We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Beautiful grassy area leading on to the beach. Wonderful facilities for the kids - pools, water slide, play area etc. Food was great - the kids loved the breakfast pancakes. You just need to be quick on the buffet so you don't miss out. The one thing I would need to mention after perusing other reviews and actually being at the resort, the rooms are not the cleanest I have come across. I understand the frustration if the weather is not great and you are stuck indoors because the rooms are musty and dusty. But if the weather is good, you have no need to be indoors! A wonderful family break!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLR888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your review on the resort, Glad that the whole family had a great stay and made the most of all the activities on offer here at the resort.
A little disappointing that you found the units to be a little ‘musty and dusty’. Although you stated not a problem for yourselves, we do always prefer our guest to let us know if something is not up to standard so we are able to get the problem sorted straight away, the staff are here to ensure your stay is to the highest standard.

Look forward to welcoming the Family back To Aanuka in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,586)
There are newer reviews for BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,056 - 2,062 of 2,586 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

Despite being quite expensive this hotel was a severe disappointment. This is a huge complex that has spent money on the bits that will look nice in website photos and zilch on the hotel rooms themselves. The indoor pool had a ring of grime round it where the water met the tiles. The floor round the pool was dirty with small pieces of litter on the floor. Yuk. The room itself was dark because it was in the tropical grounds. This meant no patio and no view. The room was dingy and the cold tap was temperamental in the shower. There was no water at all in the hot tap to the sink! Reception staff on check in accused me of trying to check in early even though my paperwork said 1 pm. We have stayed in much nicer places for a lot less. Give this one a miss. It is by the beach but you have to exit the hotel via a locked gate and walk across a car park to get to the beach.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Bryony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Good afternoon Byrony A
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our property. We always appreciate receiving constructive comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations
Firstly I would like to apologise that you found your stay not up to standard and can ensure we have taken all your comments on board to better our property
You are correct in saying we are a very big resort spread out on 15 Acres amongst the sub-tropical gardens about 50 Metres back from the Beach. We do have full ocean views from both our restaurants and open access from this side although the village side is limited due to the beach road and built up dunes.
We appreciate your comments about your Hotel room and are saddened that you did not bring this to our attention during your stay we do have a full maintenance team that are ready to assist all our guest with any problem that arises. You will find our standard studio rooms are the only rooms that do not have balconies all other types of accommodation on offer such as a Paradise Spa Bure boast nice little have balconies.
I have also passed on your feedback to our groundsman to ensure that our pool cleaning standards are maintained to the high standard that BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort stands for.
Byronyy we do thank you for taking the time to write to us and advise us of your concerns. We do take all of your comments on board and value your feedback as an integral part of our continuing aim to maximise service to our guests.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This resort is more like a poorly run caravan park.

So disappointed, by many things. I could sit here and write a novel, but unfortunately I do not have time for that.

On arrival, we were given a map with our 'paradise spa bure' directions. If you are into Mazes, you will love this 'resort'

**Beware of the stalking 'Bush Turkey' and crazy buggy drivers who you have to dodge in order to avoid being run over!'

Room smelt terrible! outdated - needed to throw a blanket over their disgustingly dirty lounge.

Dinner was dreadful - after waiting over an hour and a half for our meal to arrive, we expected a great meal - NO! fiancés meal was not made to order, and mine was partially raw.

Air-con didn't work - we live in minus 12 conditions! Whilst it wasn't as cold as where we live, it was COLD for Coffs Harbour. We had our air-con set to 30! on Powerful!! went out for 5 hours and came back to a freezer box! Not impressed!

Departure could not have come soon enough!

Some staff were wonderful. Management lacked - a lot.

As a result of our stay, my fiancé has developed pneumonia. :(

Do not stay here, you're better off camping in a tent! (at least you'll have non contaminated air!)

HORRIBLE!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Love J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you Love J for your Feedback we do appreciate you taking the time to write to us and advise us of your concerns.
Being a large property set out on 15 Acres we pride ourselves in having lush tropical gardens throughout our property and our Bures hidden amongst these for privacy for our guests. We do have different wildlife such as Bush Turkey and Water lizards that roam through the Resort and find these add to the experience of Aanuka. I am saddened to hear that these hindered your experience here.
In relation to your Air-conditioning the property is very Eco Friendly and we operate a new Aircon OFF system. This means if there is no movement in the room for 30 minutes the air conditioner automatically shuts off. I apologise that you were not informed this and have taken corrective measure so guests are fully aware of our new systems we operate with. We do find that as soon as the air-conditioning are switched back on it only take about 15 minutes to bring the room back up to a comfortable temperature.
I have also passed your feed back onto our Food & Beverage Manager in regards to your dinner you had with us. We always strive to provide the highest service and quality in our FINZ restaurant and appreciate your feedback on this.
Once again Love J I thank you for your feedback and hope that one day in the near future you will give Aanuka the chance to show the true spirit of our property.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Had a lovely stay..and will return ..staff manager Thomas very helpful with minor hiccup on arrival.Could have stayed much longer..Food was excellent..2 bedroom Villa was clean and bed very comfortable , large enough for 2 families as there was 2 bathrooms and toilet downstairs..Cant wait to book in warmer months ..Mr and Mrs Horne Sydney

Room Tip: 2 bedroom villas have a pleasant walk to main office, breakfast, restaurant, bar..
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Hello Mr and Mrs Horne,

Thank you for your review on trip advisor, really glad you enjoyed your stay at Aanuka and the little 'hicup' was fix straight away allowing yourselves to get on and enjoy your stay.

I will pass Thomas on your feedback, although I am unaware of what your issue was on check in it is always best for guests to call/come to reception with any issues straight away so we are able to fix them and not interrupt your holiday. I ensure that the front office staff explain at the time of check in we do have someone here to assist 24 hours a day. (reception staff 0600-0000 and security 0000-0600). Everyone on the resort is here to ensure every guest has the best stay possible.


Look forward to seeing you in the future!

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Had a wonderful 1 night stay in a Paradise spa bure. Very clean, comfortable king size bed, air conditioning in lounge area provided good heating, fully equipped kitchen and even a washing machine provided. Bathroom was huge with lovely sloping glass roof over a massive spa bath - enjoyed a night-time spa under a full moon! Just a warning that the spa bath is so big it took almost an hour to fill. Excellent buffet breakfast with great views of the beach. 2 minutes walk to Diggers Beach which is so picturesque and flat to walk on. Would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Paradise spa bure room is lovely
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussiecruzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Hi There,

Thank you for your 5 star review. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Aanuka in your paradise spa bure. We hear all the time how much people love the big spa bath and laying in them looking up out of the large glass roofs of theses units.

we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Really enjoyed spending last week at the Aanuka Beach Resort. We booked a one bedroom Paradise Spa Bure and it was clean, comfortable and pretty spacious. The heat pump kept it warm as it was pretty chilly at night. The hotels location is excellent. Very quiet and a lovely short walk over the grass lawns to a beautiful beach with walks over the headlands at either ends. We swam in the sea with dolphins for company and dint see a cloud all week - bliss. The bar/cafe menu was very good and we had a nice meal in the restaurant too although the breakfast was expensive and a little disappointing. If I get a hot breakfast it should at least be hot rather than luke warm. But that is minor and I would certainly recommend for its location and amenities. All staff we spoke to were pleasant and the guy who checked us in was super friendly.

Room Tip: The larger two bedroom units over two floors are quite a walk from the main reception/bar/restaurant...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alastair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Hi Alastair,

Thank you for your review really glad that you enjoyed your stay on the resort, the weather here through the winter has been amazing, although as you stated a little cold overnight, however throughout the day you could mistake it for summer!

As for the breakfast not being hot I do apologies, I hope you were able to let the staff you duty know as they would have been more than happy to make up some fresh breakfast for you. That said I will pass the feedback on to the Food and Beverage Manager.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Aanuka and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The resort lists itself as 4 star resort but i would only give the spa villa that we stayed in a rating of 3 stars. The decor was a bit out dated. The resort grounds itself looked nice, we stayed in winter time and i imagine spring/summer would be the best time to visit to take advantage of the pools, beach and tennis courts. The resort is about 5 mins drive from town. Coffs Harbour itself was a bit of a disappointment for us, not much to do at all. Big Banana is just down the street so that was nice my kids spent a nice afternoon riding the toboggan. Like everything else the Big Banana requires $$$$ to do everything...

Breakfast at the resort was nice and if prepaid the night before is $20 an adult and $10 a child under 12 (hot and cold food).

No internet included you need to purchase it from a third party with a credit card which is a bit sad in this day and age.....

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beautifuleveryday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBruceOliver, General Manager at BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Hi There,

Thank you for your review on trip advisor, I am so happy you decided to start your day right with the resorts buffet breakfast, certainly is a good deal we have running currently. I will pass the information back onto the Food and Beverage manager.

As for your unit I am disappointed to hear that you were not happy with the standard, we are currently doing a lot of refurbishments throughout the resort. I hope that if you return as a guest to Aanuka in the future you will find a fresh up today apartment for your stay.

As for the other issue at the resort we do unfortunately not offer free wifi this is purely due to the internet being managed by a separate company, Our resort being across such a large area requires the internet to be constantly up kept and Our provider ensures that the whole resort is covered and the internet runs at a high speed for all users 24/7
Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.8 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#3 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#14 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
267 reviews
1.0 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#4 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
90 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort

Address: 11 Firman Drive | Diggers Beach, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#1 Spa Hotel in Coffs Harbour
Price Range: £77 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an absolute beachfront location BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort has magnificent ocean views from dining areas and is surrounded by acres of wide open parklands perfect for your next getaway. At the resort you can expect great accommodation, recreation and relaxation rolled into one and there are a range of facilities on offer ideal for couples and families. Choose from an outdoor rock pool with slide, children’s pool and play area, cave spas, tennis courts, mini putt putt golf, beach volleyball and Diggers Beach just a short stroll from your room. When it’s time to dine, choose from the award-winning Finz on the Beach or unwind at Casay on the Beach, both offering ocean views. Treat yourself to a Mi-Time Day Spa treatment for the ultimate in relaxation to help yourself unwind. At the resort you can choose from Studio Hotel Rooms, Paradise Spa Bures with spa baths and 2, 3 and 4 bedroom self-contained, air conditioned villas. Please Note**NO CANCELLATIONS OR AMENDMENTS** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Aanuka Beach Hotel Coffs Harbour
Hotel Breakfree Aanuka Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing