We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next time keep driving”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Zebra Motel
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Reviewed 30 December 2011

I have noticed that they have been renovating the rooms for 3 years so far. Seems like they need to quicken the pace. Our room had hard beds, lumpy pillows, and and asthmatic air conditioner which we had to leave on to drown out the noise from the other guests and the trucks going past. No allocated parking for rooms. Restaurant was closed in peak season so it was a walk to the RSL. Did not find the staff either friendly nor helpful. Should have been a sign when this was the only place in town with rooms to spare.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CaztheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2011

Judging by other reviews, a lot of rooms have been renovated or updated. I don't think I was lucky enough to be in one of those rooms. Nevertheless, my room was still nice and clean and had everything I needed: flat screen TV with all free to air digital and selected Austar/Foxtel channels, access to wireless Internet, coffee making facilities, fridge with mini bar, clean bed and a very nice and comfortable office chair.
There was a bit of a struggle to find a parking spot, but I guess that's what happens during school holidays when the place is filled to its capacity.
Restaurant had great food. I would recommend this restaurant to people that are brave enough to try some VERY spicy food.
Staff was very polite, friendly and accommodating and nothing was too much trouble for them.
There was only one little thing that a cleaner may have accidentally overlooked. One of my bathroom towels had evidence of previous gest cleaning his/her ears. I didn't make any complaints but I'm sure that if I did, staff would have been more than happy to replace the towel for me.
Overall, a typical 3 - 3.5 star Motel. Nothing extraordinary, but nice, clean friendly and functional. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrD79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We had a nice family room, which had been refurbished. The bathroom was really good and various toiletries were provided in dispensers. The overall impression of the room was good.
There was a fridge and kettle, but no microwave or toaster.
There was a good heater and a flat screen TV.
The breakfast was good, self service.
The proprietor and receptionist were exceptionally friendly which helped with the favourable impression.
The rooms are being refurbished on a rolling programme. I don't know how many have still to be done.
There were one or two downsides: there was an intercommunicating door (locked) to the next room and we could hear the person next door talking more than we would have liked. There was no sink to wash cups and washing up in the lovely washbasin didn't seem like a good idea. Parking was a bit of a problem. We had to park in the overspill parking out the back rather than outside our room.
Overall though we would definitely
stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agentgibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

After a long drive from Victoria, arrived here late, still managed to receive Excellent Happy Smiley staff to greet us & settle into our room, with beautiful dinner & well deserved drink from the onsite "Zulu's" Restaurant & Bar. Kids also enjoyed their evening swim in the pool.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KazNGeeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZebraMotel, Owner at Best Western Zebra Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2011

Thank you for your review. Your comments will passsed to all our staff. We would love to see you again at our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

My husband and I stayed one night on our way home to Sydney from Queensland and were given a family room with a queen bed and 2 singles as that was all they had left. We paid the normal double room rate but what impressed me most was the bathroom that must have recently been revamped. Plently of shampoos, creams etc and above all the room was very clean. We alked down to the Coast Hotel were we had a really lovely meal and a nice bottle of red. I would recommend both the Motel and the Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Childs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZebraMotel, Owner at Best Western Zebra Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2011

We have renovated bathrooms is some of our rooms and are glad to know that it is being very well accepted by our guests. We are in the process of fixing all our bathrooms but since it is big property, it will take time. The Staff and Management would like to thank you for your wonderful comments and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

This motel is run by a charming couple who went out of their way to respond to requests, It doesn't claim to be a five star motel, and what you get is good value for the price - solid 3 star with clean rooms and a very peaceful location within walking distance of the town centre. It compares very favourably with other motels in Coffs, some of which are much more expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CP51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZebraMotel, Owner at Best Western Zebra Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2011

Your review of our motel is very much appreciated as it always helps us to improve our service. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

We stayed at this motel on bartercard and paid %20 more than if we paid cash however our understanding is Bartercard is $ for $. The rooms need updating desperately to meet the price they charge, however they were fuchtional. We ate in the restaurant which was nice however also over priced for what it was and my rice came out slightly cold. If they do upgrade maybe they could put in more soundproofing. Otherwise a ok stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louiefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#14 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
201 reviews
1.7 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#5 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
103 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#2 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
2,943 reviews
1.7 mi away
Royal Palms Motor Inn
Royal Palms Motor Inn
#1 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
623 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Motor Inn
Premier Motor Inn
#15 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Zebra Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Zebra Motel

Address: 27 Grafton St, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Zebra Motel)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Price Range: £73 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Zebra Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Zebra Motel. The motel has recently changed ownership with a new and invigorated team running this classic Coffs Harbour establishment. With recently renovated rooms, free wifi and on site restaurant is a great choice for those travelling through for work or play. Our motel is conveniently located a short stroll to the CBD along the side of the Pacific Highway. Come and see our friendly staff for one of the most homely and warming experiences you could ever have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Zebra Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Coffs Harbour
Coffs Harbour Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing