We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lack of staff made service slow” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waldorf on London

Waldorf on London
Ranked #466 of 1,330 Restaurants in Canberra
Price range: US$10 - US$26
Cuisines: Australian, Bar, Cafe, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lack of staff made service slow”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Had dinner on Thursday before seeing a show at the theatre. Only two staff covering both bar, indoor and outdoor tables which were 60% full. Took 56 mins for one drink and one main and for both orders we had to actually grab the staff attention. For $35 the two course deal is a good price but we ordered the pork belly for entre and got two very small squares. The calamari entre would have been a better option as it was large enough to share. The steak and lamb mains were tasty but you need to order sides as the size isnt great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrissa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    21
    14
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ok Brekkie, good staff poor systems ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Staff were excellent switched on and friendly, healthy Brekkie was fast and well presented, however to stipulate a $20 credit card minimum is unreasonable and rarely seen, and the wifi was Unavailable unless I was a hotel guest, stupid if this is supposed to be a coffee shop open to the public. Free wifi in coffee shops attracts business peeps, How hard is it !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jake A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albufeira, Portugal
2 reviews
“nice breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

we have nice breakfast twice in this hotel restaueant.Pleasant feeling about the restaurant.Good service.good selection of food.Did not have dinner at this place so cant make further comments

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bardil99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice space, staff and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

I had room service from here while I was staying in the hotel. Apart from a lack of colour the meal was excellent in taste. I also had breakfast and also a meeting in the morning with morning tea. Nice space. Happy friendly staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Campaspediva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lunch special was a bit hit and miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

My work colleagues and i attended The Waldorf for a farewell lunch.

The $16 lunch specials menu looked very appealing, however, some of the meals were good value for money where others such as the salt and pepper squid consisted of 5 small soggy looking rings of calamari on a bed of salad........didn't look at all appetising as soon as it hit the table.

I ordered the steak sandwich which i was very impressed with. The steak was melt-in-your-mouth quality.

The waiting staff were unattentive to their customers (not just our table that we saw). It took ages before they asked if we would like drinks, and after we finished our meals they weren't even interested to ask us if we wanted coffee or dessert (which many of us did want to).

I will go back again in the hope that the meals and service have improved.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fruzydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waldorf on London also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to Waldorf on London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing