We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I was very unhappy with my stay at Aanuka. To start we were there as a group for a hens weekend and required three rooms. Two out of the three were next to each other, the third however was on the other side of the resort. The room on the other side of the resort was terrible, there was no cooling in the living room, not even a ceiling fan, only a glass sliding door with a broken lock. Both of the bathrooms had minor issues but for the amount we paid they should not have, one had a broken light that needed to "warm up" by flicking for a good 20 minutes and the other had a tap that converts from tap to shower, this would only work when the tap was running full ball so the pressure of the water would hold it in place. There were also ants in the bathroom. I also later discovered that if we did not leave the room the way we found it we would be charged a house keeping fee, what was the $400 a night for? to pay for the unfriendly staff? The only half decent thing about Aanuka was the pool and breakfast, however breakfast could have been improved if they kept up with demand of food such a hash browns and pancakes and the coffee was awful, and if your not a morning person coffee is essential so again I ask what my money pay for? Very dissatisfied, would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Jess H
We are sorry to hear of your issues during your stay unfortunately being that our resort is situated on 15 acres our rooms are spread apart booking as a group however we do our best to keep you as close as we can although we cannot guarantee this request which would have been explained upon booking, All maintenance issues could have been quickly rectified with a quick call to reception.
Being that out apartments’ are self-serviced a service is only included on your fourth night of your stay when seven or more nights are booked consecutively, this is clearly stated in our terms and conditions and also in your room.
We take all your feedback on board and I will be sure to pass it on to appropriate department heads
We hope to see you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,586)
There are newer reviews for BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,110 - 2,116 of 2,586 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

Rooms were spacious and clean. Grounds were well maintained. The pool area was clean and the spa was warm. There was a group of 11 of us and we were in 3 different rooms. There were two rooms straight across the path from each other however the other room was over the other side of the resort which was inconvenient. When you book somewhere to stay as a group you like to think that all the rooms will be close to each other not a nearly 5 minute walk away. The rooms were booked 5 months before we stayed so it could of been arranged for us to be together.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Kimberley M
We are so happy that you loved your stay with us! A weekend away with the girls is always a good excuse for a Break
We apologise that you were so far away however being on a 15 acre property it’s sometimes hard to keep people together especially if they are booking different room types
We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed in basic room, which was thankfully quiet and air conditioned. Very small but adequate and everything worked. Great wedding venue, good food. Some areas of our considerable walk were poorly lit and there weren't umbrellas in the rooms and it did rain! Good breakfast, helpful staff, fabulous location, the nearby beaches are excellent and safe. Probably needs a bit of TLC, but we thought they considered events going on when they placed us away from the noise.

Room Tip: It's a bit like a rabbit warren, I would ask for something quiet. With kids you could request a...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Carrfam
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your lovely feedback
A quick call to reception and we would have supplied you with an
We hope to see you and your family again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This hotel has alot of maintenance issues. There was a group of us staying for a wedding here and we all had at least 2 things wrong with our rooms. Our dryer didn't work at all, the spa bath trickled out cold water, the shower was a joke, took four turns to even get water and then it was dribbling out, the oven didn't work (couldn't even cook garlic bread after half an hour). The room itself was fine, large, but too many issues going on. THe mini golf course is great but overgrown sharp plants all around it make it tricky for little ones. We also felt the pool temps were very very cold and the spa's were lukewarm. The menu at the pool restaurant is very basic, pizzas, salads and chips roughly. The wedding here was great though and so was the service throughout the night.
Be aware there is security patrolling the grounds at night if you decide to sneak into pool area as we did!
Good location, right near Big Banana and few mins from town.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamsav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Kamsav
Thank you for your feedback
We are glad the wedding ran so smoothly
In regards to any maintenance issues a quick call to reception and these issues would be quickly rectified
We have five different pools on the property our indoor pool sits at 32 degrees as per health and safety requirements
I will be sure to pass your feedback on to appropriate department heads

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

The Resort was probably built in the 1970s and looks as though it has not been touched since the day it was opened. The surrounding beaches are fabulous but the Resort's rooms and facilities are in serious need of renovation. The redeeming factor would be the breakfast, which is very acceptable and fairly priced.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank GallopingGourmet51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear GallopingGourmet51

You would be happy to hear that our resort is undergoing refurbishment so when you return you should see some great changes

We hope to see you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Not a welcoming arrival, down market accommodation, no air conditioning down stairs - too hot to stay there. Minimal info provided on the resort. Phoned reception to request info, not very courteous reply. Could be so much better!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Aussie-Marg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear ussie-Marg
Thank you for your feedback
I will be sure to pass this onto appropriate department heads

We hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay at Aanuka in one of the bures and would highly recommend to anyone looking for a resort getaway.

Great amenities. Awesome pool and tropical garden areas. Could spend days just at the pool. Rooms well equipped, clean with nice touches of luxury like glass ceiling over the bathroom spa, some Bali style decor and austar tv.

I could imagine this place as a hugely popular wedding destination as it looks beautiful and appears to offer the complete package onsite.

Beautiful setting and great getaway. Only regret is we didn't book extra nights and everything was booked out when we went to enquire.

Would highly recommend.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MitchEmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear MitchEmck

Thank you for your lovely feedback you have left us on TripAdvisor
We are so happy you enjoyed your getaway

Look forward to seeing you again and invite you to take advantage of our 10% return guest discount

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.8 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#3 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#14 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
267 reviews
1.0 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#4 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
90 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort

Address: 11 Firman Drive | Diggers Beach, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#1 Spa Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Coffs Harbour
Price Range: £77 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an absolute beachfront location BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort has magnificent ocean views from dining areas and is surrounded by acres of wide open parklands perfect for your next getaway. At the resort you can expect great accommodation, recreation and relaxation rolled into one and there are a range of facilities on offer ideal for couples and families. Choose from an outdoor rock pool with slide, children’s pool and play area, cave spas, tennis courts, mini putt putt golf, beach volleyball and Diggers Beach just a short stroll from your room. When it’s time to dine, choose from the award-winning Finz on the Beach or unwind at Casay on the Beach, both offering ocean views. Treat yourself to a Mi-Time Day Spa treatment for the ultimate in relaxation to help yourself unwind. At the resort you can choose from Studio Hotel Rooms, Paradise Spa Bures with spa baths and 2, 3 and 4 bedroom self-contained, air conditioned villas. Please Note**NO CANCELLATIONS OR AMENDMENTS** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Aanuka Beach Hotel Coffs Harbour
Hotel Breakfree Aanuka Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing