We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh seafood but a bit overpriced”

Coffs Harbour Fishermen's Co-Op
Ranked #41 of 214 Restaurants in Coffs Harbour
Price range: US$0 - US$9
Cuisines: Seafood, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: The Coffs Harbour Fishermen’s Co-operative Takeaway offers the best fish & chips in town. Our covered dining deck is a hub of activity every day of the week, popular with locals and visitors alike. On a sunny day customers have the option of sitting at the outdoor tables overlooking the fishing vessels, or taking a picnic walk to Muttonbird island. Our menu includes fish & chips, calamari, prawns, fish cocktails, salt & pepper squid, grilled fish, battered fish and crumbed fish to mention a few options. Each day there is a Specials Board indicating the daily catch in seafood (subject to availability). If your choice remains unsatisfied, you may choose any fresh seafood you like, and we will cook and prepare it to your liking for a small fee. We use mono-unsaturated cooking oil which is changed regularly. To complement our seafood, you will find a large variety of ice cream, including high quality scoops in waffle cones. We invite both adults and children to enjoy a delicious refreshing snack on any day. Chilled soft drinks and bottled water are available for purchase. The takeaway caters to group bookings as well as individual customers and families. We encourage you to bring a bottle of wine to enjoy with your meal. We are open from 9 AM to 7 PM almost every day of the year.
Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood but a bit overpriced”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

While their seafood are fresh, I think this place is a bit overpriced. A small fillet of grilled baramundi costs $12.50, a serve of 5 garlic king prawns costs $10.50.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank minhduy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    65
    35
    28
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Korora, NSW
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This place can get packed with over a 30 minute wait in the school holidays for your food.
This is the place the locals come for fresh seafood. If your there at the right time you can see them getting the fish off the boats.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Flesh81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uruguay
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“It's OK...”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We went into order and the prices looked good so we thought we would try it. I had the prawn special and Michelle had the fish and salad combo. It was ok but nothing special. The best part was the staff the girl behind the counter taking our order was super kind. When Michelle asked for extra lemons she brought us a cup full. It was nice of her.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subic, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very bad food”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We just stopped because I looked like a good location for lunch. But the seafood pack we had was very over cooked, 70 flour and no taste of seafood just flour. We had 2 meals in Coffs that day as we where where for an event, both where really not good, and with the cochroaches and dirty room in the hotel, I don't think this is the place you would want to go for a vocation. Much better, restuarants, hotels and city. Better just stop for fuel and keep on moving.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Googong NSW
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Avoid disappointment - eat elsewhere”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The fish and chips are supposedly cooked 'fresh' when you order. Our fish was not fully cooked and the chips were warm. Staff seemed uninterested, and I guess this was reflected in the quality provided. For country folk, eating good fish and chips, really fresh, is a pleasure we look forward to when we head to the coast; we won't be coming to this place again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChrisKenyon136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coffs Harbour Fishermen's Co-Op also viewed

Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
 
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
 

Been to Coffs Harbour Fishermen's Co-Op? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing