurants near by!
Bed was ok, the walls though are way to thin! And you could here above! Everything!!!!! A bit annoying, it would have been perfect if it wasn't for an annoying woman upstairs!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We booked a few days ahead as other properties I was interested in seemed to be filling up on the two nights we wanted. We arrived mid afternoon from Sydney and were, a little perfunctorily I thought, even though the lady at reception was serving someone else, directed to our apartment.
The apartment was large, with a big living area and kitchen. Two bedrooms, a bathroom and a laundry were fine, and although the linen, bedcovers etc were all very clean and tidy, the bathroom fixtures and the lounge furniture was tired, and because the bathroom and laundry had no outside windows, they seemed dull and dark.
We stayed two nights and were happy with our stay, although the flat we were in - 21 - did need updating. We would return and stay.
The location of the apartments was good with shops and restaurants, nearby as well as the major attractions south of the Lake. It must be remembered that a car is vital in Canberra!

Room Tip: Not able to help as only saw/stayed in one room - see above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinLeChaudLapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OxleyCourtCanberra, Owner at Oxley Court Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Dear RobinLeChaudLapin,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

We thank you for your positive comments on our large and clean apartments.

The Oxley Court Apartments is currently in its last stage of refurbishment.
We have recently given all our rooms a new coat of paint.
In addition, we are also about to update our lounge furniture with new lounge covers and lounge seats.

We hope that with all the new changes, our apartments will look more lively and homely.

We have received many positive comments about the comfort of our apartments and hope to continue satisfying our guests.
Thank you.
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I have been travelling approximately 30 weeks a year for over 20-years and the beds in this hotel were the worst I've ever encountered. How a hotelier can think this is acceptable is beyond me. I challenge the owners to try sleeping in any of the beds in room 14 and come away believing the average traveller could possibly get a decent night's sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OxleyCourtCanberra, Owner at Oxley Court Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

We have taken your comments into consideration and replaced the mattress in the apartment you stayed in with a brand new mattress.

In addition, our bed comforters have recently been replaced with thicker and more luxurious ‘bed toppers’ in all rooms.

Please view the link below for more information on the specific bed toppers we use at Oxley Court.
http://www.hotelhome.com.au/HotelHomeWWW/Otheritem/BedTopper.php
These bed toppers are very comfortable and we have received excellent feedback recently on our beds.

Thank you.
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Stayed at these serviced apartments as a group of more than 50 people. They were in a good location in Kingston however I must say I was disappointed with my stay there. We had to continually ask for the apartment to be cleaned and at one stage the room wasn't cleaned for two days. That was even though one of the people in our apartment spoke to the front office and they said it would be done. The other thing that really annoyed me was that they offer Free Wi-Fi. I will give you a little of advice. If you are going to offer Wi-Fi then you actually have to make sure it works. It is very frustrating trying to access the internet and not being able to. It was very very very slow when it did work and that would be for only for a few minutes before it ceased working. The excuse that many people accessing it at once doesn't wash with me. I tried early in the morning at 5.30 am and even late at night after midnight and still had the same problems. Very disappointing to say the least.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wineguy1744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OxleyCourtCanberra, Owner at Oxley Court Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Dear Wineguy1744,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

I will take this opportunity to point out that the group you stayed with was offered a very competitive rate on our apartments due to the large group booking. As part of the competitive rate, the organisers were informed that your apartments would be serviced each day and thoroughly cleaned once a week.
The housemaids came into all the apartments each day to change the towels and replace the tea, coffee, shampoos, soaps etc. The housemaids also cleaned the apartments thoroughly once a week, replacing the bed linen, vacuuming , mopping etc.

If you have a look at previous comments made on TripAdvisor, you will note that guests regularly comment on the high standards of cleanliness in our apartments.

As for your comments with regards to the Free Wi-Fi,

Since your stay with us in October, we have upgraded our Internet plans and are happy to report that there have been no problems since then. We have purchased a higher credit Internet plan and replaced the modems and routers

Thank you,
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We recently stayed at the Oxley Court Serviced Apartments in Canberra. Based on some of our past experiences and also based on some of the reviews posted on this website, we were expecting an average experience whilst mentally preparing ourselves for a bad experience. However, I am delighted to say that we were pleasantly surprised and very happy with our stay. For starters, the rooms are huge. We were staying as a family of 6 and there was enough and more space for all of us. The lounge room is a reasonably big size and there was ample space even after the sofa bed was open. We did not have to fold the sofa bed back each day because there was another sofa that we could use during the day. The kitchen and the bathroom were spotlessly clean and spacious. The bed linen and towels were spotless. The staff at the reception and the service staff were very helpful and supplied any additional bed linens, etc. that we requested. The biggest surprise was that, unlike other serviced apartments/hotels that we have been to in the past, the towels, toiletries, tea supplies, washing supplies are all replenished daily. They even make the beds daily. I have never experienced that before. The only thing that could improve is the décor which is quite standard and basic. However, I would happily settle for clean living conditions over ambience. Also, having just 1 bathroom meant there was a bit of a scramble to get ready in the morning. We will be returning whenever we need a place to stay in Canberra. We will also be recommending this place to our friends.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor have a courtyard. We had read a review saying that the room behind the off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.2 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
1,770 reviews
0.2 mi away
Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra
0.7 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 57 in Canberra
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#12 of 57 in Canberra
596 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
2,601 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brassey Hotel
Brassey Hotel
#24 of 57 in Canberra
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxley Court Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxley Court Serviced Apartments

Property: Oxley Court Serviced Apartments
Address: 9 Dawes Streets | Kingston, Canberra 2604, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oxley Court Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Oxley Court Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxley Court Serviced Apartments Hotel Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing