We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like no other resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Like no other resort”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

I have been to this resort many times and been many different rooms and they are always good. The rooms are a little dated but its okay when you have such good facilities. The pools are wonderful and vary greatly. The only downsides to the pools are that we generally found the water in some of the pools cold and the spas never seemed to work. Many people are complaining that their room is to far away from reception. Don't you enjoy walking through the lush gardens? People are also complaining about the bush turkeys which I think is sorta stupid considering these are the things that make this place so unique and fun. From the beaches, to the pools, bars, gyms, golf, tennis, and you can't forget the bars. This place is great. It is a little over priced but its a must place to stay

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dak1060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thankyou so much for your lovely feedback you have left us with on Tripadvisor! I am delighted to hear that you have stayed with us many times and that you have always enjoyed your stay, we always have our pools heated in the school holidays, and if you find that you are having issues with the spas not working, please alert one of our staff and we will have our groundsmen have a look at it straight away.

As you know our resort is spread out on 15 acres and it is just like being in a little piece of paradise with the lush gardens and the famous Diggers Beach just metres away, and yes your right, our lovely little bush turkeys and water dragons make Aanuka that little extra special!
Once again, thankyou for your feedback, and we look forward to welcomming you back to Aanuka really soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    875
    800
    380
    153
    112
See reviews for
977
826
61
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This was the first time we'd stayed here and although the overall stay was very good - it's the little things that let it down. The villa we stayed in needs a bit of an update, the showers were a disappointment - extremely difficult to regulate the temp. Slightly annoying with the kids. Kids pool area was great - kids enjoyed it immensely even though the water was still quite cold. Not sure if we'd return or not - value for money not really there.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Jus T
Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback on Trip advisor we take all comments on board to ensure that we are always maximising our guest’s experiences whilst holidaying at our lovely Resort, our pools are heated throughout the school holidays and the spas in the pools are always heated for you to enjoy. We also have an indoor heated pool for you to enjoy if you find the outdoor pools a little chilly!
Our Resort is going through a massive refurb as we speak, so the next time you decide to stay with us I am sure you will see some really big changes in regards to owners regularly updating the rooms.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

On holiday from Ireland for one month, was told that Coffs Harbour was a lovely place so after staying in Sydney for two weeks we decided to head up the coast. After reading mixed reviews we took the chance and booked it. This place was far better than expected, we stayed in the spa bure and was so clean, had a wide screen TV with plenty channels and a very clean spa bath with a glass roof so you could see the stars at night. The baby pool was great for our two year old and the outdoor heated cave spa was so nice and warm. The beach was a little stroll from our doorstep and we took surfboards from reception which are free to hire along with other things! Unfortunately we only booked for fours nights, we did ask could we stay longer but it was fully booked probably due to school holidays. All in all very happy with out stay and will be recommending it to all our Irish friends!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiboyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Well thank you so much for the lovely feedback you have left us with on Tripadvisor! I am so happy that you and your family have left out little piece of paradise with such a memorable experience!
I am so happy that you got to experience our Resort first hand and made your own opinion as some mixed messages can get out there on social media
Its a shame you were not able to stay with us for longer, we do tend to get fully booked in the peak times during the year
At least you got a little taste of “paradise” all the way from Ireland and be sure to tell your friends abroad so as we can make their experience as memorable as yours!
Thankyou once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Great Location. The Spa Bures accomodation are fantastic . Very good meals breakfast is excellent as is the service. The beach is beautiful and clean. A nice retreat to recharge the batteries. We love the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time in leaving us with some lovely feedback... nothing pleases me more to read about my guests having a memorable time whilst recharging the batteries! I will be sure to pass your comments onto our staff regarding your stay and the great service you received whilst enjoying your lovely breakfast
We look forward to welcoming you back when you next decide to holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed here on a trip upto central Queensland to break up the drive from NSW. We arrived on a thursday into a Spa Bure and it was just gorgeous. Beautiful room, staff at front Desk were really nice and the gentlemen in the Casey's Bar on the Thursday evening was just lovely. We decided to break up the trip on the way home as well and come back the Sunday night. Did this but checked into a Studio room and it was on the other side of the resort and the room it was connected too you could hear all the piping from the showers etc. So for the extra bit of money we wish we got a Spa Bure again but we know now for next time. Location fantastic and buffet breakfast was also great. Can't wait to return :)

Room Tip: Definitely pick either a Villa or Spa Bure. Much nicer then studio rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Well thankyou for your glowing review!
I am so pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here at our lovely piece of paradise "Aanuka" I will be sure to pass your comments onto our staff!
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We were in need of a short, last minute holiday in the style of our trip earlier this year to Vanuatu. This place did it perfectly. Relaxing, friendly staff, great location on the beach and plenty of sun. The room was very clean, quiet and sunny. Yes it does need an update but if you don't need totally modern furniture and you really just want a clean place to stay and a comfortable bed ideal for families then this place is for you. We wanted a relaxing tropical style holiday and we got exactly that. We will most definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that gets some sun as most are in shade all day. Ask for one at the end of a path to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poboxbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Poboxbeth,
Thankyou so much for your lovely comments you have left with us! I am so happy that you had a relaxing “tropical style” getaway, as that is just exactly what it feels like here at “Aanuka” with our lush garden style setting spread out on 15 acres and set on the picturesque Diggers Beach... We are in the middle of a refurb in regards to our rooms so you will be sure to see some changes the next time you decide to take a break with us, we look forward to your feedback so we are able to pass your comments onto the owners of all of our apartments so they are constantly updating.
Once again, thank you for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to “Aanuka” when you next need a well deserved break!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

After staying here for my 4th time, I think I'll give it a miss next time. The Day Spa is the high light of the place the service from Linda is perfect & always has been. She is lovely & fantastic at what she does. The service from office staff while a duty manager is there is great but at night time is very poor. The 2 bedroom unit we were 1st given was cold, as covered in shade & very dirty. The spa was filthy & unable to be used & happy hour was a joke. After complaining we were told that we were unable to get our money back as we did not book through there office & left very unhappy. The following morning the duty manager Kim who was very nice called after I had sent 2 emails explaining my disappointment & changed our room as the hot water system had blown up & gave us 2 cocktail vouchers as we were unable to relax the night before after driving from Surfers & also gave us breakfast free for that day. During the next couple of days we were charged different prices 3 times for the same cocktails. Which was very confusing. All in all we were glad when our 3 nights were up & could leave. I'm very disappointed in the way this resort has gone down hill in the past 7 years & won't be staying here again as there is no value for the money.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizCrummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Liz

Thankyou for leaving your comments here with us on Trip advisor, We always appreciate receiving constructive comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.
I am sorry that the Housekeeping standards were not up to standard when you arrived at the resort, but I am very grateful that our lovely Manager Kim was able to room move you and rectify the situation as soon as she received the feedback, it was also lovely of her to throw in a breakfast for you and your family to enjoy the next morning aswell.
I will be sure to pass on your comments regarding the different prices you were charged for cocktails on 3 different occasions so as that all of our staff are relaying the correct information to our guests.
I am saddened that you did not enjoy your 4th stay with us and would definitely like to make it up to you!
When you next decided to holiday please contact our Front Office Manager, Kim and I will ensure that she personally looks after your booking and makes your 5th stay a memorable one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.8 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#2 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
373 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#13 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#4 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
78 reviews
1.4 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
256 reviews
1.3 mi away
Opal Cove Resort
Opal Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Korora
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort

Property: BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
Address: 11 Firman Drive | Diggers Beach, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an absolute beachfront location BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort has magnificent ocean views from dining areas and is surrounded by acres of wide open parklands perfect for your next getaway. At the resort you can expect great accommodation, recreation and relaxation rolled into one and there are a range of facilities on offer ideal for couples and families. Choose from an outdoor rock pool with slide, children’s pool and play area, cave spas, tennis courts, mini putt putt golf, beach volleyball and Diggers Beach just a short stroll from your room. When it’s time to dine, choose from the award-winning Finz on the Beach or unwind at Casay on the Beach, both offering ocean views. Treat yourself to a Mi-Time Day Spa treatment for the ultimate in relaxation to help yourself unwind. At the resort you can choose from Studio Hotel Rooms, Paradise Spa Bures with spa baths and 2, 3 and 4 bedroom self-contained villas. To make your stay comfortable every room type includes air conditioning, Austar, DVD player, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities, microwave, toaster, iron and ironing board. Beach lovers can enjoy the seclusion of picturesque Diggers Beach which is literally at the resort's doorstep or sit back on the terrace with a long drink and admire postcard views of the sweeping lawns stretching down to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Aanuka Beach Hotel Coffs Harbour
Hotel Breakfree Aanuka Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing