We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Observatory Holiday Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2013 via mobile

This is a basic holiday unit where a small family or a few friends can base themselves while exploring Coffs. The location is near the cafe strip but you need to drive to get to the beach or jetty. It has good amenities, although simple, and the views from the upstairs balcony are nice. There are staircases to get upstairs, so if you have lots of gear then get a ground floor apartment.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravBugTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitmad, Manager at The Observatory Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thank you for your kind words and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and also took advantage of our location near the Jetty Restaurant Strip and also had a chance to admire the views.
We look forward to greeting you again at the Observatory should you need accommodation again in Coffs Harbour.
Warmest Regards
Billy-Joh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2013

My husband and I have stayed here quite a few times. Each time we have found the rooms to be clean and the staff fantastic. The manager Bill-Joh is excellent she is always friendly and goes out of her way to make sure our stay is perfect. I would recommend staying at the observatory apartments. Its so close to the jetty and restaurants its the perfect spot for a weekend getaway.
You have every thing you need free internet, pay t.v, aircon, ocean views all the comforts of home. Can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank rad375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitmad, Manager at The Observatory Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thank you for a great review, we like to ensure that all our guests want to return as you have and that you continue to receive the same level of service and beautiful clean apartments each and every time that you return.
See you soon as I notice that you are booked again.
Warmest Regards
Billy-Joh
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Stayed at the observatory, Because a friend recommended it. Good choice down the jetty strip area. close to the restaurants and cafes, had some harbour views, but was better when we walked there, rooms very clean and tidy, beds were great.free internet.it was not the cheapest but worth every cent i paid,all i can say it thanks BJ great service
thanks for a pleasant stay

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martymoose69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitmad, Manager at The Observatory Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

It is my pleasure to provide service to all of our guests, just like they are family.
We are so pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us after a recommendation.
Hope to you see you again when next you are in Coffs Harbour.
Warmest Regards
Billy-Joh
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a touch football tournament. Lady who greeted us and other staff on site went out if their way to make us welcome and comfortable. Place is pretty basic but great views. Beds comfortable, kitchen works well. Unfort tile floor was a bit unexpected for us touch football people that need to stretch. Beware the train noise. The place is right outside the station and while it didn't worry us there were trains coming through at all hours. Can recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bblech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitmad, Manager at The Observatory Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and we are pleased to note that our service is also something that we like to pride ourselves on.
We have recently began painting in our rooms and new window furnishings, so our rooms have brighten up, just lovely.
Warmest Regards
Billy-Joh
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

My friend and I stayed at The Observatory over the weekend of the flooding, storms. We had a fantastic, spacious apartment in a good spot at Port. As we were up high, we were out of harms way and found the staff service exemplary. In particular Alicia, who went out of her way to assist us with anything we needed. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CathyShay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitmad, Manager at The Observatory Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, we were pleased to offer assistance on that horrible night of weather that we experienced.
We look forward to welcoming you again at The Observatory when next you return to hopefully show you the beautiful weather that the Coffs Coast is known for.
Warmest Regards
Billy-Joh
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We recently stayed at a two bedroom apartment. It was very clean and spacious with good facilities. The staff were very helpful. The location is excellent, just a short walk to several restaraunts and the harbour.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

Coffs Harbour was a choice on route north to the Gold Coast for a two night stay.
The choice made to stay at the observatory holiday apartments was just the ticket. Close to the beaches and harbour area it was also within easy walking distance of all the places you would need to eat.
We stayed in the spa bath studio apartment which had wonderful views out to sea and the harbour and jetty area. The fact that the railway station was just yards from the accommodation should not put you off staying here there was no problem with noise .
The bathroom with spa bath with large window looking out to sea was great watching light fail and having a drink before going out for a meal. The room was very clean and well presented. The kitchen area adequate if you needed to eat in but with the wonderful Maria's just around the corner why contemplate cooking for yourself with the standard of food available at this place. Oysters were to die for and the pasta and pizza along with the assorted meat and fish dishes made it a must whilst in Coffs Harbour.
Booking in and out of the accommodation was simple and efficient and the staff were on hand to advise on trips or things to see. If you stay there go to the hinterland and visit Doriggo lunch at the hotel was great and the building itself a gem . Danger falls was also very picturesque and well worth a visit. This really was a great place to spend a couple of nights and if we were to return a longer time would be spent at Coffs Harbour.
The observatory apartments were a great base to enjoy a wonderful part of NSW.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajd357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#13 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
193 reviews
1.1 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
273 reviews
3.2 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#5 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#2 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
2,662 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pacific Marina Apartments
Pacific Marina Apartments
#9 of 42 in Coffs Harbour
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caribbean Motel
Caribbean Motel
#7 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Observatory Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Observatory Holiday Apartments

Address: 30-36 Camperdown St, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Coffs Harbour
Price Range: £103 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Observatory Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Observatory provides luxury to suit your every need. Surrounded by the unique atmosphere and vibrance of Coffs Harbour's cosmopolitan Jetty area. Spacious 1, 2 & 3 bedroom self catering apartments with private balconies allow you to take in the spectacular harbour, foreshore and ocean views. Centrally located, it's an easy walk to the beach , marina, markets, restaurants and shopping. Onsite managers, Daniel & Emily have a tour desk that will ensure you get the most out of every day. Over night or weekly accommodation is available and the corporate sector well catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Observatory Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing