We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Realm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Realm
Ranked #11 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fabulous getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed Friday, Saturday Åland Sunday.
Got a great deal with full breakfast and comp drinks each night. Also our room was a suite which also had a great kitchenette.
From check in the service was exceptional and nothing was any trouble.
Initially booked two nights and added another night on check in.
The room was clean and very comfortable and the bed was ideal and we slept well each night.
The buffet breakfast was yummy and again the staff were friendly. The bar is quirky and comfortable with sunken lounges, leather lounges.
I have no hesitation in recommending the realm hotel to anyone.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    338
    172
    57
    32
See reviews for
153
393
50
307
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had two nights this weekend. Wonderful amenities, warm inviting environment, and generally friendly staff. The soak in the spa was just amazing, but then you notice one of the ducts along side the lap pool seems like it's never been dusted, and then you notice that several of the ducts have dirt trails down the wall.

On first arrival, the bed seemed like a soft cloud of bliss, but sleeping on it left us waking up a lot during the night trying to find a comfy spot. The bed seemed to have been so soft that it was sagging and leaving a rather unnatural sleeping position. Leaving our sleep on the second night just as interrupted.

The telly was an ok size, but the quality of vision left us wanting, it was like an old SD TV, Not sure if it was an old TV or if the Apple TV was causing the problems.

Theses little things are not quite what one would expect from a five start hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jubes70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We booked the one-night staycation package. We were blown away by the room (biggest hotel room I've had). There was wine tasting, honey tasting and food tasting. The restaurant was great and the service was fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LHSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is the first review I've ever left on a website but the 'Staycation' package at Hotel Realm was amazing. For $199.00 we received an excellent room, free parking and a $100.00 voucher to use at the restaurants and bars. Awesome value at a wonderful hotel. The Hotel also organised: a wine tasting from local wineries Eden Road, Mount Majura and Shaw; a food tasting at Maple and Clove (including delicious honey from Canberra Urban Honey - harvested from the roof of the hotel) and an organised tour of the National Gallery for those on their 'Staycation'. A great opportunity to have a relaxing 'holiday' without the flight or drive ... highly recommended and congrats to Hotel Realm for this initiative... thanks Mark and Rebecca

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Am really impressed with Realm. We had a suite which is the size a well set out one bed apartment. Bed was comfortable. Kitchen with wash/dryer which helps when a quick wash is required. Location is great for the regular Canberra activities.

Room Tip: Maybe request an outside of of the complex room to look out not into other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here thinking it was 5 star but unfortuneately we were disappointed - the place was not that clean and certailny out of date with a decor that when it wad new may have just made the grade but has aged in quality and style very quickly. That said the beds were commfortable room service prompt and it was packaged with a zoo and aquarium tour. off the list for next time I am afraid guys.

Room Tip: were on the western side of the hotel on the first floor ( if I have my bearings correct ) and we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinandNarelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Very nice foyer and friendly check in. Room looked directly in to other rooms over a courtyard. Bed extremely comfy and had the best nights' sleep but lounge room furniture eclectic and uncomfortable. Great TV/movies/apple entertainment. Kitchen looked like a bathroom and very dark! Nespresso machine but no milk frother or real Nespresso capsules only 3 Coles ones and Teabags disgusting...need to improve. Asked for fresh milk to be sent up as only UHT. Lovely Occitane products in bathroom. Helpful at desk when hiring bikes. Hiring bikes the BEST thing to do in Canberra. Had drinks and dinner in funky bar downstairs very nice and good atmosphere on a Sunday night. Breakfast was very nice but not as good as some. No omelettes or coffees being made to order. Had lunch at great cafe accross the road Maple and Clove and enjoyed shopping at nearby Manuka. Great location for Parliament House Questacon Galleries etc.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of Parliament House on level 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
0.6 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,686 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
2.6 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#15 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Realm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Realm

Property: Hotel Realm
Address: 18 National Cct | Barton, Canberra 2600, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Canberra
#7 Business Hotel in Canberra
#9 Family Hotel in Canberra
#11 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
#11 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Realm 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the footsteps of Parliament House in Canberra, the multi-award winning 5 Star Hotel Realm is part of a truly mixed-use precinct next to the Parliamentary Triangle. Hotel Realm offers 163 hotel and suite style accommodation rooms each with Malin+Goetz amenities, Apple(R) Mac-Mini in-room system and Nespresso coffee machines. Complimented by an in house day spa, state of the art health club, fine dining, casual dining, lounge bars, wholefoods cafe and onsite pharmacy. Combining contemporary elegance with avant-garde design, Hotel Realm is Canberra's only AAA rated 5 Star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Realm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Realm Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing