We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good facilities...”
Review of The Tahitian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Tahitian
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We had booked an apartment with a double balcony and over looking the pool, only to find when we arrived that this description was wrong.....however we paid the extra $80 to up grade to what we wanted, thankfully one was available, if not we would not have stayed here....We were originlly given a room overlooking the main road at the front, we declined this...so thank you to the lady on reception for being so helpful, even though we had to pay more...
We had a big double roomed apartment overlooking the pool and the mountain in the background.....This apartment more them met our needs, with a fully equiped kitchen, including a full sized cooker and large fridge and dish washer....the bathroom again had good facilities including a hair dryer...The main bedroom had a queen sized bed and Tv.....the 2 bedroom had two single beds in, but we used this for luggage and clothes....nice to have the space...There is a good sized clean swimming pool with hot pool and a good area attached for barbecuing....Ideal for families....across the road and you are straight onto the beach....Round the back there was a guest laundry and an area to hang clothes out

Room Tip: Go for a two bedroom apartment, more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank babe33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2012

We've just left The Tahitian after a two night stopover enroute heading south on a driving holiday with a young family and could not be happier with our choice. The 2 bedroom apartment accommodation is a high 3 1/2 star standard with separate kitchen (fullsize fridge, microwave, dishwasher, stove/oven), living area and walkout balcony. Bedrooms are a good sized with comfortable beds. The apartment is air-conditioned with fans in each room. The main living room TV has free-to-air while the main bedroom TV has Austar. Also offers free wifi with a reasonable download speed and available on multiple devices and not hardwired. The pool/spa area is very well maintained and there is a covered bbq area. It's right across the road from Park Beach which, I believe, is the only patrolled beach in Coffs area and a short stroll to very good cheap eats/drinks at the local Bowls Club, Surf Club and Pub. Very safe area for young children. Also a short drive to golf club, shopping centre and other local attractions.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erf1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I stayed here recently for 3 nights. We had a 2 bedroom apartment on the top level. I found the apartment very clean and all the applicances worked well. There was an airconditioner and ceiling fans. It wasn't too hot so we just used the ceiling fans. The main room had a Queen size bed and the 2nd room had 2 singles, this suited us fine. The lounge area is a bit small but we didn't spend too much time at the apartment so it didn't really bother us. The beach is located across the raod with the bowling club a short walk. I thought the location was great as we could walk to get a nice cheap meal from the bowling, it was less than 5 mins drive to the main shopping centre and only a $12 cab ride from the centre off coffs where the bars are.

The pool area was really nice, we didn't use the BBQ's but it seemed to be a good place to hang out and have a BBQ for dinner. There was also a spa that was a decent size and worked well.

The staff at both check in and check out were friendly and we didn't have any problems.

I would recommend this place if you have a small family and don't need a lot of space as the apartments are small. The price is good for what you get, we booked direct with the The Tahitian on their website.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TSNY05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Stayed for 3 nights with family. Room did not get cleaned once even though we paid top dollar for the "deluxe" suite. Decor was tacky, old and mis-matched and one of the ceiling light fittings was sitting on top of the cupboard when we checked in. Low balcony on top floor not safe for families with young children. If you want towels or linen changed, the room cleaned or basically any of the things real hotels provide in the price of your booking you have to pay extra! If you want to do some laundry, there is an old, smelly, coin operated washing machine in the ancient communal laundry downstairs. Decided not to use it and wait until I got home. Despite tidying and sweeping the apartment before we checked out, got a bill for $45 for "extra cleaning required". I called to query this and some-one said the would ring me back. Heard nothing until I sent an e-mail threatening to go to consumer affairs, then I got an e-mail full of lies about how we "used every dish and glass in the kitchen (despite eating out every night), pulled the light fitting off the ceiling (8ft high?) and alot of other lame excuses. Be warned that the price may appear reasonable but what you are actually paying for is a roof over your head and nothing else. Pay a bit more for a decent hotel or go to the caravan park up the road

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rossmck65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Very good clean and well appointed units close to the beach and handy to everything in Coffs including the Pet Porpoise pool and club and pub. Nice pool and spa and quite nice surrounds. We were here the night of the grand final in the NRL so were woken at 2.30am with idiots from the pub, but this could have been the case anywhere. The little things I mentioned were the microwave not working properly, no clear instructions for the stove or the TV's and aircon that was just average. We were hot on some nights as the aircon was too small for the apartment. Overall though well worth the money and pretty good value for the price. Would stay again.

Room Tip: No issues with any of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triptrouble9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012 via mobile

We had a 2 room apartment for a weekend which was great for a family. A lot rules about cleaning up though (including emptying the bin) also rules mentioned in a pre arrival letter which we didn't get till we got home!

They have a travel cot & linens for $11 but you need to child proof yourself - pebbles in plant pot easy to be fed by toddler to baby! Also loose socket in one room. Lighting in main room very stark. Side lights had horribly bright bulbs. A bit of maintenance needed on drawer knobs etc. Comfy beds & couch. Awful cane dining suite but that could be just me.

However seems like a good base for a holiday in Coffs. Good value would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eire-ette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

my friend and my-self stayed there for 6nights.This apartment was ok the bedrooms where spacious but the kitchen lounge where cramp to-gether.It was very clean.But when we arrived the smoke detector was hanging down and no battery in it.Also bathroom tap over the basin was really loose and shook when we turn it on.When we reported it to the owners they fixed it up straight away.The shower head drip the whole time we where there what a waste of water.The beach is across the road bt you couldnt see it because of the trees.The thing that got us was coming home from the club at 11pm someone had taken our car port that we had payed for not happy jan.I went to ask the owner that someone parked it our carport when she screamed at me saying well can't you go and park somewhere else.I said where and was told over there in another spot.Mind you when we went to hand the key in the owner had something else to say.Needless to say we won't be back..Nice sand friendly when you arrive another story when you leave.

Room Tip: no restaurant..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wonderofyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.4 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#4 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
97 reviews
2.1 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#6 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
385 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#12 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort
1.4 mi away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#2 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
2,763 reviews
3.1 mi away
Nautilus Beachfront Villas & Spa
Nautilus Beachfront Villas & Spa
#20 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tahitian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tahitian

Address: 27-29 Ocean Pde, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Price Range: £73 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tahitian 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located across the road from a patrolled surf beach, we offer well-appointed one and two bedroom apartments in a sunny, private complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Tahitian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing