We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spread out spacious surounds”
Review of Paradise Palms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Paradise Palms
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The cabin was comfy spacious with a great view. Split system heating worked well. Large flat screen TV. Awesome bed and good location.
I could just hear the traffic on the highway at night but was faint and didn't keep me awake. Heated pool was warm and clean.
The only things wrong, we couldn't get a meal at the restaurant after 7.30. The scratched worn fry pan handle was falling off and the door latch needed adjusting , other than that all good.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for the larger cabins away from the main road.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
There are newer reviews for Paradise Palms
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights. Our friend & I were very satisfied with the kitchenette, as we cooked breakfast each morning (saving us money)
The bed was very comfortable and enough blankets provided. Also helped that we had the heating to keep us warm too.
We unfortunately couldn't go swimming due to new tattoos but the indoor pool looked very inviting. And we had fun in the games room before heading out.
Yes, I could hear the trucks on the highway but it was soothing as I used to hear them at home (before the bypass) and it wasn't that bad.
Not many people staying when we were there so it was very peaceful around the resort.
Would also like to mention that the young receptionist was very professional and kind to us.
Next time my friend comes up from Sydney, we will definitely stay again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I was going to be checking in late and the reception rang me to say they would leave my room unlocked with keys inside and the heater on (it was a FREEZING cold night). I arrive to room only to find it locked...not ideal when arriving at 9pm. I drove around in the pitch dark to try and find reception, which I did finally find (terrible signage and lighting for night-time). Luckily someone was still there in the dark restaurant, although the door was locked, I knocked and she let me in. Got my key and headed back to room, heater was not on...honestly I have never been in a colder room in my life. I turned on the heater to 30 degrees and it made no difference, I had to pull the sheets off the double bed, double them over, get a spare sheet from the cupboard, I slept in my winter pj's, PLUS a hoodie with the hood on, 3 layers of sheets AND the a/c on 30 degrees and I was still frozen, barely slept. Terrible service and experience, would not recommend, especially in winter! And although my room was really far from the road...I might as well have been sleeping outside because I could hear every damn truck that drove past.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Jacqui G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fomparpalms, Front Office Manager at Paradise Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you Jacqui for your review. We have had some really cold nights, so we always try to get the heaters on early for our late arrivals. On this occasion we were a little late in getting to the room to turn them on, so we are sorry that your stay with us was not up to our usual high standard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed here for our anniversary weekend and was EXTREMELY disappointed! From dirty rooms, broken facilities, having to listen to a wild party be thrown til 5am and people vomiting with no one to call as staff had gone home, unsafe room spas which resulted in severe bruising from suction, no room service as unstaffed even though it's advertised, zero garden maintenance which equalled no sleep due to trees hitting roof and walls on a windy night to EXTREMELY rude and unprofessional staff who told us to write this instead of even offering an apology or compensation! Absolute WASTE of money, we will NEVER go back nor do we recommend that anyone stay in this horrible place! If you want somewhere nice this is NOT the place for you or your family! This place is utterly DISGRACEFUL!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shantellace86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fomparpalms, Manager at Paradise Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for taking your time out to provide feedback on your stay last weekend, the last busy weekend of our unfortunately very cold and windy night Winter school holidays.
When your husband came to reception 2 weeks prior to your stay we willingly gave him keys to have a look at all our spa rooms and unfortunately he chose the only unrenovated spa
we have which is reflected in its much cheaper price which as you said with the wind and the cold winter would not have appealed to you as the spa is on the cold outside balcony with a sea view.We have 4 brand new spa rooms which we explain on our website as executive which we recommend to all guests but it is personal preference and budget which leads them to their own decision,all we can and do is show guests the rooms.We understand your disappointment when you arrived at midday during an extremely busy Friday of school holidays with almost all rooms turning over, your room hadn’t yet been cleaned but was ready by 2pm checkin along with all 30 other rooms arriving so it was a great effort by our fantastic cleaning team.
We tried to still keep your stay special when your disappointment was well voiced upon returning to reception so being in luck, our gorgeous King Spa honeymoon suite was free so we did not hesitate in upgrading you at no extra charge to this room.
We thank you for bringing it to our attention the next morning that our pilot light which heats our ever so well used heated indoor pool had been blown out on the extremely windy night.
I am sure all the kiddies appreciated the nice warm bubbles in the pool.
We do room service nightly, but due to staff illness we were short staffed on the Sunday night.
Yes our office closes at night time once the restaurant closes, which was 10.30pm that evening when all 5 staff members left to horrific arguing about the last 4 years of marriage which had unfortunately been going on since 6.30pm when a very influential club of 40 guests arrived to the noise In the honeymoon suite located the closest room to the restaurant. On the front page of your information folder is our mobile number which is there for you to call in such instances as young locals coming back at 3.30am from The Plantation Hotel. They were seen leaving at 9pm and told in very explicit terms that only 2 of them are to return and there are to be no parties but as we live near the entrance of the resort, unless they make noise arriving or someone calls us, then we are oblivious of a party. It is a big problem of young locals in all resorts and when we called the police that morning after them being very threatening to us, leaving no option but to call the police, we waited 2 hours in the freezing cold for the police only to be told that you needed to have called while the party was happening.
Unfortunately as a normal part of our job, we have been threatened by them, they then vandalised our signs so they were unuseable and it resulted in more expense to us but this is the norm in such circumstances and we can be thankful that it was only property and not ourselves that was broken.
These guests did however leave their room in a tidy manner, had only a few bottles of beer in the bin and there certainly was no vomit as you described so we felt foolish and disappointed that we hadn’t checked the room first and gone through a lot of violence which rattled us the whole week.
2 staff members were shown your bare upper leg with bruising you claim was from the suction of the spa at 5.15pm in the restaurant on Saturday, they apologised and you said you just wanted to bring it to their attention. In or nearly 5 years we have never had such a thing even with all the antics that go on in spas. We have a sign above it saying caution please do not sit on the suction hole but as the spas are to safety standards and need air flow to work, we are at a loss as to what else we could do to prevent it happening again.
We apologised that the high winds blew 2 palm fronds down to scrape on your bure and removed them at 11am that morning after asking you whether it was ok to start the chainsaw. We are so proud of the many great comments on our beautiful landscaped grounds which are also frequently used for wedding ceremonies. It has been a 5 year project of a lot of work on 12 acres and we hold our head high regarding them. And we are planning to do a lot more work.
The extra now free night in the honeymoon suite which you took on the Sunday night was our gesture to try and cheer you up, however, once we knocked on your door to see if 11am was ok to cut the tree, we were met with another aggressive front and threated that unless we gave another 2, not 1, but 2 free nights in that room, which you had already been upgraded to for free for 2 nights and given a complete free night so around $400 free, that you would go to social media. This was also very aggressively reiterated by your husband upon checkout when he demanded 2 more free nights in the spa room at a later date or he would take it to all social media, which you have with sites with 7,000 local members where we are not a member and can not put the other side of the story over. We took this as blackmailing us, if your experience was so bad, why would you want to come again.
We had already compensated you more than enough and had our first weekend where we were physically threatened twice once your husband held his fist up and threatened to “smash his head in”. It is lucky that a builder doing work in the restaurant was only metres away and made his presence known, as did the lovely lady behind waiting to checkout, who then nicely went past and gave us her key, thanking us for a lovely stay. Your statement after you were told that you were not welcome again that “but we really love this place” as you had been before but unfortunately like most happy guests only review when disgruntled, would leave anyone losing faith in the human race. We are human and apologised and compensated you. We apologise to other potential guests that this has been so long and assure you that we put our heart and sole in to our establishment, our grounds, and our guests and as above, we take action to try our best to ensure yours and everyone else staying with us are met to the best of our human powers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I did not stay at the resort, but did visit Pasfields Restaurant. The good was amazing, possibly the best duck I have ever eaten. The service was attentive and knowledgeable, being recommended a beautiful Chardonnay by our waitress. I would highly recommend the restaurant to anyone staying or just passing through.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank MelJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fomparpalms, Front Office Manager at Paradise Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you Mel for your positive review of Pasfields Restaurant. We have fantastic, friendly staff & a wonderful chef. The restaurant is building a good reputation for quality food & service. We hope you will dine with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My wife and I decided to spend our anniversary this year just down the road at Paradise Palms mainly due to the fabulous new restaurant on site that we had heard of, Pasfields. We didn't have any high expectations for the resort itself so were very pleasantly surprised when we drove in that afternoon to a very well maintained and extensive garden setting (being an avid gardener I really enjoyed my walk of the grounds with many exotic plants which even I didn't know of). The room we couldn't fault. It was brand new, well furnished and decorated and we enjoyed the sea view on our balcony from our spa. The restaurant was top notch in every way.
This place is a hidden gem in Coffs Harbour and very reasonably priced. Highly recommend the whole experience.

Room Tip: Call ahead.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fomparpalms, Front Office Manager at Paradise Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you Trevor for your very positive review. A number of our rooms have been renovated. If looking online, they will have Executive in the title. We work very hard to keep the gardens & grounds in excellent condition. We are very lucky to have an excellent chef who delivers good quality food. We are very happy,that we were able to provide a memorable experience for your anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Myself and my now husband. Would highly recomend this venue for anyone looking for a venue for the wedding in the coffs coast area.
The staff went beyond the call of duty on our wedding and ensured everything went as perfect as could be.
The food was amazing.
Every single guest was amazed at the quality of the food and venue..
They open up especially for us for breakfast the day after thr wedding. Ensuring eveyone was well fed before there long trips home.
The groomsmen had a great lunch the day of the wedding with staff ensuring water levels verse beer levels were at a good standards.
Thanks again paradise palms..

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Carissa v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fomparpalms, Front Office Manager at Paradise Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you Carissa for your positive review. We were very excited to host your special day. We did everything we could to ensure everything smoothly. We are building a very good reputation as a wedding venue. We already have many more booked in for the rest of the year. We hope you enjoy a successful marriage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
3.0 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
267 reviews
3.9 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#14 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
187 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Opal Cove Resort
Opal Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Korora
867 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pacific Bay Terraces
Pacific Bay Terraces
#31 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
14 reviews
3.8 mi away
Coffs Harbour Pacific Palms Motel
Coffs Harbour Pacific Palms Mote...
#17 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Palms

Address: 675 Pacific Hwy, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Price Range: £49 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Palms onsite management for brand new executive rooms and budget rooms all set in big spread out grounds of 12 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens and lawns with a heated indoor pool, heated outdoor spa and large deep outdoor pool. All rooms have balconies and views of either lawns, panoramic hills or some with slight sea views. You never feel enclosed at Paradise Palms. Sensational onsite restaurant, Pasfields Restaurant, with cheap bar meals, fine dining and room service, balcony and inside dining with spectacular panoramic views. Accurate pictures of every room are on our site so you can pick the type of room to fit your needs and your budget as we want every guest to be happy and to pick wisely. The longer you stay, the cheaper the rate. We look forward to welcoming you soon and always strive to make it an enjoyable one and welcome you back again and again as we do with so many happy guests. Only Paradise Palms Resort onsite management provides free internet in the restaurant and foxtel in the rooms....other sites do not offer these nor onsite service) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Paradise Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing