We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious and inexpensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Dolce Vita

La Dolce Vita
Ranked #227 of 1,352 Restaurants in Canberra
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Samford, QLD
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious and inexpensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

La Dolce Vita has a warm and fun atmosphere. The scampi was sublime, as was the pizza and the sticky date pudding to follow while the service very friendly and efficient. Good value for money too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank pandapower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    45
    19
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cleanliness from the fifties”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

A foul environment and one sure to put you off your food. They should give out dry cleaning vouchers on the way out. This place is disgusting with large tins of tomato paste used to hold open the toilet doors. The food is good however there are better places around for the money or a little bit extra. Do not wash before hand.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not what it used to be.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

The service was sporadic. Quite good to get us seated but then long intervals between plate clearing and seeing if we needed coffee and dessert. The pasta, for those that had it were very pleased but for those of us who had steak, we thought it was very average. Skimpy on veg, not the most tender of steak and overall tasteless. We used to come to La Dolce Vita a lot over the years but felt it was tired and in real need of a re-think. Meal cost over $268 which we don't mind but for average food??? Sadly I think this will be our last visit unless I hear or much improved reports.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queanbeyan, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
248 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“A most enjoyable dinner. I will go back again.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

We had booked and were happy with the service even though it was very busy. The menu was quite extensive but most of the dishes had cream added to the sauce. Not being a fan of rich food I chose the very traditional "Spag Bol" and asked for mushrooms to be add. My three friends and I all agreed that the food was excellent. We will be back..

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

We dropped in here unexpectedly for dinner to discover that while the place looked quiet, in fact all tables were booked out and it was a busy night coming. The staff there still managed to organise us a table (outside) and looked after us extremely well. Meals were very nice and the service was great, we really enjoyed our experience here. The Chocolate pizza for desert was a hit with our youngest.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Dolce Vita also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing