We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok food but why a TV?”
Review of Rocksalt

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rocksalt
Ranked #876 of 1,376 Restaurants in Canberra
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Bermagui, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Ok food but why a TV?”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

3 of us had lunch here and the food and service was quite nice but while they seem to be trying to have a relaxed atmosphere I can't understand why they would have a TV playing above the bar and facing into the dining area. Thankfully they didn't have midday soapies on!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    32
    19
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hawker, Australia
1 review
“Unbelievable ,disappointing apathetic service”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We eat breakfast at Rock Salt about every 2 months.
Service has unfortunately been going down hill, but our last breakfast I felt it was close to the worst I have had anywhere!!
We were seated on a dirty table which I had to ask to be cleaned.
Our breakfast arrived and we went to start realising we had no cuttlery.
An ingredient listed on the menu was not present in my dish, when asked about this the waiter questioned if I was sure, before going to check with the kitchen. After waiting 5-10 minutes I enquired again and the waiter was exceptionally defensive saying he hadn't had time to go and buy it!!!
When the ingredient (avocado ) was finally added to my now cold meal it was delivered with a quick comment about it being hard!!!! AND it WAS No offer of discounting or genuine apology was made ,we their unvalued customers were just expected to pay the $70 bill. THAT WILL BE THE LAST TIME we put ourselves through such a frustrating breakfast out at Rock Salt.
LIFT YOUR GAME

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DMJ2453588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rocksalt rocks!”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We had a wonderful dinner last night with 4 friends and the food was spectacular. I haven't eaten so well in ages - every plate was a visual work of art and the flavour combinations were thrilling. My duck confit salad was to die for, and as for the Beef cheeks... mmmm! Servings were very generous which was a nice surprise, and well worth the price. The wine list was brilliant, and my only regret was being to full (after 2 courses) to enjoy dessert, as the brulee and the soft meringue looked enticing at tables nearby. Our smiling waitress was very attentive and the room was warm, cosy and colourful on a bleak winter's night; I think none of us really wanted to leave!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah255057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batemans Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great local”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

What a treat to not have to drive far for excellent food. Its a winner and the staff excel in great service.

Helpful?
Thank CocoCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cozy, fun dining”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Time to catch up wth friends, so we needed somewhere that you could talk and not be crowded out with noise. Rocksalt offers prompt service, a cozy atmosphere and good value.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lat36s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rocksalt also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Kingston, Canberra
 

Been to Rocksalt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing