We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A long time favourite for Yum Cha and crispy skin roast duck with soya sauce”
Review of Dumpling Inn

Dumpling Inn
Ranked #210 of 1,359 Restaurants in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$13
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Canberra
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A long time favourite for Yum Cha and crispy skin roast duck with soya sauce”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This restaurant used to be in Aranda, but moved to Macquarie about 20 years ago. The food is more Hong Kong style but they do have some tasty dishes and their yum cha is always popular and reasonably priced. I really enjoy the crispy skin roast duck with soya sauce but their other dishes are also good with blackboard specials (you need to look as they are not always obvious).
It can get crowded so if you have a group it is probably best to book. They are closed on Mondays.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SirRacket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    28
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great Dumplings”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Fantastic dumplings, great service and the pepper prawns were good too! Great Chinese food, busy on a Wednesday night. Definitely make a booking.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rockstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top quality chinese in canberra”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

After eating at a lot of restaurants in china and haymarket In Sydney, my expectations of chinese food in Canberra were set quite low. I was pleasantly surprised with the takeaway meal I had. The scallion cakes were delicious, and the 3 cup chicken while not using the standard small boney bits of chicken was made so much nicer with a cut not using fiddly bones. Lots of people of Chinese descent were eating there which is often a good sign. Would highly recommend if looking for chinese food in Canberra.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelling_djc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth it”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I went the dumpling inn in Dickson the waitress and the chef so honest especially when I asked one of the food had pork or not even it doesn't say on the menu and they told me it has pork in it. Thank you and appreciate your honesty. The food was superb

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cbishier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed 22 November 2012

This restaurant in Belconnen is becoming an institution.
The food is consistently good and it is often difficult to get a table if you haven't booked even on week nights.
They are famous for their delicious dumplings and noodles and there are some adventurous items on the menu. Very noisy at times but it is a great place to go with a crowd but not for intimate dining.
I believe that Yum Cha at the weekend is excellent too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank gemmabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dumpling Inn also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Belconnen, Canberra
 

Been to Dumpling Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing