We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My car was damaged”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Reviewed 20 July 2011

My advice - do not park your car at this resort! My car was damaged by someone trying to break into it, and a few others in the same area were badly damaged and all belongings taken from what I was told. This all happened in their secure car park with gates and the rest of it. Staff said they would lodge an incident report... I have heard nothing.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Globalvoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AanukaGeneralManager, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

Dear Globalvoice,
Firstly, I apologize for the very unfortunate incident that took place during your time with us. Indeed on the one night, it seems that the resort was a target to malicous behaviour and I can assure you that we have been working with the relevant authorities to ensure that this does not re-occur.
Your incident was reported to the NSW Event Line whom then as the professionals, move forward on any further matters pertaining to this.
In an effort to assist you, I would be happy to act as a liasion and contact authorties on your behalf asking them to make contact with yourself. Please email myself direct with your details so that I can assist you at lisa.knowlson@breakfree.com.au
Regards
Lisa Knowlson, General Manager BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,586)
There are newer reviews for BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,441 - 2,447 of 2,586 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights during a conference in Coffs. I had booked a 2 bedroom spa villa during an online sale so got a really good rate of $120 per night (normal rate is about $200); overall the villa was comfortable with a full kitchen with a dishwasher, separate laundry and 2 bedrroms upstairs, one with a spa. The lounge had a big TV with Austar and a DVD player.

The resort had lots of pools and was very close to Digger's Beach. Unfortunately during my stay the weather was terrible and it rained, so I didn't use the pools or swim (not the hotel's fault!).

Minor niggles were: all tiles downstairs even in the lounge so a bit "unhomely"; no proper heating downstairs. And the wireless internet rate was way too high - I made do without net access for the couple of days.

I was one person alone so it felt very large - this would be good for families and great value. Overall I would recommend.

Room Tip: Book a spa villa online
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wombatdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2015

Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Aanuka Beach resort ensured my family had a great holiday, through their excellent service and rooms. Loved the setting and services provided.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chookrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2015

Thank you for your Feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

As per another review I read, "beware the bure"

The GOOD - Very nice new bathroom, spacious and modern with lots of light. Washing machine and dryer provided. Bed comfortable and clean. Spacious bure. Big TV.

The BAD - According to the numerous security signs there is a lot of crime in the resort. Everything needs to be locked at all times and they accept NO responsibility. There must have been a breakin or several when we stayed. A few police walking around questioning people. Small car parking spaces and not enough. Long walk to our bure and not enough luggage carts available. Staff have electric buggies but are not interested in assisting. Very dirty windows, Old teatowels with holes, Threadbare towels with frayed edges. Kitchenette has no stove top so it is very hard to cook anything.
Would be nice if the glass roof of the bathroom was cleaner.

The UGLY - Musty mouldy damp stench in bure which no amount of airing would remove. The bure's are in a thick rainforest garden, old huts which see minimal sun. A broken couch, very uncomfortable to sit on. So we had to sit on the dining setting the whole time. Big clumps (some tennis ball size) of hair on the couch and at the base of furniture mmmm. Old food stains growing mould on the curtains.

On politely mentioning good and bad issues that we encountered, the duty manager smiled nodded and made some notes in an effort to look engaged. However there was no followup action taken nor compensation offered. Chance of us returning to this resort ........ZERO! Would we risk another Breakfree experience.............we were just happy to Breakfree of Breakfree

Room Tip: To get the best room, choose a different hotel!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank traveller222Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2015

Thank you for your Feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

2nd time I have stayed so I gave it a chance. Old dated room/ bure with an old thumper cold only a/c in the wall. Found a heater in the cupboard - thought I was in a pub!
Old bathrooms and cold also. Just enought hot water to have a cool shower - never again until it is renovated and not cheap also. Breakfast was good and tv good but will definitely stay somewhere else - sorry! To get an invoice you have to call the central reservations after the stay - not very professional for a business traveller.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank busytraveller2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2015

Thank you for your Feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Have stayed at Aanuka a number of times since choosing it as our wedding location in 2009. It is the only hotel that we have ever stayed at that has consistent service, excellent food, drinks and beautiful views. The rooms are always clean and tidy and you are always welcomed with a smile from all staff.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrettnMelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2015

Thank you for your Feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We dropped in off the street and we were pleasantly surprised. We had thought about staying previously, but hadn't got around to doing so. Our impromptu decision on this occasion has convinced us that we should have stayed previously. We will certainly go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AanukaGeneralManager, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2011

Good Afternoon Tex3864,
I read your review with pleasure and thank you taking the time to share your positive experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort when you next travel to the Coffs Coast.
Regards
Lisa Knowlson, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.8 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#3 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#14 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
267 reviews
1.0 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#4 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
90 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort

Address: 11 Firman Drive | Diggers Beach, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#1 Spa Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coffs Harbour
Price Range: £77 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an absolute beachfront location BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort has magnificent ocean views from dining areas and is surrounded by acres of wide open parklands perfect for your next getaway. At the resort you can expect great accommodation, recreation and relaxation rolled into one and there are a range of facilities on offer ideal for couples and families. Choose from an outdoor rock pool with slide, children’s pool and play area, cave spas, tennis courts, mini putt putt golf, beach volleyball and Diggers Beach just a short stroll from your room. When it’s time to dine, choose from the award-winning Finz on the Beach or unwind at Casay on the Beach, both offering ocean views. Treat yourself to a Mi-Time Day Spa treatment for the ultimate in relaxation to help yourself unwind. At the resort you can choose from Studio Hotel Rooms, Paradise Spa Bures with spa baths and 2, 3 and 4 bedroom self-contained, air conditioned villas. Please Note**NO CANCELLATIONS OR AMENDMENTS** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Aanuka Beach Hotel Coffs Harbour
Hotel Breakfree Aanuka Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing