We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty good, great location”
Review of Caribbean Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caribbean Motel
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“pretty good, great location”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

well maintained and renovated for an older building, staff were good, room was good and clean.

it does have the smallest tightest car park of any motel I have used, anything larger than a twin cab ute would have to go on the street, not aided by the fact most people dont know what the painted lines in a car park are for.....

Room Tip: I had the spa with balcony room at the standard room rate, i wouldn't pay the extra as it is a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cchcch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare J, Owner at Caribbean Motel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm glad you were happy with our staff, cleanliness and maintenance levels, Regarding our spa rooms, besides the spa bath they are more spacious than our standards and have balconies and an easterly aspect, some with harbour views as well....and yes some of the parking spots are a bit tight, but as you say you can park on the street as well :) I hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    131
    40
    3
    1
See reviews for
64
110
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Great position, it has been refurbished, and is nicely appointed, comfy beds, and the Jetty Restaurant strip is across the road. the parking spots are tight, not much room to manoeuvre. We have stayed here many times, from the quick over night stay to a few days. Great position from which to see everything Coffs has to offer and to visit the kids. There are some wonderful places to eat across the road, or drive down to the Jetty itself for breakfast on the Break wall overlooking the beautiful Coffs Surf Beach.

Room Tip: Rooms are all pretty sound proof, go for a balcony, it's lovely sitting outside with a glass of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank owl245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare J, Owner at Caribbean Motel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
We really appreciate your review, thank you. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stay here regularly for business and the best thing about this motel is it is not on the Pacific Highway which is incredibly noisy. There is a bit of nightlife around here with a good pub and several eating establishments of varying standard across the road so weekends can be a little noisy but not anywhere near the highway motels. There are plenty of great bedding options and whilst some of the rooms appear to be a little odd in design, they can suit many needs. The big negative here is the mobile/cell phone and wireless signal. It is terrible so make sure you get the in house wifi which is good.

The location is great with the beach and the jetty a short walk away. The restaurants across the road give a great variety and there are some shops and the railway station within 5 mins walk.

Overall I'd call this a solid motel to stay in with very few negatives.

Room Tip: The two ground level rooms are a bit weird in design. Stay upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rock3tRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare J, Owner at Caribbean Motel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for making our motel your regular choice of accommodation in Coffs Harbour. Our location away from the highway and near the restaurant strip does make us a popular choice with many regulars. I'm glad you were happy with our wi-fi, we have put in extra equipment this year and now also have NBN. Most mobile phones work well at our property but there are a couple of carriers whose signal doesn't seen to be as strong :( We look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is near the pier hotel and the twisted sisters cafe which are both nice. The hotel has a pool and free wifi. The wifi speeds are very good exceeding 20 megabits a second. Unfortunately the water is noisy and goes through the walls of the lower apartments. It was very noisy and it wasnt a very good sleep

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare J, Owner at Caribbean Motel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm glad you were happy with our fast wi-fi and location. Regarding the water noises if you could let us know what room you were in we could look into the issue. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I usually travel to Coffs Harbour every couple of months and this time I thought I would stay somewhere different and decided on the Caribbean Motel. It is very well positioned within walking distance to the jetty and also Muttonbird Island. There are heaps of restaurants just across and down the road so no shortage of different types of food on offer. As far as the motel goes, I was very happy with my choice. I stayed for 3 nights and as I had booked late, I had to change rooms for my last night. Both rooms were very well equipped, clean and tidy. I was lucky enough to get balcony rooms that looked out over the roofs of buildings across the road to the ocean in the distance.
I will definitely stay there during my future trips.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare J, Owner at Caribbean Motel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I'm glad you decided to stay with us on your last trip and you were happy with your choice! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyong, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

This motel is walking distance to the station, we came up by rail, walking distance to restaurants and the Jetty and to the Jetty Memorial Theatre the focus of our visit. Reception was friendly and helpful, our room, was clean and very well presented.
The motel was very centrally located for us and even minded our bags for us after we had checked out.
Would definitely recommend a stay

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare J, Owner at Caribbean Motel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for recommending us. I'm happy you found our motel clean, friendly and well located. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed at this Motel en route from Noosa to Sydney and intend to stay here on future trips to and from the Sunshine Coast. Our room was nicely appointed with beds that were beautifully presented and comfortable. Room spotlessly clean with a large bathroom. This motel was well located, reasonably priced and beats some of those motel establishments dotted along the Pacific Highway. There was a strip of restaurants across the road offering varied cuisines. We dined at the Vietnamese restaurant which served up delicious food at reasonable prices. I would highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dizzydi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare J, Owner at Caribbean Motel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review. Many visitors like yourself are breaking up their journey between QLD and NSW destinations. Hopefully you'll be able to stay longer next time, Coffs Harbour has many activities and facilities to enjoy :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.9 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
256 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#4 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
78 reviews
3.1 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#2 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#13 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
184 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Big Windmill
The Big Windmill
#9 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
243 reviews
2.3 mi away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#3 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
2,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Motel

Property: Caribbean Motel
Address: 353 Harbour Dr, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Caribbean Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA rated 3.5 star Caribbean Motel is ideally located in the Jetty area, with numerous restaurants across the road and the Jetty beach a few minutes walk away. Buffet or room service breakfast is available. The motel is a couple of minutes walk from the train station or a 5 minute cab ride from the airport. Reception is open 7am until 9pm, late check in can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Caribbean Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing