We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn City Centre(Coffs Harbour)(Great Value!)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Beachpark Apartments Coffs Harbour(Coffs Harbour)(Great Value!)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Parkside Motor Inn(Coffs Harbour)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel(Coffs Harbour)(Great Value!)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surf Beach Motel(Coffs Harbour)(Great Value!)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Matador Motor Inn(Coffs Harbour)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Toreador Motel(Coffs Harbour)
US$84
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Zebra Motel(Coffs Harbour)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tahitian(Coffs Harbour)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chelsea Motor Inn(Coffs Harbour)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,030)
Filter reviews
3,030 results
Traveller rating
1,175
1,025
500
196
134
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,175
1,025
500
196
134
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa burediggers beachglass roofbush turkeystennis courtsbeautiful locationindoor poolwater dragonsputt puttfamily holidaybedroom villarelaxing staybuffet breakfastgreat for familiesbig bananagreat facilitiesmini golf
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,553 - 2,558 of 3,030 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I was very unhappy with my stay at Aanuka. To start we were there as a group for a hens weekend and required three rooms. Two out of the three were next to each other, the third however was on the other side of the resort. The room on the other side of the resort was terrible, there was no cooling in the living room, not even a ceiling fan, only a glass sliding door with a broken lock. Both of the bathrooms had minor issues but for the amount we paid they should not have, one had a broken light that needed to "warm up" by flicking for a good 20 minutes and the other had a tap that converts from tap to shower, this would only work when the tap was running full ball so the pressure of the water would hold it in place. There were also ants in the bathroom. I also later discovered that if we did not leave the room the way we found it we would be charged a house keeping fee, what was the $400 a night for? to pay for the unfriendly staff? The only half decent thing about Aanuka was the pool and breakfast, however breakfast could have been improved if they kept up with demand of food such a hash browns and pancakes and the coffee was awful, and if your not a morning person coffee is essential so again I ask what my money pay for? Very dissatisfied, would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Jess H
We are sorry to hear of your issues during your stay unfortunately being that our resort is situated on 15 acres our rooms are spread apart booking as a group however we do our best to keep you as close as we can although we cannot guarantee this request which would have been explained upon booking, All maintenance issues could have been quickly rectified with a quick call to reception.
Being that out apartments’ are self-serviced a service is only included on your fourth night of your stay when seven or more nights are booked consecutively, this is clearly stated in our terms and conditions and also in your room.
We take all your feedback on board and I will be sure to pass it on to appropriate department heads
We hope to see you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Rooms were spacious and clean. Grounds were well maintained. The pool area was clean and the spa was warm. There was a group of 11 of us and we were in 3 different rooms. There were two rooms straight across the path from each other however the other room was over the other side of the resort which was inconvenient. When you book somewhere to stay as a group you like to think that all the rooms will be close to each other not a nearly 5 minute walk away. The rooms were booked 5 months before we stayed so it could of been arranged for us to be together.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Kimberley M
We are so happy that you loved your stay with us! A weekend away with the girls is always a good excuse for a Break
We apologise that you were so far away however being on a 15 acre property it’s sometimes hard to keep people together especially if they are booking different room types
We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed in basic room, which was thankfully quiet and air conditioned. Very small but adequate and everything worked. Great wedding venue, good food. Some areas of our considerable walk were poorly lit and there weren't umbrellas in the rooms and it did rain! Good breakfast, helpful staff, fabulous location, the nearby beaches are excellent and safe. Probably needs a bit of TLC, but we thought they considered events going on when they placed us away from the noise.

Room Tip: It's a bit like a rabbit warren, I would ask for something quiet. With kids you could request a room near the kids' pool area.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Carrfam
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your lovely feedback
A quick call to reception and we would have supplied you with an
We hope to see you and your family again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This hotel has alot of maintenance issues. There was a group of us staying for a wedding here and we all had at least 2 things wrong with our rooms. Our dryer didn't work at all, the spa bath trickled out cold water, the shower was a joke, took four turns to even get water and then it was dribbling out, the oven didn't work (couldn't even cook garlic bread after half an hour). The room itself was fine, large, but too many issues going on. THe mini golf course is great but overgrown sharp plants all around it make it tricky for little ones. We also felt the pool temps were very very cold and the spa's were lukewarm. The menu at the pool restaurant is very basic, pizzas, salads and chips roughly. The wedding here was great though and so was the service throughout the night.
Be aware there is security patrolling the grounds at night if you decide to sneak into pool area as we did!
Good location, right near Big Banana and few mins from town.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamsav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Kamsav
Thank you for your feedback
We are glad the wedding ran so smoothly
In regards to any maintenance issues a quick call to reception and these issues would be quickly rectified
We have five different pools on the property our indoor pool sits at 32 degrees as per health and safety requirements
I will be sure to pass your feedback on to appropriate department heads

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

The Resort was probably built in the 1970s and looks as though it has not been touched since the day it was opened. The surrounding beaches are fabulous but the Resort's rooms and facilities are in serious need of renovation. The redeeming factor would be the breakfast, which is very acceptable and fairly priced.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank GallopingGourmet51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear GallopingGourmet51

You would be happy to hear that our resort is undergoing refurbishment so when you return you should see some great changes

We hope to see you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews