We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over Priced” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quality Inn City Centre
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Campbelltown
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Over Priced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

after travelling from Hervey Bay in Queensland and looking for somewhere to stay the night googled for somewhere decent and the Quality Inn popped up, decided to stay, well worst mistake of my holiday, dated room from the 70's, TV was updated but was so bad that the picture quality was crap, the bathroom was so old and dated had the shampoo and conditioner dispenser nailed to the wall, kind of like the personal touch with the little bottles so i know no one else has used them... was situated next to the Pacific Highway so you heard all the trucks motoring through... couldn't get out of there quick enough in the morning, would be a nice place to stay if i wanted to die.... or I was 70+ dont take grandma there she will hate you!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joshua R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QICC, Owner at Quality Inn City Centre, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Thank you for the feedback, we take seriously all comments made by our guests. All our rooms have been rated four stars by AAA authority so I would dispute your 70's comments. Nothing in any of our rooms is "nailed to the wall" and our TV's are LCD digital and picture quality is checked daily, so I am unsure why there was an issue. Our will team respond imediatley to any guest issue and if this was a problem I am puzzled as to why you never reported it.

Traffic noise in certain rooms is a continuing challenge for us and we are commencing another capital works program to counteract this.

Regards
Michael Dougherty
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    80
    27
    12
    5
See reviews for
29
60
6
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

I have stayed here monthly now for about a year after trying almost all the others but this is the cleanest and nicest there is for the price. Good quality service, meals and cleanliness is what you want for business so this suits well. I asked other reps and this is where they all stay. Not the cheapest but you will see why. Anywhere in Coffs you still get a little road noise - even Opal Cove near the water but these are double glazed so it is good. Just got cool new proximity door locks so i won't lock myself out and new rain shower heads. Only problem is they have flow restrictors on them and hard to get a good warm flow and noisy water early in the morning results. I would gladly pay an extra $1 a night for no restrictors! Also, every morning I get 2 welcoming sanitary bags on my washer in the bathroom. Surely they know I am male by now - how about mints instead??

Room Tip: Most rooms are great - get the Travellers menu in your room or ask for it in the restaurant - Chicke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busytraveller2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QICC, Owner at Quality Inn City Centre, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. Your feedback does make a difference. With regard to our new rainfall showerheads, it seems they come with a restrictor and we will be removing this in the very near future.

I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Regards
Michael Dougherty
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

I staying again in this motel last night, and yet again it reinforced why I like the Quality Inn. It is located off the Highway on a road parallel to the Highway, but quiet. I had a room on the first floor at the rear and found to my surprise the windows facing the hotel front were double glazed. The rear window and balcony of my room also provided a great view of the hinterland to the west.
I ate dinner in the motel restaurant yet again and enjoyed the seafood entree, and as a main the local fish of the day - well presented and both reasonably priced. The quality of the restaurant food remains very good, however I think the only failing is the pricing of the wines. I realise that a markup on wine is a necessity, however to see a bottle of white wine priced at $30+ on the restaurant menu which can be purchased in the nearby bottle shop for just over $10 is sobering. I personally think the wine prices could be scaled back.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the upper level in the rear block with a western balcony for a quiet sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pittjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QICC, Owner at Quality Inn City Centre, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a reveiw, We are very pleased you continue to enjoy staying us. We purchase our wine via wholesalers, it's becoming more evident that retailers such as Dan Murphys can sell the same product cheaper than our wine merchants. I recognise that this is an issue and thank you for bringing it further to our attention.

Regards
Michael Dougherty
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

We were en route from Noosa to Sydney and knew we would want to stop somewhere on the way. We rang about an hour before arrival and were quite happy to be offered the new/newly renovated apartment at the front of the property. We arrived and after a very friendly reception, easily made our way upstairs to a very large and welcoming apartment with two bedrooms and a bathroom for the three (adults) of us.
There was plenty of space and the apartment looked and felt, fresh and very clean.
We explored Coffs Harbour that evening and ate out.
We joined everyone for breakfast in the dining room, where there was an extensive display, with the option of either a normal breakfast with cereal and toast, or a hot meal, both at reasonable prices.
All in all a very pleasant stay in an easy to find location and, notwithstanding the main road - it was very quiet.

Room Tip: If there are more than two of you and you need two bedrooms, don't be concerned about taking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinLeChaudLapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QICC, Owner at Quality Inn City Centre, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
I appreciate the time you have taken to write about your stay with us. I am also very pleased you have had a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Regards
Michael Dougherty
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa (Mesa County), Colorado
Level Contributor
121 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

Arrived mid-afternoon to few vacancies in Coff's Harbour. Quality Inn had a large King left at A$200/night--quite pricey for a motel. Our bath window mechanism was broken. We couldn't close the window which opened onto very noisy intersecting roads. We reported it, and went out. Upon return, we were told it couldn't be fixed due to a rusted mechanism. Staff suggested we put a towel along the bath door to shut out some of the noise. We stayed 2 nights and thought the window would be fixed the next day. Not so. Our guess is that the rust indicated a longer term problem; and the staff acted so surprised when we reported it! (The open window also let bugs into the room. Because of the inconvenience of having to move the towel to use the bathroom, we ended up stuffing a towel around the opening in the window itself. Not a great solution, but better than nothing). The resulting noise was an issue which interfered with sleep.

The bath had a rainfall showerhead that also needed maintenance. It had poor water pressure and just offered a trickle of water to try to rinse shampoo and soap. Temperature control was also not working properly and had to be constantly readjusted.

On the plus side, the room (with the exception of bugs from the open window) was very clean and apparently recently refurbished. The bed was very comfortable. We had a delicious dinner at the motel's restaurant one evening. Other than the noisy roads, the motel is well-located for activities in Coff's Harbour and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FourWinds_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QICC, Owner at Quality Inn City Centre, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Thank you for your review. The window your are referring to is a small ventilation window in the bathroom that we had difficulty closing other than a 3cm gap. All our showers have rainfall heads which were installed six months ago, your comment was the first one that was not positive during this time. As you have made complaints about the above as well as the price I am puzzled as to why you entended your stay (which you failed to mention) after the first night if you were not happy. I can only assume you have over dramatised these issues.

Regards
Michael Dougerty
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opwijk, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

We have made a long trip from Sydney up to Cairns. The Quality Inn at Coffs Harbour was one of our stops, which has proven to deliver value for our money. Friendly at the reception, very nice and clean rooms, very helpful personnel (also when we found out the next day that we had forgotten some stuff in the hotel). When we're back Down Under, Quality Inn in Coffs Harbour will for sure be one of our stops.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QICoffs, Owner at Quality Inn City Centre, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear Jan

Thank you for your positive comments, we very much appreciate your feedback and am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards
Michael Dougherty
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

We've stayed in Coffs Harbour a few times but always in the mega-resorts out of town. This time we were passing through and wanted a comfortable centrally located motel for an overnight stay. The Quality Inn met all our expectations; it was easy to locate, close to the highway but still nice and quiet for a good sleep. Shame the restaurant was closed (on a Friday night?) but the Gai Thai restaurant next door more than made up for that. Our first floor room was easy to access from the car (ramps not stairs), clean and comfortable, and an adequate size. For $169 (plus the dreaded credit card surcharge of $5) it was pretty good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vidoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QICoffs, Owner at Quality Inn City Centre, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Thank you for your reveiw and I appreciate your comments. Our restaurant is open fom Sunday to Thursday, however on Friday and Saturday nights we are closed. There are, as you mentioned plenty of options close by and we can arrange deliveries and chargebacks.

Regards
Michael Dougherty
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
3.2 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#2 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
2.9 mi away
Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Big Windmill
Comfort Inn Big Windmill
#9 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#5 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
2.7 mi away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#3 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Zebra Motel
BEST WESTERN Zebra Motel
#10 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn City Centre

Property: Quality Inn City Centre
Address: 22 Elizabeth St, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Inn City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location ! Location !, 300m to city centre, shopping, clubs and restuarants. Hotel style, King spa and apartment accommodation. Fox sports, free movie channels, licensed restaurant and bar, room service and breakfast buffet daily.2009, 2010, and 2011 Chamber of Commerce award for "Best Accommodation Coffs Coast". AAA rated four star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Quality Inn City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing