We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service”
Review of Bollywood Masala Dickson - CLOSED

Bollywood Masala Dickson
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Bollywood Masala is an award winning Indian restaurant operating in Dickson for over 9 years and newly opened in Kingston. Its commitment to cooking food in the traditional indian style, using key ingredients cooked in-house, set it apart from other Indian restaurants. While all dishes are prepared with equal love and attention, signature dishes like the Leg of Lamb, Stuffed Squid, Dal Bollywood and fig and almond kulfi are worth a try. All food is cooked to order and naan breads served fresh from the tandoor. Plenty of vegetarian, gluten free options. Takeaway meals and competitively priced catering services are available.
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I went to dine with my friends one night. I must compliment the food, it was a delight but on the other hand the service made it worse as we came to pay the bill and one the server was vacuuming in the restaurant and while we were at the counter paying the bill. He was vacuuming around that area and literally he asked us to get out of the restaurant saying " can you move I have to vacuum" and then abruptly and rudely said " Goodnight" as if we are someone from the road. All in all it started well but ended in a very appauling experience.
I have been coming to this restaurant for such a long time now and never experienced something like this.

3  Thank Harish44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BollywoodMasala, Owner at Bollywood Masala Dickson, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hi there - thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. Given that you are a regular customer you are well placed to comment on our consistency of food and service (or lack thereof!). I am very apologetic for the rudeness of the waiter. He should not have done so as per our customer service standards that all staff are aware of. I have discussed the matter with him and the manager (as I was not there that day) and have been assured that this won't occur again. I am happy for you to call the restaurant number at any time to discuss this further with me, as any further feedback you have is valued and will be acted on. Or drop me an email at the restaurant email address bmdickson@bollywoodmasala.com.au Thanks Arjan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

A group of us dined here a few weeks ago - didn't make a booking but were warmly welcomed. The food was absolutely delicious! 3 meat dishes and 1 veg plus bread, we were all extremely satisfied! Cold beer available and not too long a wait. Meals aren't huge but are definitely quality over quantity, and the naan bread made the sizes perfect! Will be going back sometime soon!

2  Thank Food4thoughtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

we visited this restaurant last weekend a last minute booking.
They were able to take us it was a very nice meal.
the service was friendly and attentive and the food really good.
The breads and rice beautifully cooked nice and light.
The mixed entrees were a treat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

A year ago we ate at the Kingston Bollywood Marsala, which was equally enjoyable. Tonight it was closed so we drove to the Dickson restaurant. It was outstanding as well !

Great authentic taste, excellent service on a busy night.

We really enjoy these places when in Canberra.

3  Thank CUS0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BollywoodMasala, Owner at Bollywood Masala Dickson, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Hi - many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate you driving to Dickson given our Kingston restaurant was closed. Thank you for your ongoing support given that you visited Kingston a year ago. We have passed on your views to our team in Dickson. Regards Arjan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Ok, we ordered takeaway so I don't know about the customer service or atmosphere. But, the Dahl Bollywood (a creamy vego lentil curry) and Beef Madras (beef and potatoes curry) we got were really yum. The curries tasted of a comforting, complex blend of lovely spices. The naan were nice and the vegetarian samosas were huge, but unfortunately a bit dry. Don't let that put you off - the curries were one of the nicest we've had in a long time.

    • Value
    • Food
3  Thank carooolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BollywoodMasala, Owner at Bollywood Masala Dickson, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Hi thanks for taking the time to provide feedback. We apologise that the samosas were a bit dry - we have passed on that feedback to our chef. We appreciate the positive feedback as well and that has also been passed on to the team including the chefs.

Regards

Arjan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bollywood Masala Dickson also viewed

 
Curtin, Canberra
Belconnen, Canberra
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing