We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lunchtime specials”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hoey Moey Backpackers
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Wow what a great draw card for June, July and August 2014 lunch specials at $5.50 on selected meals and a different meal each day. I know I can not cook a similar meal for this price and the chef has filled every plate with freshness and flavour....it is not big but it is really worth more than it costs, I have tried it a couple of times on different days to get a a taste of the variety and I have not been disappointed. This is a must have experience and so wonderfully different to the 'old' Hoey-Moey, the refreshed decor encourages a happy and relaxed experience. Well done and thank you.

Room Tip: Now a good local hotel motel with backpacker services....on the back of Park Beach at Coffs Harbour.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graeme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
There are newer reviews for Hoey Moey Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

Well located at Park Beach and short walk to Park Beach Shopping Plaza. Basic, but good budget accommodation with a comfortable bed. Friendly staff and good food for lunch and dinner is available in the hotel or at the nearby bowling club (a few minutes walk). Was given a free ride to the railway station in a Hoey Moey mini-bus - Staff when available happily provide transfers (as it is a busy hotel, this depends on the time of the day or night). This was my second stay at Hoey Moey within the past month, and I will be back...

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here when we were looking for fruit picking work as they regularly advertised on there facebook page etc that work is available. The rooms are set out at the back like chalets at a butlins/pontins but they are clean and ideal for what we needed. When we got there we were told well you will just have to get up and see if the farmer turned up, we were looking for something a little more solid work wise tbh but there we are. They have regular nights with singers etc and there is a good atmosphere in the evenings. The noise does travel if you want an early night because u have to be up at 6am for work. They have regular offers on food each night which is ideal for the backpackers looking for a cheap meal. The food was very school dinner style but nice enough. The good thing about this place is it is backed onto a lovely beach which is never very busy and has some lovely coastal walks.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

This hostel was ok, the rooms are clean and generally the staff are friendly. It's great location from the beach, which has great coastal walks. The bistro also has great food deals for a backpacker who's looking forward to a decent cheap meal. Unfortunately the kitchens where not clean and the equipment was not the best. On one of our last days there my friend went to use the gas ring and it almost caught her alight. Other than this minor probably the hoey Moey was an average place to stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Travelgirl0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the hoey moey hostel for 8 months. By far the best hostel I have ever stayed in (and there have been a lot!), very friendly and helpful staff who not only make you feel welcome and comfortable, but also help out with detailed directions, courtesy bus rides etc. Excellent food at great prices with prompt service with a smile, I would strongly recommend to anybody travelling through coffs harbour to stay at the hoey moey. Comfortable and very clean, this establishment does its best (with great success) to make you want to come back and stay.

Room Tip: dorm rooms are very clean and spacious enough, there are also double rooms available here
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I was able to visit Coffs Harbour again recently and was able to stay at the Hoey Moey again - nothing has changed since my last visit. The bar, however, has changed! Food is still top notch and fresh - made to order. Will be back to stay again!

Room Tip: Rooms are airy and light
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank huppypuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This is a great place for a drink and to have a cheap meal.
Every night they have a $9.50 special.
The food is good "pub grub", and serves are ample.
Service is good.
There're the usual things that go with a pub Like T.V's, horse racing, football etc. a great meeting place and backpackers abound, along with an older clientele.
Plenty of parking close by.
It certainly has atmosphere but it's loud.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Lyrebird6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.3 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandcastles Holiday Units
Sandcastles Holiday Units
#20 of 42 in Coffs Harbour
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachlander Holiday Apartments
Beachlander Holiday Apartments
#13 of 42 in Coffs Harbour
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pacific Towers Beach Resort
Pacific Towers Beach Resort
#10 of 42 in Coffs Harbour
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Paradise Holiday Units
Ocean Paradise Holiday Units
#27 of 42 in Coffs Harbour
54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tradewinds Holiday Apartments
Tradewinds Holiday Apartments
#30 of 42 in Coffs Harbour
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoey Moey Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoey Moey Backpackers

Address: 84 Ocean Parade, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Coffs Harbour
Price Range: £44 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hoey Moey Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Beach Hotel Motel/ Hoey Moey Backpackers is the only hotel in Coffs Harbour with DIRECT BEACH ACCESS! – It’s a great stopover point for anybody travelling the east coast. You can be sure of a great welcome and fantastic budget accommodation with travel desk, onsite bar, beer garden, bottle shop & restaurant offering great value meals every day with lunch / dinner ...and don't forget we're the only Hotel in Coffs Harbour with DIRECT BEACH ACCESS just seconds from your room! Coffs Harbour's biggest shopping plaza is less than 10 minutes walk away with a huge variety of shops including post office, banks, Woolworths, Aldi, IGA, Big W, Target, McDonalds, KFC, Subway and Eagle Boys Pizza. We offer a massive range of great activities to suit all budgets including scuba diving, skydiving with beach landing, rainforest horse riding, camel riding on the beach, surfing, white water rafting, deep sea fishing, whale watching, sea kayaking, surf rafting, mountain bike riding at Dorrigo National Park, bungee trampoline, flying trapeze class & ten pin bowling! Free use of body boards & fishing rods. Mountain bikes for rent. Free pick up. Directions: If driving from the North - pass the Big Banana (on right). At the first traffic lights turn left into Park Beach Road. Go straight over 2 roundabouts and you come to a T intersection. We are located on corner of Park Beach Road & Ocean Parade.. If driving from the South - pass the tourist information centre & bus station (on left) and follow the Highway for 2.5 km. Follow the signs to Park Beach Plaza and take a right turn into Park Beach Road. Go straight over 2 roundabouts and you come to a T intersection. We are located on the corner of Park Beach Road & Ocean Parade. Our Opening Hours are 10.00am to 11.00pm. Total Motel rooms 26. Arrival Time 10.00 Departure Time 10.00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hoey Moey Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing