We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We definitely would go back again”
Review of Coffs Harbour YHA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coffs Harbour YHA
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We definitely would go back again”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Coffs YHA for only two nights and wished we could have stayed longer! The staff was nice and helpful, the kitchen is large and fully equipped. The common room has plenty of lounge banks and there are free surf boards and bikes you can use. Our double room was clean and sufficient, not very big but okay for the two of us.
The hostel is located next to the jetty shopping centre,
which is very convenient when you want to cook at the hostel. We went to dolphin marine magic, which is a 5-10 minute walk and it's definitely worth a visit!
We would come back again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Odette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    56
    18
    6
    9
See reviews for
8
45
37
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Our stay at YHA Coff's Harbour has to have been our best stay in a hostel. The rooms are large, location is excellent - very central but still quiet. The pool is clean and available for use whenever you wish, the kitchen is large and full of amenities. All in all it is an excellent hostel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelboca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolgoolga, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

A friend and I stayed here last week while in town for a friends wedding. I've never stayed in a hostel before and was dubious when my friend booked it but went along for the ride. I was quite pleasantly surprised!

The girl on the front desk at check in was really informative and definitely knew her stuff, which was really helpful as we arrived a few days early to have a little holiday. There was so much stuff to do in Coffs Harbour that we didn't know about, we actually ran out of time. With her advice, we enjoyed our day to the rainforest in Dorrigo, and Bellingen, as well as the Go Karts, markets, kayaking and stand up paddle boarding. As well as some beautiful creeks, beaches and eateries. Our room was everything we needed for our 2 nights. I definitely wasn't expecting it to be so clean and comfortable. The common areas were well equipped and laid out.

What really sold it for me was the vicinity to pretty much everything! It was a 2 minute walk to about 15 cafés and restaurants and a shopping village with a supermarket across the road if you're cooking your own food. On the Sunday we enjoyed the 2 minute walk to the awesome markets which were directly behind the dunes. Though we didn't actually walk onto the beach.

All in all, I was extremely pleasantly surprised, it wasn't anything like the dingey backpackers I was expecting in my head. I would actually stay there again, and that's saying something for me!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adeline90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lismore, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is one of the best located hostels I've stayed in. A short 2 min stroll from lots of cafes and the jetty, which is great for a relaxing swim. If you want bigger waves, there are free surfboards and body boards available.
The kitchen is huge and it has walk in coolroom and it has a great pool area.
Room was very clean, and the staff told us all the great nightlife places.
We ended up staying an extra night so we could do the mutton bird island walk and go to the markets.
Loved Coffs Harbour, such pretty beaches.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anastassijah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I have never stayed in a hostel before, but I found YHA Coff's Harbour to be a very pleasant experience.
The staff were outstanding, the rooms were clean and the location is great! Not to mention amazing prices, will be staying again! Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just stayed here, great choice- clean hostel and rooms, perfect location close to shops and beaches and a great place to be able to see all the best parts that coffs has to offer. Staff informed us of the night markets which were a lot of fun and mutton bird island which was walking distance and showed a beautiful view of Coffs Harbour. Lots of close cafés and walking distance to the jetty strip which had a variety of choices for all meals and beverages.
All staff were extremely friendly and insightful and answered all of our questions with confidence.
Would definatly stay here again !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed here for one night on a road trip and stayed in a private ensuite room.
The location is definitely great next to beaches, train station, small shopping centre (the fresh juices in the cafe are awesome), restaurants and mutton bird island in walking distance. To go to the city centre and other attractions (Dutch Village, Big Banana etc) you will definitively need transport. Parking spots are very limited at the hostel. The staff was friendly and helpful at all times by providing free maps and showing us where to go and what to do.

However, compared to a previous hostel experience the rooms at this YHA were quite worn and there was a lot of hair in the bathroom. We also had to ask for the towels which were supposed to be provided in the room. There is no air conditioning in the room, but a ventilator.

The common areas looked OK, the kitchen clean, the pool not very inviting. However, it is great to get free surfboards upon availability and a list on recommended activities with a price range for every budget.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Y_and_M12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.8 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
259 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#3 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
86 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour
Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour
#34 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aussitel Backpackers
Aussitel Backpackers
#6 of 42 in Coffs Harbour
147 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pier Hotel
The Pier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Coffs Harbour
81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caribbean Motel
Caribbean Motel
#6 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coffs Harbour YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coffs Harbour YHA

Property: Coffs Harbour YHA
Address: 51 Collingwood St, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coffs Harbour YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway between Sydney and Brisbane, Coffs Harbour YHA makes a great stopover for backpackers travelling the east coast. The purpose-built YHA hostel is located close to the jetty and beach. Choice of multi-share backpacker rooms and en-suite twin/double room accommodation. Spacious dining and common rooms, TV, free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available), BBQ, pool area. FREE surfboard and body boards hire, and bikes available. YHA member discounts for local tours and backpacker activities at hostel tour desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Coffs Harbour YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing