We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stop over on long drive”
Review of Matador Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Matador Motor Inn
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2011

After drving 535km we arrived at Matador Motel on the Pacific Highway which was so easy to find and I was all psyched as we hadn't stayed in a motel since the early 90's in New Orleans, it was as you'd expect clean and a bit 70's-ish and with lovely staff . Nearly made the mistake of booking the motel by the 'Big Banana' but trip advisor mentioned the word cockroaches. Tip: City centre closes at 6pm so we headed out for some libations down Harbour Drive (where there is no harbour in sight!) but there was restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eire-ette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2011

Booked this hotel for just one night with a friend as we we're going out that night and I live out of town. Checked in at 7.30 pm and went up to our room. We we're there from 7.20-9.30 getting dressed, doing the usual talking and laughing that people do. Left and went out and came home at around 3.30 am. We're very quiet so as to not wake anyone. Open the door to find a threatening note stating "KEEP YOUR BLOODY NOISE DOWN OR LOOK OUT." as two young women alone in a hotel we didn't feel safe so we called reception and the owner came up. His first response was to look at the note and go. "So? just get into bed and be quiet and nothing will happen to yous." We're very upset with his manner of dealing with this, we told he we did not wish to stay at the hotel after receiving such a note and as we'd only been in the hotel for two hours and there was no mess etc. He told us he had to pay for house cleaning and everything else so it wasn't possible and kept pushing for us to just go to bed. He was rude, not understanding at all why we wouldn't feel safe and in fact made us feel threatened. We left and were left on the side of the highway until we got a lift. Worst/scary experience.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nottoknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dash01, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2011

We are sorry you felt this way. Up until you went out you were very noisy , laughing, talking as you do while getting ready, We the owners gave you some leeway as it was early but we have a lot of elderly guests and it was hard to hear the TV with the noise you were making. When you arrived back at 3.30am you were not as quiet as you thought you were. When you found the note and rang my husband he went straight to your room, read the note and said he would not wake everyone else in the place to find out who wrote the note. He did suggest you go to bed but in no way was he rude about it, He offered you another room, you said no. He offered to drive you home ( about 30 kms away) you declined. You rang the police, they heard both sides of the story and said we could not have done anymore for you. One of you rang a relative who was here inside of 10 minutes (30 kms go figure) and my husband stayed with you until the relative arrived. At no time were you left on the highway on your own nor were you under threat from another person. If you stay at a motel to go out partying please consider other guests and keep the noise down.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Please see my earlier feedback on this motel. I have now been staying with Gary, Denise and Brandon for 3 nights a week for the best part of 6 months - after this time if there was anything wrong with the motel I would have found it! Beds - great, towels - great, service - great (and friendly), cleanliness - great, noise - yes, you do hear the odd truck but having stayed at about 10 motels in Coffs the noise is less than most - and so is the cost. There is no point paying an extra $30 or $40 a night for the same quality across the road when their noise is worse.

The Matador is at the top end of the motel 'strip' and is definatly the best when it comes to the things that matter - and having tried them all I know that I am right.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honesttravel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

We arrived Matador Motor Inn very late at night and was glad that our rooms are still available. Denise and her son gave us a warm welcome. As we have 2 infants n lots of luggages, they even shifted the car lot for us so that we can unload our luaggage without climbing the steep slope. And his son also help to carry our heavy luggage to our room.

The king room we stayed in had a bed bigger than king. But the shower room was little old n need some refurbishing. The location was right beside the Motorway and is easy to locate. Conveniently we can just hit on the road to our destination Goldcoast the very next day. The noise volumn as mentioned in other reviews are minimal & bearable maybe the room we had is not facing the motorway directly. We did not have much chance to experience the motor inn as our stay was just overnight. But the hospitality & friendliness of Denise & Son was warmly felt even during the short encounter. They also try to help us get information of the attractions we wanna visit in Palm Beach. Overall, I will recommend anyone to stay for the hospitality of the owner but do not expect too much for the room. Thou the furnishing is old but it's clean.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twinkle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Offered to pick me up free of charge! So so friendly, extremely clean room, went out their way to make sure I was comfortable

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snapper116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Not a place for the light sleeper.
If its not the traffic on the highway keeping you awake all night, its the drunks stumbling home from the pub just down the road.
I guess I should have realised with its position on the corner of a busy highway intersection.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fizzBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

I have been visiting Coffs Harbour every week now for 6 months and have really struggled to find a motel that is comfortable, well located, offers great service, and is well priced. I discovered the Matador 3 weeks ago and will not be looking any further, it is just spot on. The owners have done a lot of work, the rooms are spotless, the service is great, I can walk to work or to have a meal or drink; and the price is well under what I would have expected.

I have no hesitation in recommending the Matador to all.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honesttravel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.6 mi away
The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#13 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
193 reviews
1.8 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#3 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Motor Inn
Premier Motor Inn
#15 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
40 reviews
1.9 mi away
Park Beach Resort Motel
Park Beach Resort Motel
#5 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matador Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matador Motor Inn

Address: 11 Grafton St, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#5 Business Hotel in Coffs Harbour
Price Range: £66 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Matador Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Matador Motor Inn has been operating continuously for more than 40 years and been a home away from home in Coffs Harbour for thousands of guests. In fact the Matador is one of the most popular stop-overs for travellers on the Pacific Highway travelling between Sydney and Brisbane. We have completed numerous refurbishments so now more than ever the Matador is a fabulous choice if you are looking for boutique style motel accommodation. You can enjoy a stay in clean and comfortable rooms. We offer a choice of room configurations: from premium queen and king rooms to twin and family room options. All rooms offer comfortable beds, quality interiors and amenities, LED TVs, Foxtel, ipod docking stations, Lanovera personal products, a tea and coffee larder with quality supplies, toaster, kettle, iron and ironing board and private dining space. All rooms face due north and upper level offers district views. Select family rooms offer a private balcony. We offer an outdoor pool and guest lounge to relax and enjoy as well as a quality, in-room breakfast package. Select pet-friendly rooms are also available, but regretfully we only accept small dogs 10kg and under. Not only is the Matador a regular choice for holidaymakers, it is also very popular with business travellers. We offer free WIFI, a desk area for your laptap or tablet and lounge access. Regular corporate clients are also eligible for special corporate rates so please make inquiries with our friendly team. The Matador provides off street and undercover parking but we must limit parking to one car per room.We wish you safe travels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Matador Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matador Hotel Coffs Harbour
Matador Motel Coffs Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing