We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large hostel close to jetty”
Review of Coffs Harbour YHA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coffs Harbour YHA
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I can tell this would be a really good hostel in busier months but there was no atmosphere when I stayed. The kitchen is massive, with plenty of workspace and big fridge for your food. They have a couple of communal areas which is good if you're a solo traveller, the tv room is a bit on the small size but comfy. The rooms are very tidy (i stayed in a 6 bed but it was never full) but you can hear the music from the speakers in the hallway. it didnt bother me too much as it went off after 9 but it is a bit strange and airy! The manager is always on hand and the staff were really friendly, including those working for accommodation.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
Thank Alixx777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2013

You can get cheap rooms in Coffs and you can get nice rooms in Coffs, to get both you're usually going to have to pay for it but you don't have to with this little gem.

I got lucky as it was the off season, so it was pretty quite. This hostel is set up like a hostel should be, open space with a nice outdoor area and a spotless pool. Spotless, just like the rest of the hostel.

It's conveniently located close to the beaches, marina and a little strip that has a great choice of restaurants and takeaways. There is a free shuttle the the bus everyday, free shuttle into town on a Saturday night and free use of surfboards.

If you are planning to come to Coffs Harbour and you're on a budget but still have standards | definitely recommend the Coffs YHA.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Stayed in for 2 nights at the end of April.Great hostel,clean room,great pool and very friendly staff.Would highly recommend.We were able to walk anywhere because of the great location.Only cooked here once but the kitchen was clean and it was quiet for sleeping.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OntarioLeeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and loved it! As soon as I got there the manager/owner pulled out a map and showed me where all the shops/attractions were and told me all the things I could do on my stay. I went to see the dolphins and seals which was only a 5 minute walk, had beautiful breakfasts a 2 minute walk away, jumped off the jetty and loads more. The hostel was great. It was full of lovely people, the pool was awesome, the premises was very clean and tidy, the bed was comfortable and warm and they lent you surfboards for free. I'll definitely be coming again. I've stayed in a lot of hostels and this is one of the best.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosejessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I had the best stay here at Coffs YHA. The staff were so friendly and welcoming. The rooms were really good, very clean and great showers. I couldn't have asked for a better location- only a moment stroll to the pier where I swarm near the local dolphin. Back at the hostel, there is a really spacious lounge area right next to the pool, which was so ideal after packed out days camel riding, snorkeling and surfig (AND they provide free surf boards too!). I loved it here and can not wait to come back. I strongly recommend staying YHA Coffs Harbour.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elenkaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Wow really shocked by the good feedback here. The worst YHA I've stayed in, I'm surprised they are allowed to call it a YHA. Rooms were ok, my bed was almost falling apart though, didn't feel stable, the fan made annoying noises so couldn't turn it on and it was mega hot. Showers need some serious cleaning and the night I stayed (I made sure this was only one) the lights in neither boys or girls toilets worked...great fun
Kitchen was disgusting, I know that's down to guests but clearly it wasn't all fresh dirt, it was long term nasty greasy yuk yuk yuk.. The tv room equally gross but in fairness a good DVD selection and good tv. The guy was nice behind reception but by the time I realised the shortcomings of the room the reception had closed. Just a bad place to stay and in honesty thought Coffs Harbour was pretty lame, don't waste time or money here when you could be somewhere nice

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cheekyboy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We initially booked for two nights after seeing some good reviews online. After one night we decided to stay longer, the staff are very friendly, extremely helpful and knowledgable about the local area. The kitchen is well equipped and a very good size, plenty of space to eat and cook. We were able to relax in the evening and there were plenty of people around to chat to. The room was comfortable and clean, we stayed in a double ensuite at the front of the building and it was very quiet. The outside area was also well kept with benches and sun loungers around the very attractive pool.

Would recommend this hostel to everyone, its a 5 min walk to the harbour and beach, there are free shuttle buses into the centre of town, the rail station is walking distance and they arrange collections and drop offs for the coaches. Well worth a stay!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elm325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.8 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
274 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour
Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour
#33 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
437 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aussitel Backpackers
Aussitel Backpackers
#5 of 42 in Coffs Harbour
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#17 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
85 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Palms Motor Inn
Royal Palms Motor Inn
#1 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
600 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Beach Resort Motel
Park Beach Resort Motel
#4 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coffs Harbour YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coffs Harbour YHA

Address: 51 Collingwood St, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Coffs Harbour
Price Range: £17 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coffs Harbour YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway between Sydney and Brisbane, Coffs Harbour YHA makes a great stopover for backpackers travelling the east coast. The purpose-built YHA hostel is located close to the jetty and beach. Choice of multi-share backpacker rooms and en-suite twin/double room accommodation. Spacious dining and common rooms, TV, free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available), BBQ, pool area. FREE surfboard and body boards hire, and bikes available. YHA member discounts for local tours and backpacker activities at hostel tour desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Coffs Harbour YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing