We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful easy feeling”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ladybirds Cafe - CLOSED

Ladybirds Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Peaceful easy feeling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Found this place on tripadvisor and had lunch on a cold and rainy day. It felt very homely with the white tablecloths, cushions on the chairs and they get the good china out for their visitors. The setting amongst the trees and flowers of the nursery is so tranquil. The food and coffee were both of a good standard. We liked it so much, we took our daughter and her partner back a couple of days later. The unusual thing was that on both occasions we were told to grab a table of our choosing, but then seemed to be forgotten and had to go to the counter to get our own menus. The service apart from that was excellent. Relaxation plus here. Five stars.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    4
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Peaceful setting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

I visit family in this area and come here each time. I love the garden shop and the nice china in the cafe. It's a very middle--aged clientele although I always seem to get a table next to loud talkers. This is usually a quiet spot although I noticed this time that there is increased traffic noise from the highway nearby. There was also some wood being sawn down by the pond uon the day I was there which was bad luck
Nice cakes, reasonable coffee and great presentation. Don't appreciate the eft-pos charge though as the food is the usual price and this leaves a bad taste in peoples' mouths just as they leave.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A really special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Located in the nursery at Garden Mania, it is a excellent place for a quiet coffee and cake. As others have mentioned, the cakes are wonderful and yes, too much choice. It is a quirky little place, old fashioned plates (your grandma had) and nice white linen table clothes, kind of vintage/retro with modern comforts. Staff excellent, service quick, full table service. Will have to try a high tea at some stage and will be back to try their lunches.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jofaseen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Delightful hidden gem with home baked goodies galore, great coffee and friendly service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

After reading previous reviews we had high hopes and were not disappointed. There were almost too many delicious baked goods to choose from, we had a mouth watering melting moment and a heavenly almond slice. The service was friendly and attentive and the coffee was great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Froggagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, beautiful food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

We are regulars at this restaurant and have always found the service to be fast and friendly, the food to be fresh and the coffee is perfect! The setting is unique as it is in the nursery at Garden Mania, so it is very relaxing. A lovely spot to catch up with friends and family.

Helpful?
Thank Looly1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Ladybirds Cafe also viewed

Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
 
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing