We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easily the best place to stay/best wedding venue in Coffs Harbour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Easily the best place to stay/best wedding venue in Coffs Harbour”
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We recently had our wedding reception and subsequent honeymoon at Aanuka, and the whole experience was utterly amazing. The staff at Aanuka were absolutely excellent, and went above and beyond their job description in order to help us have an excellent stay. One staff member brought in a pile of her children's toys to our wedding reception when she learned the day before that we were having a large number of kids coming. It was such a successful move that our guests were raving with admiration all night. The staff were all warm and friendly, the food was sublime, the bed was gorgeously snuggly and the scenery was breathtaking. This is THE place to stay in Coffs. We will be back with bells on!

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KelEngland73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AanukaGeneralManager, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2011
Good Afternoon KelEngland73,
Congratulations on your recent wedding and we are delighted that you chose BreakFree Aanuka Beach for this special occasion.
A wedding is such a special time in your life and I am pleased that we were able to provide you with the perfect venue and experience. I will ensure that your comments are forwarded to our staff who greatly appericate positive feedback.
All the best and regards
Lisa Knowlson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    844
    778
    369
    151
    109
See reviews for
956
792
59
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2011

My partner and I stayed at Aanuka Beach resort as a graduation present and we loved it. Lovely room, great views perfect location for a Beach Wedding also, if a beach wedding was on the cards for us we would pick here! unfortuntaly we have something else in mind. Great resturant also - the curry and duck were a hit. Definately recommeded, you wouldn't be disappointed...

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dkuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AanukaGeneralManager, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2011
Dear Dkuc,
Thank you for your positive review and we certainly appericate your willingness to recommend our property.
Our beachside location and resort wedding chapel are indeed very popular with bridal couples and I wish you all the best for your special day.
Again, thank you for sharing your experience with us...and yes, the duck is a hit!
Regards
Lisa Knowlson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esperance, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

The service was great.. all staff were very welcoming and friendly. There were many activities to do within the resort such as many pools and spas to choose from, tennis courts and a cocktail bar. The resort has an amazing outlook out across a the beautiful diggers beach.
This resort is perfect for all ages and i would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: spa room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraJ1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 December 2015
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
442 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Booked here at short notice. Phone reservations told me that they had a special corpirate rate, when i askef how much, it turned out to be the same as the online rate!

Booked it anyway.

Breakfree is a 10 min drive out of town, probably need a car ir taxi to get here.

Very nice setting amongst palm trees. I had a Paradise Bure. Check in fine, short walk from carpark to the room. Rooms recently refurbished.

Nice decor, king bed. Large spa, but i could not work out how to turn the bubbles on.

Large sky light over the spa. This could not be covered up at all, so the light came streaming in at 6am and made it impossible to sleep.

Gym is sorely lacking. Not worth a visit.

Wifi ok, but $15 for 2 hours is expensive.

All in all an ok stay - would have been nice to be able to sleep in!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AanukaGeneralManager, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2011
Good Morning Raura,
Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our Paradise Spa Bure. As you experienced, these rooms boast a two person spa bath under a glass-atrium roof, an aspect traditionally enjoyed by those looking for a romantic getaway....perfect for star-gazing!
Your comments pertaining to the gym are noted and will be considered for future development. Wifi is provided by an external company and whilst the costs are not within our control, this option is available through-out the property should guests wish to use it.
Again, thank you for your time and regards
Lisa Knowlson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
129 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed at this resort for two nights en route to Sydney, expecting beachfront, relaxing views and a nice balcony to sit out on. Instead, the standard room was located in a rabbit warren of dark pathways with no view whatsoever. The room itself was adequate but felt claustrophobic and dark.
After complaining and agreeing to pay for an upgrade we were given a bigger room, complete with a spa with perspex ceiling to the stars in the master. The room was larger but still no view and we were told there are no rooms with views. Only the restaurant and bar areas have views to the beach about 100mtrs away.
It was cold the first night and the heating broke down. After several attempts to fix it we were given a tiny electric heater to take the chill off. This remained for the following day also. The last evening , the rain came down. The ceilings in the bathroom began to leak so we had to move our things out .

The place itself is like a 3 star family resort which may be acceptable in the warmer months, having pools and nice grounds, a few minutes walk from the beach. It's attempts to imitate a Balinese resort fall far short unfortunately. Probably not the choice for a quiet stay and definitely not beachfront !

Room Tip: Ask to see your room before you confirm
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JemBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 December 2015
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Stayed in a Villa along with family as I had a conference in Coffs Harbour, the family loved Aanuka's 2 heated pools and 3 heated spas, kids were running around in the playground, the water slide, and put-put and in the safety of the fenced perimiters so my partner just kicked back with a book and watched them have tons of fun ... I got back at 530pm and the kids were watching the free movie channel, having a great room service kids dinner and the wife was on her second Chardonnay. They are booked into the 2 storey Kids Club tomorrow at 10am so my wife has a massage and facial organised at teh Day Spa located at the resort, great value and the family didnt want to leave. We will be back fro a real holiday, where I can have fun too.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 255072John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 December 2015
Thank you for your Feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We stayed at the BreakFree Aanuka with our 2 kids (8 &3) and my parents. We had a 3 bedroom apartment and it was perfect. Very clean and comfortable with plenty of room for all of us and the million and one toys/books etc that the kids decided to bring with them!
The resort is huge, but there are a few different car parks spread out along the street so we found it very easy to get to our room, even when we first arrived, as everything is clearly signed along the pathways.
The pool area was great, even though it was too cold for us at this time of the year. I would love to go back in summer - the kids area looked fantastic.
I had read some bad reviews about this resort before we went and to be honest I was getting slightly worried, but now that we have been there, I can only say that some people much be very picky or want to complain about the silliest little things - we found our rooms to be immaculate, and as we were staying for 8 days, housekeeping came halfway through our stay which was great. Even if they didn't it wouldnt have been a problem as we had a washer and dryer for our towels etc and bought our own other essentials while we were there. I guess some people don't know the meaning of 'self-contained'!!
The description of our room on the net said 'kitchenette' but it is really a full sized kitchen which we found very handy. The fridge was full size and there was a microwave, oven and cooktop.
The resort grounds and gardens are beautiful and well maintained. Although the apartments are quite close together it feels like you are there on your own - there was no noise or disturbances anywhere near us.
The resort is only a 5 minute drive from a decent sized shopping centre and about 10 minutes from the centre of Coffs. The Big Banna is within walking distance, and there is a lovely beach right at the front of the resort. Again, way too cold to swim in May, but still beautiful to look at :)
Overall, we loved the resort and would not heistate to stay there again, or to recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UsTwoPlusTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 December 2015
Thank you for your Feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.8 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#2 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#13 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#4 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.4 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
1.3 mi away
Opal Cove Resort
Opal Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Korora
3.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort

Property: BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
Address: 11 Firman Drive | Diggers Beach, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an absolute beachfront location BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort has magnificent ocean views from dining areas and is surrounded by acres of wide open parklands perfect for your next getaway. At the resort you can expect great accommodation, recreation and relaxation rolled into one and there are a range of facilities on offer ideal for couples and families. Choose from an outdoor rock pool with slide, children’s pool and play area, cave spas, tennis courts, mini putt putt golf, beach volleyball and Diggers Beach just a short stroll from your room. When it’s time to dine, choose from the award-winning Finz on the Beach or unwind at Casay on the Beach, both offering ocean views. Treat yourself to a Mi-Time Day Spa treatment for the ultimate in relaxation to help yourself unwind. At the resort you can choose from Studio Hotel Rooms, Paradise Spa Bures with spa baths and 2, 3 and 4 bedroom self-contained villas. To make your stay comfortable every room type includes air conditioning, Austar, DVD player, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities, microwave, toaster, iron and ironing board. Beach lovers can enjoy the seclusion of picturesque Diggers Beach which is literally at the resort's doorstep or sit back on the terrace with a long drink and admire postcard views of the sweeping lawns stretching down to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Aanuka Beach Hotel Coffs Harbour
Hotel Breakfree Aanuka Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing