We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best Indian food in canberra. ”

Ruchi South Indian Cuisine
Ranked #860 of 1,348 Restaurants in Canberra
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best Indian food in canberra. ”
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

The deep fried mushroom appetiser is superb. Love the butter chicken unlike in other Indian restaurant they taste sweet in Ruchi was perfect. The cumin rice.... Love it. The Nan oh yummy and the dosai. Couldn't help myself when I was there. Everyone was friendly and very quick service.

Helpful?
2 Thank Cbishier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    2
    3
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
oak flats
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Nice Food”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Very nice food. Lovely service. Great atmosphere. Very friendly people.Used a coupon & had no problems at all. Even able to take the left overs home.Would recommend for sure

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank captmacOakFlats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“Excellent service - great food at a good price”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I have eaten here since 1988 and I have never had a bad meal. The service is excellent (interesting how earlier reviews say the waitresses were too pushy or not pushy enough - perhaps that's more a reflection of the person's preferences but I've never had an issue).
My favourites are the Lamb Korma and dahl markani mopped up with garlic naan.
My wife enjoys the prawn dishes.
If you're feeling really hungry an entree of lamb cutlets or tandoor chicken is the answer. or if you prefer sweets than entrees the gulab jaman (Probably spelt that wrong) is really nice.
The house wines are very good value but you can bring your own. We see the same old faces coming back again and again - that should tell you something - and Rita knows every one of them and what their preferences are and where they like to sit and its a great family atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iji63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad attitude...poor service and bad food...”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Me & my wife ordered Dosa, which was served with 2 types of chutney and sambhar.
Funny part is that sambhar was served like chutney(very less quantity). I mentioned the lady there that this much of sambhar is too less for dosa and her reply was "IT IS ANOUGH FOR NORMAL PEOPLE, HOWEWER I CAN SERVE YOU SOME MORE SAMBHAR". It seems that she blamed us as over eater.....
It is more like a take away type, they will bring the food to your table and if you need any thing...call & keep on waiting..
Please be careful if you don't want be treated bad...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank deepak2003kc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OKay food...UGLY Customer service”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

The staff seems little interested in you...your order or your views..."indian" culture is suppossedly welcoming guest but at Ruchis i reckon they dont want people to come as if they are forced to work there...wldnt try again just for the customer service ...go for flavours of india...good food...treated beautifully...

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sudhanshu V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ruchi South Indian Cuisine also viewed

 
Curtin, Canberra
Belconnen, Canberra
 

Been to Ruchi South Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing