We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT VENUE GREAT STAFF”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We last stayed here 29 and 30 July 2011 . Motel is very clean comfortable and well maintained. Managers Mark and Jodie are great hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them. Always helpful and pleasant with wonderful attention to detail. We travel regularly through Coffs and have been doing so for over 20 years and this place is a home away from home. The same applies to the restaurant which has had the same chef for about 20 years. Try the beefstuk you won't be disappointed. Higly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanMushroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi T, Manager at The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review of your recent stay with us. We take great pride in making our guests feel like The Big Windmill is their home away from home. I will certainly pass on your wonderful comments regarding the meal to our kitchen team.
Mark & Jodi Taylor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
There are newer reviews for The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2011

An older style motel suitable for an overnighter on the way to Qld. We discovered it several years ago and have returned on many occasions. The facilities are all perfectly adequate and noise has never been a factor. The beds, linen and bathroom were all good as was service. The bonus of course was the restaurant, a beautifully constructed Dutch structure with a sad history involving the original owner. The food is first class and well worth the trip regardless of whether you are staying. We shall return!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SolarSailorAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi T, Manager at The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us. We are very proud of our Windmill Restaurant and so glad that you enjoyed your meal with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Coffs Harbour.
Mark & Jodi Taylor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We had an overnighter on our way south and took a chance having not pre-booked any accom. Needless to say it was a great find and with 2 young kids it was definitely a good choice. The weather was cool however the kids took the chance to jump into the big spa and they loved the windmill. The food was affordable and yummy too. Definitely would stop over there again and could easily stay a couple of nights! Management are great and helpful too makes the difference to a stay no matter how short it is.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gidget73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi T, Manager at The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review of your recent stay with us.
We are so happy the kids had such a great time in the spa and restaurant. We are lucky that the Big Windmill is set on such a large property so kids have plenty of space to run around and be kids.
Mark & Jodi Taylor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Love the outside area big grass area for pets and kids to play and kick the ball

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glennue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

I have been staying in Coffs Harbour for a few years. Just been looking for a decent motel that's comfortable, quiet and everything works. I like to be able to get room service that's OK. Not a huge ask, but this little place was perfect for a business trip or stopover. On the highway, but quiet. Spacious, but not huge rooms. Well lit. Firm but comfortable bed. I like it. Beats the hell out of the over priced rooms at the resorts. Oh by the way the room service food was good! Mind you the brick wall thing is so over, but I don't have to live with it forever!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beachsands26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Was recommended to stay at this motel by a business aquaintance.
Motel certainly lived up to his description.
Excellent service all round, lovely spacious and quiet rooms, and wonderful meals.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benji1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

We stayed one night at the Big Windmill hotel based on the excellent reviews from TripAdviser users. We never intended on driving the whole way in one hit from Sydney to Brisbane given we have a 16 month old so Coffs Harbour seemed the natural halfway point along the Pacific Highway. Our party of 5 consisted of myself, the boy, my wife and her parents. The hotel was easy to spot, you can't miss the windmill blades. We booked quite far in advance as we drove after Christmas, a traditional busy period for the drive along the Pacific Highway. We were able to comfortably fit all 5 of us into a 1 bedroom mini-suite. They unfortunately ran out of travel cots but luckily we brought ours along so it wasn't a big issue. It was quite a warm evening on our arrival so we jumped into the pool as soon as we unpacked. It was surprisingly clean and inviting (not at all like motor inn pools from my childhood). The restaurant (which was in the windmill itself) was a small highlight as already pointed out by other reviewers - although my steak was slightly overdone (minor point). Sleeping at night can be a little noisy as the freight trucks fly by night - standard issue at all motor inns.

Overall The Big Windmill Motel was a safe, clean, comfortable and convenient motor inn which was more than satisfactory for our overnight stay en route to Brisbane. It is an economical alternative to the Novotel and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JETIflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
2.3 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
267 reviews
2.4 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#4 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
90 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#14 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Royal Palms Motor Inn
Royal Palms Motor Inn
#1 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
585 reviews
2.5 mi away
Park Beach Resort Motel
Park Beach Resort Motel
#5 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
266 reviews
3.3 mi away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#2 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
2,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel

Address: 168 Pacific Hwy S | North Boambee Valley, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#4 Business Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coffs Harbour
Price Range: £46 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an outdoor pool and an onsite restaurant, The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel is located in Coffs Harbour, NSW. Free WiFi access and free parking are available. We are an easy 4-minute drive from Coffs Harbour Golf Club, a 9-minute drive from Coffs Harbour Airport and a 13-minute drive from The Big Banana. It is a 5km drive to the nearest beach – Coffs Harbour boasts a plethora of natural beauty from the paddocks of Nana Glen, to the rivers of Bellingen and of course the many popular surfing destinations. As our valued guest you can relax in your own air-conditioned room and perhaps watch the latest digital Foxtel show on your in-room flat-screen TV. All rooms also include an electric kettle, mini refrigerator and a private bathroom with complimentary toiletries. You can prepare lunch using the communal BBQ facilities located in the Pool area. The Edelweiss Bavarian Restaurant offers dinner nightly from 5.30pm except on Sundays and Public Holidays, reservations are recommended. Room service is available for your convenience. Our Breakfast Cafe serves a delicious buffet breakfast every morning which is a perfect way to start your day before heading on to your next destination. We look forward to seeing you here at The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Coffs Harbour
Coffs Harbour Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing