We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cavalier attitude due to poor management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Sydney Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cavalier attitude due to poor management”
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Stayed here for a weekend conference.
Four weeks prior to the conference made 4 unsuccessful attempts to book accommodation reserved for our group.
Booked direct online and paid in full
Upon arrival they took a credit card swipe of $100 for 'incidentals'. There was nothing to eat or drinl in the room fridge and the cappucino I ordered at breakfast was paid for in cash upon check-out so I am perplexed by what incidentals I may have used...
The corridor to my room at the very south end of the complex reminded me of the entrance to a public school toilet block. Dirty, dank, dark concrete. So dark I could barely see, in daylight, the keyhole in the door.
I've had a bigger room in a mid class Hong Kong hotel.
My room at this resort had a lovely view of the car park.
Long walk to the resort main complex which I really enjoyed. It meandered through a canopy of trees, past bbqs and pools and was very relaxing. No problem with it at all.
The portable room heater in my room was broken, which was reported to the main desk the following morning. The girls said she would report it to housekeeping and then started to walk away. I had to ask her if she wanted my room number...:(
Heater was not replaced during my 2 night stay and it was a very cold weekend. Room ws not made up either.
In short this property has potential because it has fabulous grounds, facilities and beach access, but I suspect the management is poor, cutting staff numbers, leaving them with a couldn't give a damn attitude.
A coat of paint inside and outside the rooms wouldn't go astray either.
Would not recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DinkyDi61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AanukaGeneralManager, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Dear DinkuDi61,
Thank you for your posting and whilst I am unable to address these outlined concerns with you directly, I apologize that we have not met your expectations on this occassion.
I am pleased that you found the grounds and stroll to the primary food and beverage complex pleasing. Indeed the low-density of the resort and it's beautiful gardens make for an relaxing escape.
The mentioned security bond is an Australian Wide industry practice which provides security in the case of in-room damage and also enables you to charge back to your room from our outlets. This is a bond only and used only in the instance when unfortunately a guest departs with liability on their account. Your comments in relation to the room maintenace issue is noted and I invite you to contact me on 02 66527 555 so that I may assertain your room number in order to personally inspection the room.
I look forward to your phone call and thank you again for your comments.
Regards
Lisa Knowlson, General Manager BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    948
    851
    406
    159
    119
See reviews for
1,049
879
61
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

My advice - do not park your car at this resort! My car was damaged by someone trying to break into it, and a few others in the same area were badly damaged and all belongings taken from what I was told. This all happened in their secure car park with gates and the rest of it. Staff said they would lodge an incident report... I have heard nothing.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Globalvoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AanukaGeneralManager, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Dear Globalvoice,
Firstly, I apologize for the very unfortunate incident that took place during your time with us. Indeed on the one night, it seems that the resort was a target to malicous behaviour and I can assure you that we have been working with the relevant authorities to ensure that this does not re-occur.
Your incident was reported to the NSW Event Line whom then as the professionals, move forward on any further matters pertaining to this.
In an effort to assist you, I would be happy to act as a liasion and contact authorties on your behalf asking them to make contact with yourself. Please email myself direct with your details so that I can assist you at lisa.knowlson@breakfree.com.au
Regards
Lisa Knowlson, General Manager BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level 6 Contributor
759 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights during a conference in Coffs. I had booked a 2 bedroom spa villa during an online sale so got a really good rate of $120 per night (normal rate is about $200); overall the villa was comfortable with a full kitchen with a dishwasher, separate laundry and 2 bedrroms upstairs, one with a spa. The lounge had a big TV with Austar and a DVD player.

The resort had lots of pools and was very close to Digger's Beach. Unfortunately during my stay the weather was terrible and it rained, so I didn't use the pools or swim (not the hotel's fault!).

Minor niggles were: all tiles downstairs even in the lounge so a bit "unhomely"; no proper heating downstairs. And the wireless internet rate was way too high - I made do without net access for the couple of days.

I was one person alone so it felt very large - this would be good for families and great value. Overall I would recommend.

Room Tip: Book a spa villa online
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wombatdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 December 2015
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Aanuka Beach resort ensured my family had a great holiday, through their excellent service and rooms. Loved the setting and services provided.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chookrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 December 2015
Thank you for your Feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

As per another review I read, "beware the bure"

The GOOD - Very nice new bathroom, spacious and modern with lots of light. Washing machine and dryer provided. Bed comfortable and clean. Spacious bure. Big TV.

The BAD - According to the numerous security signs there is a lot of crime in the resort. Everything needs to be locked at all times and they accept NO responsibility. There must have been a breakin or several when we stayed. A few police walking around questioning people. Small car parking spaces and not enough. Long walk to our bure and not enough luggage carts available. Staff have electric buggies but are not interested in assisting. Very dirty windows, Old teatowels with holes, Threadbare towels with frayed edges. Kitchenette has no stove top so it is very hard to cook anything.
Would be nice if the glass roof of the bathroom was cleaner.

The UGLY - Musty mouldy damp stench in bure which no amount of airing would remove. The bure's are in a thick rainforest garden, old huts which see minimal sun. A broken couch, very uncomfortable to sit on. So we had to sit on the dining setting the whole time. Big clumps (some tennis ball size) of hair on the couch and at the base of furniture mmmm. Old food stains growing mould on the curtains.

On politely mentioning good and bad issues that we encountered, the duty manager smiled nodded and made some notes in an effort to look engaged. However there was no followup action taken nor compensation offered. Chance of us returning to this resort ........ZERO! Would we risk another Breakfree experience.............we were just happy to Breakfree of Breakfree

Room Tip: To get the best room, choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank traveller222Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 December 2015
Thank you for your Feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

2nd time I have stayed so I gave it a chance. Old dated room/ bure with an old thumper cold only a/c in the wall. Found a heater in the cupboard - thought I was in a pub!
Old bathrooms and cold also. Just enought hot water to have a cool shower - never again until it is renovated and not cheap also. Breakfast was good and tv good but will definitely stay somewhere else - sorry! To get an invoice you have to call the central reservations after the stay - not very professional for a business traveller.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank busytraveller2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 December 2015
Thank you for your Feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Have stayed at Aanuka a number of times since choosing it as our wedding location in 2009. It is the only hotel that we have ever stayed at that has consistent service, excellent food, drinks and beautiful views. The rooms are always clean and tidy and you are always welcomed with a smile from all staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrettnMelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 December 2015
Thank you for your Feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.8 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#4 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#14 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
262 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel
1.0 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#3 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort

Property: BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
Address: 11 Firman Drive | Diggers Beach, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#1 Spa Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an absolute beachfront location BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort has magnificent ocean views from dining areas and is surrounded by acres of wide open parklands perfect for your next getaway. At the resort you can expect great accommodation, recreation and relaxation rolled into one and there are a range of facilities on offer ideal for couples and families. Choose from an outdoor rock pool with slide, children’s pool and play area, cave spas, tennis courts, mini putt putt golf, beach volleyball and Diggers Beach just a short stroll from your room. When it’s time to dine, choose from the award-winning Finz on the Beach or unwind at Casay on the Beach, both offering ocean views. Treat yourself to a Mi-Time Day Spa treatment for the ultimate in relaxation to help yourself unwind. At the resort you can choose from Studio Hotel Rooms, Paradise Spa Bures with spa baths and 2, 3 and 4 bedroom self-contained villas. To make your stay comfortable every room type includes air conditioning, Austar, DVD player, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities, microwave, toaster, iron and ironing board. Beach lovers can enjoy the seclusion of picturesque Diggers Beach which is literally at the resort's doorstep or sit back on the terrace with a long drink and admire postcard views of the sweeping lawns stretching down to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Aanuka Beach Hotel Coffs Harbour
Hotel Breakfree Aanuka Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing