We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great!!”

Mr Deng's Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #42 of 214 Restaurants in Coffs Harbour
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great!!”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Read reviews on line about this restaurant and decided to try it out. Lived up to good reviews. Great food and good service.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank morriemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    46
    11
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST FOOD!!”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Went here with my mum who had heard about Mr Deng's and HAVEN'T stopped going back! Went three times in one week it's seriously THAT good!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linton32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I ordered takeaway last week and whilst it was delivered quickly and both the lady who took my order and the gentleman who delivered it were pleasant, I found the quality of the dishes to be haphazard.
Of the five dishes ordered, only the honey chicken and sweet and sour pork lived up to expectations. The beef with black bean was tasty but so stringy that my youngest described it as being like "eating bubble gum". The Lemon chicken even when drowned in lemon sauce was tasteless... and the duck... oh dear.
I ordered duck. I paid for duck. What I received was many things... but it was not duck.
All in all; I fail to understand why this has received so many positive reviews.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing meal”
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

A group went for a family birthday. The staff were very friendly and the shop was clean (lights too bright though for relaxed dining) but the food was disappointing. I had tofu & vegetables - big plate but not enough green veges and very hot in terms of chili but no flavor. I have a very dry mouth this morning from the salt or MSG. Price & size of meal good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
286 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Not sure what people are raving about??”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

May be there is so little competition in Coffs Harbour that this is a good option, I am really puzzled about the reviews. We went there for an early dinner. The waitress was lovely but managed to get our order wrong even though we were the ONLY guests in the whole place. I didn't think the prices were all that cheap with dishes in the $15-18 range plus $4.50 for a large serving of steamed rice. We also paid $8.50 for a tiny plate of tasteless noodles with hardly any veggies for my 4 year old. He ended up eating our food, as the portion was so small. I had the cashew chicken which was bland and the sauce was slimy. The garlic chicken was even worse. Very very average food and not cheap. Not my idea of decent Chinese food. May be it's Coffs where there are not many food option. Would this place be anywhere else, it would be nothing special.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AquaPacifica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mr Deng's Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
 
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
 

Been to Mr Deng's Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing