We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well price spacious apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Observatory Holiday Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Kiama, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Well price spacious apartments”
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Have stayed here a few times. The apartments are close to town, very close to station (although we did not here any trains). Staff are friendly and the place is nice and quiet. Close walk to a range of place to eat. I walked to the beach and island, but may a bit far for young kids. But definitely only a short drive.
Air conditioner is in the lounge so needed to leave bedroom doors open.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimWilco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    87
    12
    0
    4
See reviews for
68
53
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012 via mobile

These units are nice & tidy although a little dated. My main issue was the bed is way overdue for replacement, I wish these sorts of places would at Least make sure the bed was comfortable. Our other issue was noise, we could clearly hear the neighbour as they tinkled in the toilet then flushed it, not exactly the serene sounds I want to drift off to sleep to! Otherwise, they are a good place to stay, other reviews mention the railway, and whilst it is close and noisy, trains seldom pass through so this is not a big issue. There is a pub and a strip of cafes and restaurants within a 1 minute walk and jetty foreshore is close by too. The free wifi is very slow so don't get too excited about that! The staff are very friendly and it was easy to check in and they have undercover parking too...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyTravelbug88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Stayed here in September 2011,we where in the area for Rally Australia and the observatory was recommended to us,very friendly staff had a jacuzzi room overlooking the harbour and had a great view of the super special stage on the esplanade,great eating and drinking places near may be back next year

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welltraveled025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Our stay at the apartments was mixed. The staff were very helpful and view AMAZING. The location is great. The Coffs Harbour jetty area has some great restaurants. We dined at fiasco, it's modern Italian food is to die for and crying tiger, which had delicious Thai. The area is naturally beautiful with clean beaches and nice walks.

However, the downside to the location is that the apartment is on the train line. When we arrived police forensics were there in one of the rooms and a note had been slipped under the door warning us of crime. A little concerning.

Also, our apartment was on the 4th floor, but no lift! Ouch w bags and kids. The apartment itself needed a modernise and Reno. Patches were made on the wall in a different paint colour, as opposed to painting the entire wall and there was no artwork, just dodgy canvases covered in fabric. The dining setting was an old fashioned gold coast style came and the kitchenette was 1990's yellow and blue.

Overall, are there better choices area... Perhaps not, Coffs is not known for its accommodation, but for the jetty location this is probably a reasonable choice.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loz201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitmad, Manager at The Observatory Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
So lovely to hear that you enjoyed the view and the you thought that our restaurants and cafes are close and handy and are of such high standards, it is a great place to walk around and enjoy all that the Jetty has to offer!
As the train station and train line runs straight through the Jetty area of Coffs Harbour, there is nowhere that you can stay in Coffs Harbour that can offer the view and the convenience to the Harbour, Mariner, Foreshore and Restaurants but the Jetty, so we are stuck with the train station and train line at the Jetty, but as we are opposite to the train station and that is, for some of our travellers actually very handy as well, so there is a plus side to the location also, especially when the steam train comes to town, we love it!
In relation to the forensic office being here when you arrived, there was a spate of break-in's that had occurred during the school holidays at Holiday Accommodation Providers of all standards up and down the Coast and the Police actually issued the warning and asked me to advise our guests, as they had been gaining access to apartments where people on high balconies had not locked their balcony doors when retiring to bed of an evening, so I was just doing the right thing for my guests by issuing the notice and also to the community abroad by offering them to come and fingerprint the door where there were distinct prints on our and I will quote the Officer "this glass is so clean, I won't even have to dust it", glass doors. What was also interesting was that while speaking to the Officer she also said that "she didn't know where the Observatory actually was, as she had never been called to come down here before" and has done that same job for 10 years in Coffs Harbour, so her comment to me was that , we must take care of security very well and she is correct, as that is the first incident of that nature in the only 12 years that the Observatory has been operating. My husband and I did everything to ensure people and talk to people personally as well, so not to cause alarm, we also live on site and have valuables in our own home that we protect. It happens that the thieves were professional and passing through the popular holiday areas just targeting apartments that had the balcony doors unlocked, hence the warning that I supplied to all of my guests.
We enjoy over 85% average occupancy here, and out of that percentage over 65% is repeat business,so finding time for reno's is a little hard but we have started and are gradually working through it, but it is a slow process to also keep the apartments functioning.
So please to anybody that is reading this review do not let the security issue scare you as I have explained it was a one off, very unfortunate event that did only affect 1 of our 21 apartments.
I do hope that you will both come and stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
werribee, victoria
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We were a group of 6 adults, 2 from Melbourne, 2 from Evans Head & 2 from Stanthorpe, so we had come together to catch up, have a few drinks, watch the footy and have a good time sightseeing in Coffs Harbour, we stayed here in a 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment and had a fantastic weekend, the lady in charge was very helpful and even lent us her bbq, for us to use on our balcony so we didn't have to leave our own place, thanks for that. Recommend this to anyone, although it is close to the station and you can sometimes hear the trains, but not enough to stop us from booking here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buggsusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Close to the Jetty area where there is a good choice of restaurants and cafes. I only stayed a few nights but the apartment was very roomy and would be ideal for a family staying for several weeks. While not on the beachfront, it is only about 10-15 mins walk to the harbour beach. Good standard with all the furnishings and equipment you need.

Room Tip: Rooms with a harbour view are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emerys2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We had two nights in a second floor apartment which offered spectacular views of the ocean and harbour. Our 2 bedroom apartment was spacious enough for 4 people. Facilities available for preparing your own meals.
Only a short walk to the hotel and a street full of restaurants for a wide choice of meals.
Close to train station.
The owner operators are most helpful with advice and suggestions for things to see and do such as the Cartoon Bunker and local sights.

Room Tip: Upper levels for the best views but there are no elevators so be prepared to use stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcu13909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#14 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
185 reviews
3.2 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#4 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
375 reviews
1.1 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pacific Marina Apartments
Pacific Marina Apartments
#10 of 42 in Coffs Harbour
209 reviews
2.4 mi away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#2 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
2,484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caribbean Motel
Caribbean Motel
#6 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Observatory Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Observatory Holiday Apartments

Property: The Observatory Holiday Apartments
Address: 30-36 Camperdown St, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Observatory Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Observatory provides luxury to suit your every need. Surrounded by the unique atmosphere and vibrance of Coffs Harbour's cosmopolitan Jetty area. Spacious 1, 2 & 3 bedroom self catering apartments with private balconies allow you to take in the spectacular harbour, foreshore and ocean views. Centrally located, it's an easy walk to the beach , marina, markets, restaurants and shopping. Onsite managers, Daniel & Emily have a tour desk that will ensure you get the most out of every day. Over night or weekly accommodation is available and the corporate sector well catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Observatory Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing