We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic break away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dolphin Sands Holiday Villas
Reviewed 31 March 2014

A friend and I stayed at dolphin sands for a weeks holiday, upon arrival the owners were very helpful and assisted us with activities to participate in during our stay. The cabins were fresh, clean and in a great location. The owners were very generous and allowed us a slightly later checkout so we were comfortable until our flight. I highly recommend this place for anyone needing either over night or longer stays as we had a very easy, relaxing and pleasant time

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stacie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder09, Owner at Dolphin Sands Holiday Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

GDay Stacie thank you for stay with us and taking the time to complete a review we do appareciate it and hope to see you again soon Graham & Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

My wife and I holidayed at dolphinsandscabins in Coffs Harbour for one week in early march. We found the units to be modern spacious and well appointed. We were happy with the location too it was in walking to the beach and the harbour. The owners were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancygracew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder09, Owner at Dolphin Sands Holiday Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

We are happy you enjoyed your stay and took the time to review us. Hope you can visit us again soon. Enjoy 2014 Regards Graham & Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Not again and recommended to have a look other option . Reviewed December 3
You would not believe the attitude of the owner at this cabin

We got charge on credit cards after we checkout and reason given is 15 min late then expected times !!!! $ 60 another charge for two cabins ... Cleaning staff expecting everything clean and they just came in room to check if u clean all and put all things back in place or they will charge u $ 100 on top of avcomodation cost ... Bugs are there in room and noisy fan with poor light ... Not going to stay again in life ..
Surreal too much....

Room Tip: Don't take a chance and don't ruin your holidays .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jignesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder09, Owner at Dolphin Sands Holiday Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

We do appreciate all reviews however we do request that they are completed truthfully and accurately.
Just some background, these particular Corporate guests were granted an extended check out of which they over stayed an extra 2hrs not 15min. Charge was $15 per villa per hour, a total of $60 this was a Sunday. Part of this group stayed in our 3rd bedroom villa, Dolphin Sands Villas are non- smoked in the bedroom left a drink cup with butts in it under the bed with ash over the floor. The smell in this bedroom after this guest stayed, between body odour and smoke was that disgusting that we had to have the villa closed for 5 days throw out the mattress & have the carpets and curtains professionally cleaned (the same thing had to be done to the 2nd villas bedroom which he only stayed in for just 1 night except we were able to save the mattress). These guests also placed all the cookware & crockery back in the cupboards still dirty and wet. Old food was left in the saucepans and the frypan was so badly burnt that it had to be thrown. We did try to assist these guests with their requests during their stay and make it enjoyable however they did take advantage of our generosity. Unfortunately this stay did not end on the best note with this guest. This man’s company did try to rebook the following week we gracefully declined their request.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I have just spent 8 relaxing days at my private 2-bedroom bungalow at Dolphin Sands, Coff’s Harbour. This property represents excellent value at approximately $100 per night during the winter season. I had fabulous sunny weather for the whole time at the end of August, which made sitting out on the private covered porch a nice treat.

This property is in a perfect location. Only a 5 minute walk to the endless beach and a choice of restaurants/bars/cafes – 20 minute walk to a large shopping mall with three grocery stores – about 30 minutes walk along either the beach or paved walkways to the marina and jetty. I walked everywhere, but there is a bus that passes right out front if you prefer to use public transit.

The cottage is very functional with two bedrooms, a washroom, a living/dining room and a kitchen with microwave, fridge and stove-top. While this is billed as a “luxury” resort, I would rate it as more moderate, offering fabulous value, service and cleanliness. My unit (#3) was a bit tired and worn and could use a new coat of paint and some touch ups – however, I found it to be extremely comfortable and felt as if I was in my home away from home. This property is always full, so it makes it rather difficult to do any refurbishing. This in itself speaks to the fact that this property is ideal just the way it is!

Free wireless is included as is use of the common bbq, small pool, hot tub and laundry facilities. Free cable including movie channels is another bonus.

The owner Janette is friendly and makes you feel truly at home. She told me all about the facilities nearby and where everything was located. She was always smiling and gave me her 24 hour phone number and urged me to call if I needed anything. The fact that no one has had to use this emergency phone number in 12 years says how well-managed this property is.
Highly recommend Dolphin Sands and would definitely book here again on a future visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svQuickStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder09, Owner at Dolphin Sands Holiday Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you so mutch for taking the time to do a review. So glade you enjoyed your break. Hope to see you next time you are over. Regards Graham & Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Dolphin Sands cabins are a good size (although only 2 of us). Cabin was reasonably clean - nothing to complain about, but not spotless. It could be freshened up with a coat of paint and a few repairs to water damaged sections in the bathroom. Quiet spot away from heavy traffic, but a bit of a walk to shops and food. WOuld stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Revelation780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder09, Owner at Dolphin Sands Holiday Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to do a review its appreciated.

Look forward to seeing you again soon

Graham & Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We stayed one night at Dolphin Sands on the way from Sydney to Gold Coast. The room was as described - no frills, spacious, clean and tidy. The location is very convenient to amenities and a nice walk to beach areas and some great cafes and restaurants on the foreshore. Staff were very helpful and friendly during check in and check out was arranged with no fuss. The price we received was very reasonable and we would happily stay here again for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OzFamily50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder09, Owner at Dolphin Sands Holiday Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

thank you for taking the time to review Dolphin Sands and we look forward to seing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

Nothing to write home about, our villa was clean and tidy. They just need an upgrade or freshen up, especially the bathroom. Owner very informative and knowledgeable on check in which was much appreciated. A little way out from the main shopping area but the weather was good for a walk to breakfast and dinner spots.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wileygirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
2.0 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#6 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#3 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
95 reviews
1.7 mi away
Matador Motor Inn
Matador Motor Inn
#12 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beachlander Holiday Apartments
Beachlander Holiday Apartments
#13 of 42 in Coffs Harbour
38 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pacific Marina Apartments
Pacific Marina Apartments
#10 of 42 in Coffs Harbour
217 reviews
3.5 mi away
Aqualuna Beach Resort
Aqualuna Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Sapphire Beach
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Sands Holiday Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Sands Holiday Villas

Address: 16 Prince St | Cnr of Hogbin Drive & Prince Street, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Coffs Harbour
Price Range: £61 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dolphin Sands Holiday Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would love to have you stay with us at Dolphin Sands Holiday Villas, which has a rating of 3 1/2. Dolphin Sands Holiday Villas are situated 100m from Coffs Harbours main beach. In flat strolling distance to Park Beach Bowling Club, Pub, Restaurants, shopping centre and great fishing spots. Dolphin Sands is the perfect place from which to explore the many attractions Coffs Harbour has to offer, or just to relax and enjoy yourself around the pool & spa. The luxury villas are fully self-contained, air-conditioned, all have 2 bedrooms with lounge, kitchen, dining, and bathroom and with parking next to your villa. FEATURES: Quiet Facility, Wireless Internet, Fully self-con kitchen, In-Ground Pool, HEATED Outdoor Spa, BBQ area, Rev Cycle Air-con & Fans. We have a Villa with Disabled facilities. Most Villas have a queen bed in the main & 2 singles in the 2nd Br L shape loungeroom with leather lounge, 81cm LCD HD TV, DVD Player, Free Foxtel, Free Linen, Free Parking next to the villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dolphin Sands Holiday Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing