We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hoey Moey Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hoey Moey Backpackers
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012 via mobile

Hoey moey has really clean, cheap and good rooms. I've tried both private and dorm and both is ensuite. The restaurant have cheap lunch every day and good happenings in the evenings. Matt and Frank are good guys and will help you out. The only bad thing is the kitchen, it wasn't really clean and not much cuttlery.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camillali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    35
    20
    13
    16
See reviews for
5
25
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012 via mobile

Unfortunately we had high expectations of Hoey Moey from the owner of the hostel we stayed in the previous night. He told us new owners had spent £300k on it and it was amazing. Sadly it fell wildly short. We called to arrange a pick up from the bus station but no-one was there and we were approached by a guy from another hostel who offered to take us to the YHA and our hostel could get us from there. Not a great start.

When we reached Hoey Moey check in was abrupt and information was scarce but we managed to find our room. It was a motel room which meant big windows straight into the room so anyone walking past could see in. There was a ceiling fan which was very noisy and a flat screen TV on the wall. There was a fridge, tea/coffee making facilities and a sink. The bathroom was through a flimsy sliding door which had a shower that absolutely stank when you turned the water on. There was no sink in the bathroom.

The backpackers kitchen area was disgusting. The floors and surfaces were filthy and we washed everything up before we used it. Not enough pots and pans and no glasses or mugs.

The main restaurant / bar area was like a holiday camp and was full of unfriendly locals who stared as if you were invading their space. The bar staff were grumpy and we had 1 drink before retreating to our room. Unfortunately the noise from the bar can be heard through the thin walls so if you do stay here bring ear plugs.

The only redeeming feature was the free ride to the bus stop the next day.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Coffs Harbour hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

Ok so if your like 18 and dont mind hostile locals alot of noise and no service then this place is great. The bed was the lumpiest I have ever slept on, no sink in bathroom, you can hear everyone partying like they are in your room. No servicing of rooms, not even toilet paper. The diesel engine smell that filled our room due to a truck emptying portaloos that they had put outside our room on the last morning was the last straw. Stay anywhere but here......

Room Tip: Dont stay here, the beach is also close to many other hotels which would have to be better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

We stayed one night here on our trip up the coast the room was clean and basic which is all we required for an overnight stay. Staff were very friendly and welcoming on arrival. Good value for money. The bar seemed busy and did very good value meals however we were not here long enough to try them. I would be happy to stay here again on our way back down.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mzteeree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
282 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

I booked this Motel For $49 plus $5 booking fee on line for an overnight stay on my trip to Surfers Paradise Queensland. Room was small 1970s style motel room next to a pub . The room was very clean with a small ensuite which had a shower. It had a very comfortable double bed with good quality bed linen and pillows. A modern 32 inch flat screen LCD TV mounted on the wall. A bar fridge, sink and modern free standing wardrobe. No air conditioning but a had ceiling fan. The motel is steps away from the beach and steps away from Pub which has live entertainment, great atmosphere and $7.50 meals. I had steak, chips and salad for $7.50 on Sunday night. You may get a bit of noise from the pub but I got a good night's sleep. I suggest this motel for overnight stays or a holiday on a budget. Clean and comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet, clean room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Agro_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lummen, België
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a great time! The restaurant offers meals for $7,50 (a different meal deal every day), very tasty!
Direct access to the beach.
It's not a backpackers at all, it's a motel, but that didn't bother us :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WinkeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

The rooms are semi clean, only a couple of cockroaches in the room! This really is not a backpackers as advertised, the kitchen is horrible and it does not get cleaned. The cleaning staff are rude, they bang on your door very loud and aggressive at 8am then again every hour after that and they only checked to see if we wanted our bin changed which we had to empty ourself on our last day out of 5. other than the cleaners the rest of the staff are lovely.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ashlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.3 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#7 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#5 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Beach Resort Motel
Park Beach Resort Motel
#4 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Palms Motor Inn
Royal Palms Motor Inn
#1 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
1.1 mi away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#3 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,029 reviews
1.2 mi away
Caribbean Motel
Caribbean Motel
#6 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoey Moey Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoey Moey Backpackers

Property: Hoey Moey Backpackers
Address: 84 Ocean Parade, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hoey Moey Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Beach Hotel Motel/ Hoey Moey Backpackers is the only hotel in Coffs Harbour with DIRECT BEACH ACCESS! – It’s a great stopover point for anybody travelling the east coast. You can be sure of a great welcome and fantastic budget accommodation with travel desk, onsite bar, beer garden, bottle shop & restaurant offering great value meals every day with lunch / dinner ...and don't forget we're the only Hotel in Coffs Harbour with DIRECT BEACH ACCESS just seconds from your room! Coffs Harbour's biggest shopping plaza is less than 10 minutes walk away with a huge variety of shops including post office, banks, Woolworths, Aldi, IGA, Big W, Target, McDonalds, KFC, Subway and Eagle Boys Pizza. We offer a massive range of great activities to suit all budgets including scuba diving, skydiving with beach landing, rainforest horse riding, camel riding on the beach, surfing, white water rafting, deep sea fishing, whale watching, sea kayaking, surf rafting, mountain bike riding at Dorrigo National Park, bungee trampoline, flying trapeze class & ten pin bowling! Free use of body boards & fishing rods. Mountain bikes for rent. Free pick up. Directions: If driving from the North - pass the Big Banana (on right). At the first traffic lights turn left into Park Beach Road. Go straight over 2 roundabouts and you come to a T intersection. We are located on corner of Park Beach Road & Ocean Parade.. If driving from the South - pass the tourist information centre & bus station (on left) and follow the Highway for 2.5 km. Follow the signs to Park Beach Plaza and take a right turn into Park Beach Road. Go straight over 2 roundabouts and you come to a T intersection. We are located on the corner of Park Beach Road & Ocean Parade. Our Opening Hours are 10.00am to 11.00pm. Total Motel rooms 26. Arrival Time 10.00 Departure Time 10.00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hoey Moey Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing