We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Matador Motor Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Bananatown Motel(Coffs Harbour)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Coffs Shearwater Motel(Coffs Harbour)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Toreador Motel(Coffs Harbour)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Motor Inn(Coffs Harbour)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bentleigh Motor Inn(Coffs Harbour)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
93
89
22
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
89
22
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanpacific highwayroad tripundercover parkingconvenient locationstay there againa great place to stayfree wifieasy accessthe managersthe gold coastacross the roadmiradormotelsydneyretrohosts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed in a family room. It was quite average. The lay out of the room was poor. It was noisy and the bed wasn't overly comfortable. I booked online, the photos were deceiving. On the up side the staff were lovely and helpful and very accommodating. We had breakfast in our room which was also nice.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oli d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Went to the Matador last month with my wife for a week away from the rat-race of life & found it to be quite a great little motel.

You have to remember......This is a MOTOR-INN .......... NOT A HOTEL!!

The rooms were very clean & tidy with a MASSIVE King size bed & flat screen tv's. The shower is a bit dated, although very clean. Service was very impressive - more like service from a big luxury hotel but without the huge cost! The motels location is excellent with at least 3 pubs, the shopping mall, atm's, bottle shops, take away shops, banks & heaps of other stuff ALL within 5 minutes walking distance. The highway noise is not that bad & no different to any other motel situated along the highway. Undercover parking is also available at the motel.

I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND the Matador Motor Inn to ANY traveller planning on heading to or through Coffs Harbour.

Room Tip: King size beds are HUGE!!!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We were travelling from Brisbane to Wollongong and had originally planned to drive the entire distance in one trip, however, due to unexpected delays found ourselves in Coffs Harbour at 7pm with nowhere to stay. We tried a number of hotels before reaching this one, but all either had poor standards of cleanliness, rude staff or exorbitant rates.

The Matador was our last attempt and we were very happy on meeting the owners. They were very accomodating, even assisting us to shuffle cars so we could park closer to our room rather than carry our heavy cases up the stairs. They also made some great suggestions for a late dinner which we followed, and were very happy with.

Our room was large, particularly for the price we paid and was immaculately cleaned. The bed was bigger than a standard king and was exceptionally comfortable, and the shower had excellent water pressure and temperature.

While our room was very close to the highway, we barely heard the traffic at all. The furniture was a little dated, but was well cared for and as mentioned, everything was spotless, so this was not really a point of consideration.

Our checkout was easy and again, the owner impressed me with her lovely demeanor and helpful tips.

We travel to Brisbane by road regularly, and will now stop at the Matador on all of these trips. Despite the VERY low price, the service was equal to that of many 5 star hotels I have stayed in.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, request a room away from the highway if possible.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CherryDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

After drving 535km we arrived at Matador Motel on the Pacific Highway which was so easy to find and I was all psyched as we hadn't stayed in a motel since the early 90's in New Orleans, it was as you'd expect clean and a bit 70's-ish and with lovely staff . Nearly made the mistake of booking the motel by the 'Big Banana' but trip advisor mentioned the word cockroaches. Tip: City centre closes at 6pm so we headed out for some libations down Harbour Drive (where there is no harbour in sight!) but there was restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eire-ette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Booked this hotel for just one night with a friend as we we're going out that night and I live out of town. Checked in at 7.30 pm and went up to our room. We we're there from 7.20-9.30 getting dressed, doing the usual talking and laughing that people do. Left and went out and came home at around 3.30 am. We're very quiet so as to not wake anyone. Open the door to find a threatening note stating "KEEP YOUR BLOODY NOISE DOWN OR LOOK OUT." as two young women alone in a hotel we didn't feel safe so we called reception and the owner came up. His first response was to look at the note and go. "So? just get into bed and be quiet and nothing will happen to yous." We're very upset with his manner of dealing with this, we told he we did not wish to stay at the hotel after receiving such a note and as we'd only been in the hotel for two hours and there was no mess etc. He told us he had to pay for house cleaning and everything else so it wasn't possible and kept pushing for us to just go to bed. He was rude, not understanding at all why we wouldn't feel safe and in fact made us feel threatened. We left and were left on the side of the highway until we got a lift. Worst/scary experience.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nottoknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dash01, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2011

We are sorry you felt this way. Up until you went out you were very noisy , laughing, talking as you do while getting ready, We the owners gave you some leeway as it was early but we have a lot of elderly guests and it was hard to hear the TV with the noise you were making. When you arrived back at 3.30am you were not as quiet as you thought you were. When you found the note and rang my husband he went straight to your room, read the note and said he would not wake everyone else in the place to find out who wrote the note. He did suggest you go to bed but in no way was he rude about it, He offered you another room, you said no. He offered to drive you home ( about 30 kms away) you declined. You rang the police, they heard both sides of the story and said we could not have done anymore for you. One of you rang a relative who was here inside of 10 minutes (30 kms go figure) and my husband stayed with you until the relative arrived. At no time were you left on the highway on your own nor were you under threat from another person. If you stay at a motel to go out partying please consider other guests and keep the noise down.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews