We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jenkins. Sydney.”
Review of Caribbean Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caribbean Motel
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Jenkins. Sydney.”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed at this Motel en route from Noosa to Sydney and intend to stay here on future trips to and from the Sunshine Coast. Our room was nicely appointed with beds that were beautifully presented and comfortable. Room spotlessly clean with a large bathroom. This motel was well located, reasonably priced and beats some of those motel establishments dotted along the Pacific Highway. There was a strip of restaurants across the road offering varied cuisines. We dined at the Vietnamese restaurant which served up delicious food at reasonable prices. I would highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dizzydi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare J, Owner at Caribbean Motel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review. Many visitors like yourself are breaking up their journey between QLD and NSW destinations. Hopefully you'll be able to stay longer next time, Coffs Harbour has many activities and facilities to enjoy :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    129
    40
    3
    1
See reviews for
64
109
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I was in Coffs for a combination of work and a road trip with my 83 yo mother so I wanted a good quality, well-located apartment motel she could hang out in while I was out for the day. Caribbean Motel met that requirement in full and was a clean, efficient, no fuss, well-appointed place. The location is perfect if you want to walk around the fishing port and the jetty and restaurants are close by. Nothing to complain about but I agree with other reviews that if you have trouble carrying luggage upstairs, it might be an issue.

Room Tip: There are lots of different angles to choose from so ask the staff about which way the balconies fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristyMay62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare J, Owner at Caribbean Motel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Many of our guests find our location near the harbour and restaurants very handy, as you did. I hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

An honest unpretentious overnight motel. Well located. Good comfortable bed. Close to restaurants and the harbour with off street parking. We would stay here again and recommend
it to other travellers.

Room Tip: Best if your overnight gear is in a pull along easy to manage bag as the rooms are upstairs.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Frances R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare J, Owner at Caribbean Motel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Recently stayed at the Caribbean for work. The staff are approachable and the check in and out process seamless.

Like many hotels of it's vintage, you will need to navigate your luggage up and down stairs to get to your room. For people with mobility issues, this would need to be considered. There is parking available onsite, however the ones at the front can only accommodate a small car... I had a Hyundai I20 and that was a tight squeeze.

The room was surprisingly well appointed. I had a corner room that was larger than expected with a large bed, small dining table (really only big enough for 1 person), and side table with a phone connection. Bonus is that wifi is included in the room rate (big bonus!), however one minor issue is that there was no power point near the small table that was set up for the work area. So I had to charge my laptop and phone near the fridge / kettle area.

The other bonus with the Caribbean is its close proximity to some good restaurants. Literally across the road to the left is a strip of restaurants that are highly regarded in Coffs.

I ordered some room service breakfast, and it arrived hot and on time. I had the tropical fruit (serviced with skin on) as well as mushrooms and tomato with gluten free toast (really good choices for the food intolerant!). The bodum coffee was ok... probably could have got a better coffee from the cafe's across the road, however it was good given that I was working from my room.

Even though you are on a main road, the room was super quiet, and the bed really comfy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klsmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare J, Owner at Caribbean Motel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Monday to Thursday most of our guests are staying for work like yourself and find the free wi-fi, fresh breakfast, comfy beds and proximity to multiple restaurants for dinner, all factors which make their stay more comfortable. We are always happy to help guests with luggage or we do have 3 rooms with ground floor access if available and suitable. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

It is a pretty basic motel which is a bit on the expensive side price wise. We were given a 2 bedroom as the place was pretty full when we checked in late afternoon without prior arrangement made. It's clean, quiet & comfortable & right opposite a large variety of restaurants serving every type of cuisine. They all seemed popular on the Saturday night we stayed in Coffs Harbour. Bed was comfortable & we enjoyed the stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Goferit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare J, Owner at Caribbean Motel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
I'm glad you found our motel clean, quiet & comfortable and near multiple restaurants. Regarding the tariff we do have a range of rooms styles to suit different budgets and needs, including standard doubles, larger family & apartment style rooms or spa rooms. Thank you for staying with us, I hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We needed somewhere clean, easy to get to, close to the sea and close to food. We got all this and more. Friendly, excellent value for money, quiet, sea view and across the road to the food strip, really we cannot say more than that. I also enjoyed the slightly vintage atmosphere more than the new and smelling of paint development type places. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KandNAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare J, Owner at Caribbean Motel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This hotel is near the Jetty area of Coffs Harbour, which we'd been told was the place that you wanted to stay. The location was perfect as there were a number of restaurants just across the street catering for a number of cuisine types. The rooms were spacious, had a basic kitchenette if you were wanting to make anything yourself. It was lovely and clean, has a nice pool area. Our room had a nice big balcony. The staff at check in were great and that was all very easy. Good little motel with great prices.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare J, Owner at Caribbean Motel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Our location adjacent to the restaurant 'strip' is very handy for our guests, as you found. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
1.3 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#4 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
3.1 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#2 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.9 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#13 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Big Windmill
Comfort Inn Big Windmill
#9 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
2.3 mi away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#3 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Motel

Property: Caribbean Motel
Address: 353 Harbour Dr, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Caribbean Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA rated 3.5 star Caribbean Motel is ideally located in the Jetty area, with numerous restaurants across the road and the Jetty beach a few minutes walk away. Buffet or room service breakfast is available. The motel is a couple of minutes walk from the train station or a 5 minute cab ride from the airport. Reception is open 7am until 9pm, late check in can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caribbean Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing