We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing stay for whole family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay for whole family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Four of our families stayed at Aanuka Resort. The three families with kids had the 2 or 3 bedroom townhouses. My folks stayed in a single level villa. The resort is excellent. Lots of facilities all included in the price - tennis courts (including lights for free is required), fun putt putt golf course (again free under lights), 2 outdoor pools and a heated indoor one. It's also right behind Diggers Beach. The beach is patrolled which is a great comfort. The water was nice and warm (23C) and the conditions were awesome for boogie boarding. There are lovely headland walks starting at the resort. We shopped the first day at the nearby shopping centre and were set for the rest of our 8 day stay. Our townhouse was well equipped with plenty of space inside and a nice private courtyard at the back. Our only issue was the uncomfortable king bed. The mattress had seen better days. Our microwave broke down on our second day. The staff were terrific - got an instant replacement unit and a new one a couple of days later. Highly recommended for a relaxing all inclusive family stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Geoff K

Thank you for your lovely feedback you have left us on TripAdvisor

We are so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us

We hope to see you and your family again in the near future. As a gesture of goodwill, we would like to take the opportunity to invite you to return to Breakfree Aanuka Beach Resort and offer you a 10% discount off your next holiday when booking resort direct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    800
    745
    352
    146
    107
See reviews for
920
752
55
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

It is not my chosen activity to drive 7 hours on my birthday but as we were heading to Fraser Island from Sydney my wife found this "a relaxed, tropical style beachfront resort" to spend my birthday evening. We arrived at 7PM and found or small room to be adequate but rather dingy for a 4 star resort. All I wanted was to sit in a hot spa and relax after driving the entire 7 hours on my own. One of the reasons we choose this place was the fact that there were multiple spas. Well the first spa I located was tepid at best, had no jets and was obviously there for children. The second spa I located when disappointed with the first one was the indoor spa and this one was completely and utterly cold. The third spa was out of order and empty. Needless to say I returned to the room for a hot shower as the hot relaxing spa experience was not happening. After taking a shower I flushed the toilet and found out that the plumbing was so bad that it sounded like it was about to explode. This was the case not only if we flushed the toilet but if anyone else in the block flushed their toilet. Again not what I expected for a a "relaxed, tropical style beachfront resort" that the website touts. Finally I find it absurd that McDonald can offer free wifi for the price of a milkshake but this resort could not do the same for many many times the price. We paid $230 for the smallest hotel room and I felt completed ripped off. I alerted the staff to my issues in the morning and they said so sorry but of course there was nothing they could do since we were only staying one night. Yes the location was lovely but if the facilities are broken why bother with this resort. For one night stay in a motel for half the price.

Room Tip: flush your toilet before you settle into your room as otherwise you get to hear demolition noises ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dovman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Dovman

Thank you for your feedback you have left us on TripAdvisor
I will be sure to pass your feedback onto appropriate department heads.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed in early April, in a 2 bedroom apartment. Apartment was spacious and clean enough, but in need of some TLC. Just in terms of things like a very noisy fridge, dirty dishwasher and very unequipped kitchen. We didn't need to cook during our 4 night stay, but had we needed too, would have been difficult, utensils were lacking and not very clean.

Resort is in beautiful location and surrounds and has the potential to be something spectacular! Driving into it, you feel you are going into a Bali type Resort, lush, green and tropical setting right on the beautiful Dicky Beach. But I believe as long as the staff and management run it the way they do, it'll never reach it's full potential. My feedback to this resort is for Management to have a good sit down with their staff and discuss ways in which customer facing staff can be 'nicer, more genuine and more helpful' to their customers. We had a terrible experience with 2 reception staff about our 'pre-paid' breakfast situation. It was an utter embarrassment to your establishment that we were treated the way we were and given absolutely 'nothing or no alternative' to try resolve the problem. In short (we had pre-paid for breakfast for all mornings) $200, back when I booked our stay, in Jan. It was somewhat my own fault that I forgot we had included breakky, i didnt check before we arrived. But upon check in I asked for breakfast, and was told we could purchase it, so that's what I did, purchased 1 breakfast. At the time, the staff didn't care to look at our booking hard enough to let me know we have breakky included already. Several days into our stay, we realised the cost of our stay was $200 more than we thought it should be and it was then that we reaslised we had pre-paid breakfast. So naturally we questioned this with reception staff, and made them aware that we weren't told and had missed 2 breakfasts already by this time. Their response was very defensive and only made us feel worse! No refund was suggested and when I suggested it, I was immediately 'shut down' "Oh no, we cant do that!" The lady who checked us in was there at the time, in and out of the back room, closing and opening the doors whilst throwing offensive comments our way, how disgusting of her the way she behaved, she couldn't/should have come out to face us properly, she just threw negative and mindless comments our way, that were not helpful at all. It was disappointing that had we had not realised the mistake, you would have charged us for 1 more breakfast on top of the 4 we had already paid for! Now that's poor service or what one can easily call a 'rip off'.

We were on holiday and it had been spoilt at this point. We were not yelling at reception staff, we simply went in calmly and nicely to give you feedback about needing to check your bookings a little better and let people know if they have extras included upon check in, and all we got was retaliation and unhappy faces. I'm sorry but Aanuka should be ashamed! The lady who checked us in, needs to get more customer service training or perhaps she's not happy in her job and should not be client facing! Just one more thing, I thought of an easy solution to our problem, we could have easily been offered a voucher for a nights dinner at your restaurnt that would have covered it and kept us happy enough, but no... "staff not able to think on their feet" Just very quick to say "No, cant do anything for you,sorry too bad".

I would have happily recommended Aanuka to people, but this simple bad experience quickly changed my mind about this resort.

Anyone wanting to stay here, don't book breakfast before you arrive, do it once you get there (but breakfast not tasty anyway, just make your own or go into town).

Pools were very cold, couldn't use them. Kids used small indoor pool, found it to be dirty. I reported some mud on floor in there, to reception, but no ground staff came in for the several hours we were there and by that time the mud had washed into the pool - not good at all! Kids got sick a couple of nights later, I think it was the pool water.

Anyway, I wouldn't stay here until management improve first on their customer service and helpfulness and then on updating their rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kalaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Kalaj

Thank you for your feedback you have left us on TripAdvisor
I will be sure to pass your feedback onto appropriate department heads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

My family and I drove down from brisbane to spend five nights in a 2 bedroom spa villa, we found the accomodation to be better than expected, a two story town house with en-suite and bathroom upstairs and a toilet downstairs, spacious, clean and private.
The whole resort is beautifully landscaped with covered walkways throughout, various different pools including one with a water slide for the kids and an indoor heated pool, playground, tennis courts and restaurant.
The resort runs along the beach and although you can't see the beach for the trees its easily accessible, if you use the restaurant/cafe/breakfast room you do have views of the sea though.
Watch out for the bush turkeys, they can be a bit agressive as my husbands now dead smartphone can testify to!!
Overall a very enjoyable family holiday of relaxing peace and quiet :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5gettingaway5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear 5gettingaway5

Thank you for your lovely feedback you have left us on TripAdvisor
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

My Wife & I enjoyed the relaxing feel of the resort. Surrounding gardens were great & made the ambiance of the area quite tranquil. Location is perfect to get away from highway traffic noise with just the sounds of the Ocean waves. Our room was very clean including the bathroom & Kitchen which offered plenty of options if staying longer. The Spa bath was especially enjoyable with glass ceiling to the stars, made for a perfect romantic eveing for my wife & I. The staff were very friendly & helpful & the food serves were ample. Bar staff were great & very professional. Thank you to all involved in the set-up we commend you.

Room Tip: Our Spa Bure room was fantastic for two people. Roomy & comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigGav69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear BigGav69

Thank you for your lovely feedback you have left us on TripAdvisor

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your little piece of paradise as much as we do & hope to see you and your wife again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed one night travelling north. The staff were not particularly helpful or efficient ,the guy at breakfast treated us like criminals trying to dodge paying.the room was crammed into the far corner of the resort , the window was so close to the fence that little natural light got in. On entering it smelt musty and unused. WiFi! We paid for access but the service was unusable,spent 2 hours trying to resolve with hotel who said it was the providers fault and the provider who said it was the hotels fault. We resorted to the phone to make essential contacts and we're asked to pay $57 for the privilege. Overall nobody seems to be making much effort just taking the money.did I mention the bed was easily the worst we had in all the hotels we used in Australia

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Graham R

Thank you for the feedback, I have spoken to the duty manager that was on the morning of your departure and she explained to me that the rate of $57 was discounted, even though costing is explained to all guests in the compendium located on the table of every room.
She has also explained that azure was contacted to reset the internet server for you so as you could access the internet and that no further issues were reported after doing so.
I will be sure to pass your feedback onto department heads so as we can get these issues rectified.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

My family, including lots of relatives stayed at Aanuka for two nights recently. It was a sad, although most memorable time celebrating the life of my mum, which included a luncheon at Finns... Thankyou, thankyou to all staff. Your consideration, empathy with the utmost professionalism was exemplary. Many of our friends and family commented on the resort, such a relaxed , clean and comfortable units with great facilities. Everyone gave us feedback with such commendable positivity, I am sure there will be many of our group, particularly those who came from afar that will return.
Once again, our sincere thanks to the management and staff.

Room Tip: I love the bures closest to the beach....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear JAussies

Thank you for your lovely feedback you have left us on TripAdvisor

I will be sure to pass your positive comments onto our staff
We hope to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.8 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#2 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#13 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#4 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.4 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#9 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.3 mi away
Opal Cove Resort
Opal Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Korora
3.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort

Property: BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
Address: 11 Firman Drive | Diggers Beach, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an absolute beachfront location BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort has magnificent ocean views from dining areas and is surrounded by acres of wide open parklands perfect for your next getaway. At the resort you can expect great accommodation, recreation and relaxation rolled into one and there are a range of facilities on offer ideal for couples and families. Choose from an outdoor rock pool with slide, children’s pool and play area, cave spas, tennis courts, mini putt putt golf, beach volleyball and Diggers Beach just a short stroll from your room. When it’s time to dine, choose from the award-winning Finz on the Beach or unwind at Casay on the Beach, both offering ocean views. Treat yourself to a Mi-Time Day Spa treatment for the ultimate in relaxation to help yourself unwind. At the resort you can choose from Studio Hotel Rooms, Paradise Spa Bures with spa baths and 2, 3 and 4 bedroom self-contained villas. To make your stay comfortable every room type includes air conditioning, Austar, DVD player, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities, microwave, toaster, iron and ironing board. Beach lovers can enjoy the seclusion of picturesque Diggers Beach which is literally at the resort's doorstep or sit back on the terrace with a long drink and admire postcard views of the sweeping lawns stretching down to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Aanuka Beach Hotel Coffs Harbour
Hotel Breakfree Aanuka Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing