We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, basic, good value & service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hoey Moey Backpackers
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We stayed one night here on our trip up the coast the room was clean and basic which is all we required for an overnight stay. Staff were very friendly and welcoming on arrival. Good value for money. The bar seemed busy and did very good value meals however we were not here long enough to try them. I would be happy to stay here again on our way back down.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mzteeree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
There are newer reviews for Hoey Moey Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2012

I booked this Motel For $49 plus $5 booking fee on line for an overnight stay on my trip to Surfers Paradise Queensland. Room was small 1970s style motel room next to a pub . The room was very clean with a small ensuite which had a shower. It had a very comfortable double bed with good quality bed linen and pillows. A modern 32 inch flat screen LCD TV mounted on the wall. A bar fridge, sink and modern free standing wardrobe. No air conditioning but a had ceiling fan. The motel is steps away from the beach and steps away from Pub which has live entertainment, great atmosphere and $7.50 meals. I had steak, chips and salad for $7.50 on Sunday night. You may get a bit of noise from the pub but I got a good night's sleep. I suggest this motel for overnight stays or a holiday on a budget. Clean and comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet, clean room
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agro_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a great time! The restaurant offers meals for $7,50 (a different meal deal every day), very tasty!
Direct access to the beach.
It's not a backpackers at all, it's a motel, but that didn't bother us :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinkeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

The rooms are semi clean, only a couple of cockroaches in the room! This really is not a backpackers as advertised, the kitchen is horrible and it does not get cleaned. The cleaning staff are rude, they bang on your door very loud and aggressive at 8am then again every hour after that and they only checked to see if we wanted our bin changed which we had to empty ourself on our last day out of 5. other than the cleaners the rest of the staff are lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ashlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We only stayed here for one night as we were travelling the East Coast of Australia by car and were on a tight schedule. If we'd known when we planned it what we know now we would have spent longer here. There's not much to do in Coffs Harbour itself and it's not a very big place. We thought we had booked a hostel but it turned out that we had booked something a bit like an American Motel and got a really lovely, well equipped room for a hostel price. This might not be the case if you book a hostel room but as we booked 2 private double ensuites, I'd say that we probably got lucky. On first arrival you have no idea where to go, you can see the "Hoey Moey" sign on the wall but the Motel/Hostel Reception is not obvious to you. We arrived on a particularly busy day, there was a band playing in the bar and it was quite hectic! We finally got to the bar to enquire where we were meant to go if we had a reservation and we were told to wait around the corner and someone would come and check us in, but we had to wait a while again, so we were a bit confused! From arrival to check in, the process was really lengthy awkward and so they really need to sort that out! Having said that, it was good to see a busy bar and restaurant on the complex, meaning we didn't have to look for somewhere to eat/drink, and I was even more pleased when the guy checking us in showed us that our rooms were not in the same building, so we wouldn't have any noise from the bar. There is lots of free car parking and we managed to move the hire car to right outside our door to make things easier. We were amazed when we opened our room door. Huge windows and the door took up one entire wall. We had a kitchen unit, with a sink, kettle, tea and coffee facilities. A large flatscreen TV was out of the way up on the wall opposite the bed and at the very back of the room, our ensuite, with a large shower to one side, the loo to the other and the sink in the middle. It was lovely and clean. It wasn't very big and there were no other furnishings so some might say that it was basic but this was by far the best budget accommodation we stayed in whilst we were in Australia. A gap in the wall revealed a shady sandy path down to the beach, so you cannot beat it for location. We ate in the restaurant that night and the menu was vast. There was a strange canteen feel about the ordering process but we suspect this might have been something to do with how busy it was as Australia were playing New Zealand in (I think) the rugby world cup that night. The food when it came was excellent, and all of our meals were rather large. In the end we forgave them for the messy/disorganised check in and the fact that their internet was not working because we had such a lovely stay here and we wished we had booked 2 nights instead of 1.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sticky11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

A wonderful place to stay, whether you're backpacking or holidaying with friends or family. It is the only backpackers with direct beach access, all the others are in town and is far better than the rest of the motels around. There are loads of activites to do and the staff are really helpful with sorting things out for you. The bar is great, live music virtually every night with different activities happening in there every night so there's something to suit everyone. It is a 5 minute walk away from a small shopping centre and 10 minutes walk to the big supermarkets and chain shops, as well as one of the best beaches on the East Coast being about a 30 second walk from your room. I couldn't reccommend the Hoey Moey any higher, a truly brilliant place.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stopped in Coffs for two nights on the way north and chose here based on price and map location (near beach), also checking for no damning reviews! We didn't have particular expectations.

The site is busy, hosting motel rooms, backpacker accommodation (with the info and access to tours/activities that goes with that), bistro, bar and bottlo. The bar has a busy schedule of entertainment and is a popular local venue. I was a bit concerned about noise, but there was no problem; backpackers come to do stuff here, not to hang around until all hours!

The rooms were smaller than many country motels, but perfectly clean and acceptable.

The beach is right next door. Direct access from the grounds.

In room breakfast trays are available, but there is no other food service until midday. We found a coffee shop over the road for our obligatory morning espressos.

Don't come here if you want a guarantee of peace and quiet; I imagine it can be noisy during busier periods. Also, "hotel" in the name refers to the pub/bar facilities, not to the accommodation, so set your expectations accordingly. But do come if you want ready access to the beach, the bar, decent meals, entertainment and friendly staff.

It works for us, and we'll be back when we pass this way again.

It's not in the middle of town, but we're not sure exactly how far away; we didn't need to venture off site.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConradHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.3 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandcastles Holiday Units
Sandcastles Holiday Units
#20 of 42 in Coffs Harbour
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachlander Holiday Apartments
Beachlander Holiday Apartments
#13 of 42 in Coffs Harbour
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pacific Towers Beach Resort
Pacific Towers Beach Resort
#10 of 42 in Coffs Harbour
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Paradise Holiday Units
Ocean Paradise Holiday Units
#27 of 42 in Coffs Harbour
54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tradewinds Holiday Apartments
Tradewinds Holiday Apartments
#30 of 42 in Coffs Harbour
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoey Moey Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoey Moey Backpackers

Address: 84 Ocean Parade, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Coffs Harbour
Price Range: £44 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hoey Moey Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Beach Hotel Motel/ Hoey Moey Backpackers is the only hotel in Coffs Harbour with DIRECT BEACH ACCESS! – It’s a great stopover point for anybody travelling the east coast. You can be sure of a great welcome and fantastic budget accommodation with travel desk, onsite bar, beer garden, bottle shop & restaurant offering great value meals every day with lunch / dinner ...and don't forget we're the only Hotel in Coffs Harbour with DIRECT BEACH ACCESS just seconds from your room! Coffs Harbour's biggest shopping plaza is less than 10 minutes walk away with a huge variety of shops including post office, banks, Woolworths, Aldi, IGA, Big W, Target, McDonalds, KFC, Subway and Eagle Boys Pizza. We offer a massive range of great activities to suit all budgets including scuba diving, skydiving with beach landing, rainforest horse riding, camel riding on the beach, surfing, white water rafting, deep sea fishing, whale watching, sea kayaking, surf rafting, mountain bike riding at Dorrigo National Park, bungee trampoline, flying trapeze class & ten pin bowling! Free use of body boards & fishing rods. Mountain bikes for rent. Free pick up. Directions: If driving from the North - pass the Big Banana (on right). At the first traffic lights turn left into Park Beach Road. Go straight over 2 roundabouts and you come to a T intersection. We are located on corner of Park Beach Road & Ocean Parade.. If driving from the South - pass the tourist information centre & bus station (on left) and follow the Highway for 2.5 km. Follow the signs to Park Beach Plaza and take a right turn into Park Beach Road. Go straight over 2 roundabouts and you come to a T intersection. We are located on the corner of Park Beach Road & Ocean Parade. Our Opening Hours are 10.00am to 11.00pm. Total Motel rooms 26. Arrival Time 10.00 Departure Time 10.00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hoey Moey Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing