We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Multi Generation Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Coffs coast is spectacular in Winter and the Aanuka is the perfect place to stay. I had to cater for my elderly father and the lovely desk staff booked us into a bure closest to the car park. My young son and I enjoyed all the facilities whenever my dad needed quiet time. The mini golf is only small but we played it three or four different times. The heated indoor pool was a daily must as was a visit to the gym. We got up early to watch the sun rise on Diggers Beach, and it was spectacular at this time of year (and at a reasonable time 6:44 am). We used our kitchenette for all meals but I would definitely plan to do a BBQ next time. The only negative for us (due to my dad's age and health) was the shower is in the very deep spa bath:- this would not be a problem for anyone with normal mobility! I can't wait to stay again next year.

Room Tip: The family bure was perfect for a family of four with the single beds located in a separate room but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Keely S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for the review, really glad the 3 of you enjoyed your stay with us at Aanuka.
Can only agree with your review.
As you rightly pointed out the spa baths are very deep in the Paradise Spa units and we always ensure guests at the time of booking are made aware of this. I would like to advise you we do have units that cater for elderly or disabled guests. If in the future you return with your father and he is not keen on get in and out of the spa we will be able to still cater for your needs.
Look forward to welcoming you back next year!! Please call direct for a return guest discount

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,880)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,358 - 2,364 of 2,880 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

From the road Aanuka Beach Resort certainly does not look anything special however once you settle into the excellent accommodation (two bedroom spa apartment in this case) and take in the surroundings there is absolutely no doubt that this is quite a place. Location... location... location. It has numerous pools, tennis courts, a mini golf course and volley ball although if you did none of these activities and simply took in the surroundings and wonderful beach you could not ask for much more in the one location. We found the restaurant to be awesome with excellent food and a lovely waitress. The buffet breakfast is also very good and the setting is spot on especially when endless sunshine is thrown in. I would highly recommend this place to anybody looking for a weekend escape (or longer) as it is a slice of paradise on the north coast. Keep up the good work BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluemountainkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review BlueMountainKiwi

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Aanuka Beach. We often speak to guests during their stay and find there is so much to do at the property. So instead of seeing the local area they relax around the pool and make use of all the free activities on offer. That said Coffs is a great place to visit year round.

I will pass your feedback on to all the staff and will look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stopped off at the Aanuka Beach Resort on our way through to the Gold Coast for a family Weekend. We have stayed here before but it was many years ago. The resort is very large and a great place for families in the summer. Being a winter stay it was not as appealing, but still good. Unfortunately it was wet, and to get around the resort, because of its size you need to do a lot of walking. We needed to get from our room, which was very nice, and in a tropical rain forest setting, to the dining room for dinner and also for breakfast. Not easy when it is raining although part of the way there are covered walkways . (Taking your car is also an option..) We had a lovely room and the staff were very helpful both on reception and in the dining room. We would certainly call again, regardless of the weather.

Room Tip: Maybe somewhere close to the reception/dining areas if it is wet. We had a good spot away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chez2516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for your review Chez2516,

Glad that you enjoyed your trip to Aanuka Beach Resort and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future, I will have a word with the weather man next time for you and get some clear sunny Skys!

If you decide to return please call the resort direct and we would be able to offer you a discount as a return guest.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

There are different types of holiday rentals here and we picked a 'special 'deal' with a smaller
one bedroom villa connected to a very much larger one.

The joined buildings seemed to be mainly stand alone units with winding paths everywhere to connect them. There is much flora everywhere including a lot of small palm plants and trees.

It was about a five to ten minute walk along a mainly covered walkway to get to the main building for 'reception' and restaurants etc.

Beach access is not direct and includes about a 10 to 15 minute walk using some common public road/paths.

It seems that this place is famous for it's weddings and has it's own chapel.

We enjoyed our three night stay here and might return on day.

The room was excellent, clean and tidy and the bed was comfortable.
Our deal did not include full service but extra towels are alway available for a small charge.
If you stay longer you get full service.

The resort is about a 10 to 15 minute drive to Coffs Harbour CBD
and parking is no problem at all at the resort.

Room Tip: Be specific about the type of room you want and ask how far it is to reception. Not every part of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geordie031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Hi Geordie031,

Thank you for your fantastic feedback, always great to hear that the resort was everything you could of hoped for.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

If you are going to stay in coffs harbour; this is the best place to stay. It has the right amount of everything. I would say that this place is PERFECT for families, but still diverse enough to capture couples looking for a getaway.

The views are amazing. And the bathroom was amazing. We stayed in a spa room. It is def a bit too small for a small family and would suggest opting for a bigger room.

I would def come back here again. It was perfect.

The only thing I would ask is for the heating in the indoor pool to be more hot. It was a tad bit cold.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smasudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Hello!

Thankyou for taking your time to leave us with your lovely feedback on Tripadvisor! I am so pleased that you got to enkoy one of our Paradise Spa Bures with the Glass atrium roof how amazing s it relaxing and overlooking the stars!

I will be sure to pass your feedback on to our lovely staff

We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The location is great and most of the time, it will be a very quiet site, but some highway noise can be an issue with W or SW winds, but it didn't compromise sleep. Even at its worst, the highway noise is minor compared to many motels. The beachside location was impressive. Food was great. Tropical style landscaping looks nice and gives a Balinese feel. Only major downer is that you have to trolley your baggage to your unit, and this can be quite a process, and can include some steep paths that are slippery when wet. Would be much better if the staff-operated golf carts were used to move your baggage. But this largely fades away once you take in the view from the restaurant, which included being able to watch whales! Others reported significant variation in the standard of rooms, and we found ours wasn't clean or at least not to a $250/night standard.

Room Tip: If opting for a 'Paradise Spa Bure', ensure you get one of the renovated ones. The older one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aditya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Hi Aditya G,

Thank you for your feedback back on the resort. Glad you were able to escape here at Aanuka Beach Resort. It really can feel like you’re in Bali on a warm sunny day, just with the added advantage of the odd whale or two sun bathing away in the distance!!

As for distance from the car parks to your unit I should never be more than a couple of minutes’ walk and the front office staff are always willing to assist guest that need a little extra help getting around the resort. I will ensure your feedback is passed on to the correct department heads. Thank you again for your visit to Aanuka.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed at this dump. When I checked in they would not give me the corporate rate. The Pool is horrible. Then they took a deposit for the room even though I paid for it in full and they have still not returned the deposit after 10 days. The fellow Grant at the front desk is possibly the worst person I have had any dealings with after years of travel. Don't stay here!!!!!!! No free wiif anywhere either.

Room Tip: All rooms that I have seen are bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Welltravelled417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Hi welltravelled417,

Firstly I would like to apologies that your stay was not up to the standard that you were expecting. I can see from your booking that you arrived late to the resort without a booking (around 2300) and Grant the member of staff was able to assist you in a room for the evening, booking at the resort we do offer corporate rates and return guest rates, However these rates are normally sorted at the time of booking. As you arrived without a booking Grant correctly gave you a walk up rate which is set daily due to demand and availability of rooms here at the resort.
As for the other issues at the resort we do unfortunately not offer free wifi this is purely due to the internet being managed by a separate company, Our resort being across such a large area requires the internet to be constantly up kept and Our provider ensures that the whole resort is covered and the internet runs at a high speed for all users. As for the pre-authorisation being held, every guest that checks into the resort is made aware that we do require a card as a guarantee and sometimes the release can take up to 14 days to release (10 working days).

Once again I apologise for any inconveniences caused during your stay I hope that one day in the future you will give us the opportunity to accommodate you again and show you the true spirit of Breakfree Aanuka Beach Resort

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.8 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#3 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
396 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#14 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#6 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
102 reviews
1.3 mi away
Opal Cove Resort
Opal Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Korora
909 reviews
1.8 mi away
Nautilus Beachfront Villas & Spa
Nautilus Beachfront Villas & Spa
#22 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort

Address: 11 Firman Drive | Diggers Beach, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#1 Spa Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coffs Harbour
Price Range: £74 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casay Decks will be closed 1-4 November, & 28-30 November 2017 for a private function, the Finz venue will be available for in house resort guests for food & beverage needs. Offering an absolute beachfront location BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort has magnificent ocean views from dining areas and is surrounded by acres of wide open parklands perfect for your next getaway. Choose from an outdoor rock pool with slide, children’s pool and play area, cave spas, tennis courts, mini putt putt golf, beach volleyball and Diggers Beach just a short stroll from your room. When it’s time to dine, choose from the award-winning Finz on the Beach or unwind at Casay on the Beach, both offering ocean views. Treat yourself to a Mi-Time Day Spa treatment for the ultimate in relaxation to help yourself unwind. At the resort you can choose from Studio Hotel Rooms, Paradise Spa Bures with spa baths and 2, 3 and 4 bedroom self-contained, air conditioned villas. Please Note**NO CANCELLATIONS OR AMENDMENTS** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Aanuka Beach Hotel Coffs Harbour
Hotel Breakfree Aanuka Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing