We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exquisitively choreographed, simple, good value”
Review of Jimmys Place

Jimmys Place
Ranked #585 of 1,376 Restaurants in Canberra
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Athens
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“exquisitively choreographed, simple, good value”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

In a suburban Chinatown in Dixon a spacious, well informed fare-wise (poor wine choices though- BYO if you want) high speed in delivery restaurant where fresh, nicely prepared, extremely popular with all aficionados. It is neither ambiential, nor romantic but efficient, responsive, vibrant,. The waiters and the lady in charge of the place run in a ballet trot ceremony. It may be disconcerting and your order may be forced a bit but it is not so. The place caters for a 'massive audience'. Come a bit early or late. Well lit and good food. Serves practically everything.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bardangas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    41
    12
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Busy but Average”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Plenty of people seated & eating attracted us to Jimmy's but the food was disappointing. The 2 dishes we ordered were bland & the sauces gelatinous in texture. While the chicken was moist & tender, the beef was sinewy & too chewy. Service was good but I'm sure you could do better

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LKay54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quality tasty Chinese food”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

You know a good Chinese restaurant when you see more Chinese people eating there than white people. So you know it’s got to be good!

This large family run Chinese restaurant has gone from strength to strength over the years. With dedicated and hard working individuals making outstanding and very tasty good looking food, both take away and dine in.

The restaurant, has a cool, crisp, clean look and is a bit noisy, but if you can’t enjoy yourself over dinner with family and friends, then I guess you shouldn’t go out. But that is what you should expect from a busy and successful restaurant.

Very rarely will you see this place empty, and it’s extremely as uncommon you see an unhappy customer here!

If you are after a family sized dinner with a couples budget this place will make you feel happy that you still left with change in your pocket.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DJ147Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Tasteless”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Welcomed by a nice friendly waiter ,I started with a short soup and dim sims(steamed),both nice and hot. My main meal was noodle combination which was tasteless , it was drowning in sauce which made the crispy noodles soft. The amount of food you get is very good. When paying the bill I found the service to be very rude, throwing my receipt back to me.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Don1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“One of the best Chinese meals we have had anywhere!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Yummy yummy!! What a great meal. Have not been to this restaurant before, but will definitely return. After wandering around the great food precinct of Dickson, we decided on Jimmys, as it was fairly full, and many were Asians, which is a good sign. Well, our theory worked once again. It was delicious. And also very reasonable cost. Service was friendly and first class. Very clean and well set up. There were many families, and young groups also.could not fault it. Everyone was given a plate of orange wedges, just to finish off a great evening.
If travelling from the north, just turn left off Northbourne Ave to Dickson shops and Jimmys is right on the corner in the middle of the restaurants opposite the Irish Pub. If you are there in the evening you can park in the shopping centre car park at times, with no fee. Check it out. You pay everywhere to park in Canberra. So always have change with you. We travel through to family in Jindabyne regularly and are slowly getting used to Canberra, as we stop overnight to break the trip.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank penwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jimmys Place also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to Jimmys Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing