We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spotless and spacious”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Coffs Harbour YHA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coffs Harbour YHA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Spotless and spacious”
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night in a 4 bed mixed dorm but luckily we were the only 2 in the room which was nice. The room was spotless and quiet along with the kitchen which was great to cook in. The pool and communal areas were really nice and well kept and the staff were helpful also.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunchaser100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    54
    17
    6
    8
See reviews for
8
44
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

We only stayed the one night but when we jumped of the greyhound coach- yha were there waiting for us ready to take us back to the hostel free of charge! They were 2 friendly girls who first took us to the view point so we could get a feel for coffs harbour they then told us abit about it and told us which events were happening at the hostel etc! Really helpful. Over all it's a lovely clean place but lacking colour! And don't stay in room 202 it's on first floor right near reception, you won't get no sleep as you can hear what's going on downstairs and people walking in and out. Also the beds coukd do with a revamp as very squeky just when sitting on it and when moving in the night! Highly recommend hogs breath for a bite to eat and fish and chips down at the jetty-Go down at sunset it's a lovely view!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmychoo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viti Levu, Fiji
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

This hostel has been the most enjoyable yet that I have stayed at. Plenty of people coming and going and lots of people to meet. Just about everyone I met were pleasant to be around. They have a strict drink policy which states there is no drinking after 10pm. This is nice because it reduces the noise in the later evening allowing you to sleep well. They have daily events and evening events also. The staff are excellent and will help with any thing you need help with. I would recommend this hostel to anyone for a short to long stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank achillies_heelit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guadeloupe
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

feels like brand new (201208), clean, tidy great kitchen with a walk in fridge, very well groomed kitchen, sunshine in the pool area, the staff organises some evening events to bring people together. the best quality/cost ratio we have experienced on the east coast of australia

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank renaudsechet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Fine as a place to stay, clean, great kitchen with a walk in fridge, sunshine in the pool area, just lacked atmosphere. Ian who was working for accommodation whilst I was there did try to organise some evening events to bring people together. Perfectly good place to stay, not so great for meeting fellow travellers. Also quite a walk to the town centre, although they do offer lifts when they pick up people from the buses. The IGA over the road seemed to have a lot of cheap fresh produce, which is a bonus!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blue82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I stayed here for one night with my sister in Summer 2010.

The hostel is spacious and was very quiet when we stayed. Our bedroom was clean and we had a large dorm to ourselves. Bathrooms/ showers were all clean. We did spot large bugs/beetles in the kitchen, although this problem may have been solved since our stay and is I guess to be expected, we did see them elsewhere in Australia too.

Might have liked the hostel to be a bit more lively, although can't complain with the level of service from the staff or the overall standard of accomodation here.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanzi_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We stayed in a 4-bed mixed share. The rooms were clean, beds were comfy and bed-bug free. There isn't a lot of space but the lockers are large which is a bonus. Fans in room too. Shower and toilet always clean. The kitchen is big, has several hobs and sinks and generally was clean enough although often busy. Nice vibe about the place when we stayed, not a party hostel but plenty of friendly easy-going people. Pool was nice but needed a clean. The prices rose quite dramatically during our stay and although we didn't have to pay the higher prices, when we tried to upgrade our room they wanted to charge us the new prices instead of the rates we had originally ordered from which was a bit harsh really. Some long-termers around but that didn't bother us.

Its a five minute walk to the beach and about a half-hour trip into the town proper, but in four days we never needed to go into town as there is an IGA and plenty of restaurants and take-away's just across the road. $5 body-board rental was a nice touch. I'd have no problem staying here again or recommending. Also, we did horse-riding with Valery Trails which was something different, we'd recommend it.

Room Tip: I'd go with upper floor, less of a thoroughfare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Young_Irish_Couple0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.8 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#9 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
248 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#5 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
73 reviews
2.9 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#2 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aussitel Backpackers
Aussitel Backpackers
#7 of 43 in Coffs Harbour
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pier Hotel
The Pier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Coffs Harbour
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Marina Apartments
Pacific Marina Apartments
#8 of 43 in Coffs Harbour
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coffs Harbour YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coffs Harbour YHA

Property: Coffs Harbour YHA
Address: 51 Collingwood St, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coffs Harbour YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway between Sydney and Brisbane, Coffs Harbour YHA makes a great stopover for backpackers travelling the east coast. The purpose-built YHA hostel is located close to the jetty and beach. Choice of multi-share backpacker rooms and en-suite twin/double room accommodation. Spacious dining and common rooms, TV, free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available), BBQ, pool area. FREE surfboard and body boards hire, and bikes available. YHA member discounts for local tours and backpacker activities at hostel tour desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Coffs Harbour YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing