We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NSW Harley Owners Group”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed here as a group of approximately 30 people in 15 rooms, for three nights everyone commented on the cleanliness and quality of the rooms, we had a mixture of budget rooms to deluxe rooms. Not a problem was had. The managment made us all feel welcome. The restraunt was excellent. Not many places can cater for large groups, would recomend this motel to any group or couple looking for a comfortable clean and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ialder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beau G, General Manager at The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

To all the NSW Harley Owners Group, We say thank you, it was a great pleasure to host your fun group at the motel, we pay special thanks and attention to Mrs Two Bottles for the laughs.

It is our pleasure to welcome your organization and awesome bikes back in May for your return visit.

P.s thanks for the Harley Davidson socks!

Live to Ride, Ride to live


Beau Gutry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

This hotel indeed has a big windmill. Apart from that it is fairly basic. The rooms are simple yet quite spacious. The beds are comfortable enough and there is a place to park your car. I would describe staying here as 'no-frills simplicity'. A good place to stay if you are planning to use the hotel as a base for going out exploring.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beau G, General Manager at The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Hello Michael

Thank you for review, we offer 3.5 star rated accommodation with 5 star service, our rooms have just been refurbished along with the completion of our business centre and upgrades to our conference facilities, since taking the property on in April 2013 we have strived to offer a product and service above the expected star rating.

We hope to see you again and show off our improvements!


Regards,

Beau Gutry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I attempted to book this hotel directly by phone. The rate available on hotelscombined.com, and on this hotel's own webiste was 99 for the night I was interested in. The hotel however wanted to sell me a room that was $250. When I asked to get the $99 room, which I said was available on their website at the time of the call, I was told they would call me back. In the 5 minutes I waited for their call, they updated the price on their webiste to $140 and then called me and said they had not done anything to their site at all and that this was the price. I explained they were dishonest with me and would not be getting my business. Trouble is, the lower price is still available on a number of other booking sites on hotelscombined.com. In any event, I will not be booking this hotel, as it seems they will engage in dishonest actions to rip you off. That is a shame, as I recall this place fondly from previous stays. Bad management can make a big difference and drive customers away.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank ok k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

This review unfortunately shows the major flaw in Trip Advisor, the fact that someone can review in such a way that it is in effect an attack of character, our management has tried to get Trip Advisor to remove this lie fueled nonsense without success, the impact on a team that strives to offer the best service with pride and integrity is huge we take such accusations personally and understand the dangerous legal implications such accusations can create!!

The review does not for a moment reflect what happened our relief managers had told you that if you found the room for the particular price claimed online then book it now, therefore if you legitimately found this price for the set date why did you not book it?? Because it never existed that’s why; Secondly we did not try to up sell you the room for the prices mentioned we do not have rooms on the property at the figures you quote in your review!? Our staff did search the web to see if there were rooms available on the dates requested at the rates mentioned and they were not available due to it being a holiday period.
Of biggest concern is the false accusation that we went onto sites to change the rates, the fact is this is technically impossible to do on our property especially in the time frame you claim, our system has one main channel that takes the rates and availability, this is fed to all websites if and when a change is made it affects all rates and sites simultaneously, making your claim impossible.

We will do our best to assist customers with the best rates the right rooms and service that applies to their needs, however as a guest if you cannot search for the correct date field and or book a room at a rate that suits we cannot assist you any more, what we take extreme exception to is the false claims made, because you didn’t get your way, think how you and your team would feel with a false review based on not understanding how to book a room?



Regards,

The Big Windmill Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed at the Big Windmill back in January and found the room to be quite spacious and comfortable. It is a motel so I didn't expect five star luxury but I felt that I received more than fair value.

The restaurant was good - an interesting design. It is large with a very high ceiling and has a banquet/meeting room up stairs. The food was good and the service prompt and friendly.

I didn't take any pictures at the motel but have included a couple of the harbour.

Room Tip: a room towards the back leave a bit of a trek to the restaurant but it does eliminate any concern ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beau G, General Manager at The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Hello Terry,

Thank you for your review, it is great to hear you enjoyed your stay.

In regards to the distance between the restaurant and back rooms we now have a four person buggy with luggage tray for your convince (and mine) this has been a great addition to the property.


Regards,


Beau Gutry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Having stayed at the Big Windmill a number of times over the years, when I had to make a last minute reservation I did not hesitate to book my room. My brother had stayed there last year and also recommended the motel and restaurant. All staff were very happy and friendly, the room was very good with a new bed and pillows. I had the best night's sleep I've had in a motel in many years. The restaurant, despite not having a huge menu, was excellent and well priced.

The only negative is no under cover parking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back away from the road, although other rooms are not a problem. Leave the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beau G, General Manager at The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Hello Bruce

Thank you for the review, our team always appreciates the feedback.

Our new bedding has been noted by our recent guests and makes for a comfy stay after a long drive!

We look forward to catching up with you both on your return visit.

Kind regards,

Beau Gutry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Dinner in restaurant very enjoyable. loved the history of the building. Definately stay there again.Some minor work needs to be done in the room. eg table base needs painting. No noise from traffic. Breakfast in our room very genorous and delicious

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mimaroca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beau G, General Manager at The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Thank you very much for your review, The Big Windmill has a great history and story, which continues to delight our guests.
I am pleased to announce the refurbishment of our rooms with the addition of new furniture which I am sure you will appreciate upon your return.

Kind regards,


Beau Gutry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We spent one night here on our way up the coast from Sydney. We have stayed many times. There are new owners, a nice young couple. Our room was the Executive King Deluxe and we were very happy. There was plenty of room to move, a large TV and a kitchenette with tea and coffee making equipment. Bathroom was roomy, but shower is small and has curtain which clings. Water was hard and hot, just needed after a day on the road. Everything was very clean and tidy and this impressed us.
On the down side, we always love our breakfast in the breakfast room, but this was very disorganised and late in being arranged. Room was open, but no food ready, which meant we were delayed being able to leave.
Would highly recommend the Windmill and sure they will get the breakfast time sorted out.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joybell8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beau G, General Manager at The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear Mrs Bell,

Thank you for your review, we are glad you have enjoyed your stays with us.
The property prides itself on the highest standards of cleanliness and commitment to service, this said we take on your notes regarding the shower curtains, which will be replaced as part of our exciting room refurbishment currently under way.
I do apologise the breakfast café was not ready for your arrival, we do open at 6;30am Monday to Saturday and from 7:00am on a Sunday. We were reassured by yourself on the day it was no issue we are then sorry to hear it impacted your departure.

Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
2.3 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
274 reviews
2.4 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#3 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
94 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#13 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#2 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
2,717 reviews
2.5 mi away
Park Beach Resort Motel
Park Beach Resort Motel
#4 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
272 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Motor Inn
Premier Motor Inn
#15 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel

Address: 168 Pacific Hwy S | North Boambee Valley, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#4 Family Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coffs Harbour
Price Range: £48 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an outdoor pool and an onsite restaurant, The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel is located in Coffs Harbour, NSW. Free WiFi access and free parking are available. We are an easy 4-minute drive from Coffs Harbour Golf Club, a 9-minute drive from Coffs Harbour Airport and a 13-minute drive from The Big Banana. It is a 5km drive to the nearest beach – Coffs Harbour boasts a plethora of natural beauty from the paddocks of Nana Glen, to the rivers of Bellingen and of course the many popular surfing destinations. As our valued guest you can relax in your own air-conditioned room and perhaps watch the latest digital Foxtel show on your in-room flat-screen TV. All rooms also include an electric kettle, mini refrigerator and a private bathroom with complimentary toiletries. You can prepare lunch using the communal BBQ facilities located in the Pool area. The Edelweiss Bavarian Restaurant offers dinner nightly from 5.30pm except on Sundays and Public Holidays, reservations are recommended. Room service is available for your convenience. Our Breakfast Cafe serves a delicious buffet breakfast every morning which is a perfect way to start your day before heading on to your next destination. We look forward to seeing you here at The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Coffs Harbour
Coffs Harbour Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing