We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty beds. Not worth 3.5 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tropic Oasis Holiday Villas
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The beds were not cleaned.. We found hairs and dirt on bed.. And cleaned it ourselves since we realized only by 10pm and could not contact them then.. Rooms need regular cleaning .

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lav123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grasshopper09, Manager at Tropic Oasis Holiday Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

As managers we find it frustrating that some guests don't like to mention complaints directly to management, we don't follow this way of thinking, as mentioned in previous responses from guests we are approachable managers, we do get the jobs done, having some sand/dirt grains & some hair (not sure on what type) is not exceptable & we do apologize, we also apologize to this guests for not being contactable at 10pm, we were most probably on another call or where most were.. asleep??
Saying that we are not 3.5 star was uncalled for, & we won't say too much on that, we will let responses from other guest take care of that,
I couldn't see where this guest had experienced the the rest of the accommodation & resort, fully self-contained villas, 2 pools & hot spa, games-room & gym with sauna, tropical gardens, none of this, why is that????

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

Had an amazing time stating here! Furnishings a bit outdated and the lagoon was very very dirty but apart from that this place is fantastic!!! I could stay here for ever and not leave this place booking again to come back for christmas

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cozza91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

clean well presented and equiped accomodation. would recommend them to anyone with kids and dogs. Excellent service from staff

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boodnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

IF ONLY we checked the reviews before heading to this place. We had a pet with us. Upon checking-out, we were fined $30 because there was fur on the floor. If you have a pet, be prepared to fork out more than what is said at time of booking.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ingrid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grasshopper09, Manager at Tropic Oasis Holiday Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Tropic Oasis welcome guest with pets & guests without pets, by doing this we need to be firm & clear to anyone with pet that abusing the privilege of bring there pets on holidays to a lovely part of Australia, we very rarely need to add extra charges for extra cleaning etc, 99% of guests with pets are very respectful & appriciate our resort, it's just a very few that that chose to be differant,
Kind Regards....Craig & Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Back to this delightful holiday spot for the 5th year running.
Craig and Geraldine as always are fabulous hosts, no request ever seems to bother them. Small problem with DVD player this year and was replaced with a brand new one immediately. Never had that service anywhere else we have ever stayed along the north coast and gold coast .
Pool and Gym areas fantastic areas
great for families and for those travelling with pets as they are accomodated as well - not that we have ever taken pets.
Always clean and tidy unlike some other places we have stayed in before that have left a lot to be desired. Room was serviced weekly and at many long stay sites this does not occur.
gardens and surrounds immaculate.
It is self contained accomodation so naturally a small amount of supplies are included - as the same as all accomodation has- and supplies are available onsite and if staying longer then naturally you get your own.
saw a previous review for here and we were there at the same time as the disgruntled vacationers and must admit they were noisy at all hours of the day and night . there are always two sides to every story.
enyoy the quietness of the location and the short trip to shops not a problem
We must love it cause we keep going back there and have booked for next year again!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

This is the worst place we have ever been to.

The management is the meanest of all we have ever encountered. The nightmare begins as soon upon arrival. Reception was rude, unattended and unhelpful.

Upon entering the villa, the shock awaits. 1.5 toilet rolls (crappy ones) were issued for a 3-night stay. Tough luck if you happen to have the runs. Additional rolls will be charged at 50c per roll. Additional teabags, coffee sachets and sugar as well as milk are chargable at 10c each. Only two pieces of guest soap were provided. Additional guest soap will be charged at 20c per piece. Guests will be fined $10 if rubbish is not sorted according to recycleables, food waste or general rubbish. Guests will be charged $50 for failing to wash up ALL dishes before departure. Failing to keep the place clean (definition: place has to be vacated spotless) will incur a fine of up to $50 as well. If the washing machine is clogged, guests will be liable for the call-out fee.

It is a military boot camp. This is NOT a place for relaxation nor to unwind.

The "lagoon" is a stretch of murky and smelly swamp. There is no "paradise" nor "oasis".

The managers are money greeds who charges at slightest opportunity.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grasshopper09, Manager at Tropic Oasis Holiday Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

As managers we are bamboozled with these comments from Mrs J.T , we do incurrage our guests to comment on there stay good & no so good, this helps us improve in places that its needed, BUT please keep all information/comments correct & if a problem develops please let us know ASAP not as you are leaving or once you get home, we can't do allot for you the guest then, we do provide a comment sheet in our accommodation to filling in,
Kind Regards Craig & Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed for 6 nights in one of their 4 bedroom villas (Acacia). Overall we were happy with our stay as the grounds were nice and the location was peaceful (quiet season though). It wasn't too long a walk to the beach, however it was a 5-10 minute drive to the nearest shops so you couldn't just walk to get a few items.

The only low points were the ants that managed to appear everywhere throughout the house, and the main toilet's cistern which didn't stop running and kept people awake at night.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
2.5 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
272 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel
0.4 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#4 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#2 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
2,662 reviews
0.4 mi away
Opal Cove Resort
Opal Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Korora
874 reviews
2.1 mi away
Park Beach Resort Motel
Park Beach Resort Motel
#5 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic Oasis Holiday Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Oasis Holiday Villas

Address: 10 Tropic Lodge Pl | Kororo Bay, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Coffs Harbour
Price Range: £58 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropic Oasis Holiday Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Tropic Oasis Holiday Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing