We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good service”
Review of Matador Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Matador Motor Inn
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Service was very friendly and helpful.
Room was very good value for money.
I was upgraded from a queen bed to a king bed room.
The only comment I would make is that I didn't need a king bed just for myself and the king bed left little space in the room to move around.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

Dear Mark - many thanks for writing a review on your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback. We recognize business travellers and repeat guests and do our best to meet their particular needs. Now that we have your comments, we will look to accommodate your requirements when next you stay with us. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2013

Having read very positive reviews I decided to stay here en route from Sydney to Brisbane. I was very much impressed with everything from the service to the quality of accommodation. I arrived with two young children weary from the journey and jumped straight into the very clean and nicely warm pool. Room was spotless and was a nice meeting of retro decor, comfy beds and mod cons (strong wifi signal and good digital TV). Proprietor was charming and friendly and his recommendation of simple but tasty pizza restaurant (Lakiss Jetty Pizza) was a huge hit with me and two hungry kids. There was a toaster and kettle in the room but no microwave so may not suit those planning to cater for themselves here. I was slightly concerned, on arrival in our ground level room beside reception, that proximity to the highway would mean disturbance from traffic noise but I heard nothing and we enjoyed a very peaceful and comfortable night's sleep. I have stayed at equally clean and comfortable motels but the retro furnishing, chilled ambience and peerless service give the Matador an edge over the competition. I look forward to staying here in future and would recommend to others without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are very short walk from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APINOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Many thanks for your detailed review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay as we do try hard to meet expectations. We ourselves have been travelling for many years and have stayed in various styles of accommodation. Our aim is to blend these experiences, the Matador's history with the service and comfort demands of today. It is always gratifying when this all comes together and is recognized by our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Can't praise highly enough. when we arrived there was beautiful chill out music playing in the reception. The host was extremely pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. I would not hesitate in recommending The Matador.
Thank you Dean for all your help during our stay.

Steve & Fiona

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STEPHEN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Dear Steve and Fiona - I shared your feedback with Dean and we are both delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We were also very pleased you noticed some of the details we have introduced to make our property different from others. We strive hard to ensure each of our guests has a good experience and look forward to welcoming you back when next you travel our way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Booked this motel online after finding it on trip adviser and was very pleased with our decision. Paid for a queen and got a free upgrade to a king room on arrival. The room was very clean and furnishings in excellent condition.

The motel is well located for travellers, being on the highway and close to centre of town however the beach is about a 10 minute drive away. The owner was also very nice and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crest6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Many thanks for your kind comments and feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and were happy with the choice you made. We look forward to welcoming you back when next you travel to Coffs Harbour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I had two great stays at the Matador this summer. Both times I've felt like a VIP. Roger and Dean both went the extra mile to make sure that I had everything I needed.

Dean ordered me a Pizza because I didn\t have a phone and then surprised me by getting a china plate and silverware out of the kitchen!

The rooms have everything you need, the bed's are super comfy and the decor at the pool is a nice surprise

You don't have to guess where I'll be staying next time I'm in Coff's Harbour!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmthistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Dear Ms Thistle - thanks so much for providing feedback. We are humbled by your comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again when next you travel through Coffs Harbour. All the best and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed overnight with a 2yo and found this a pleasant stay. We just had a standard king room which was a little on the small side and didn't have a microwave. The shower was a nice size and the room was nicely furnished. The most memorable part though, was the owner, who couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The hotel was close to a Woolworths and a short drive to the CBD and restaurants. Traffic was a bit noisy though. Overall a nice stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room a bit furthur from the reception as the customer service was a bit noisy too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomandmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Dear Amanda - thanks for the feedback. We are all pleased you enjoyed your stay. Perhaps next time it will be less busy and therefore even more enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back when next you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

The Matador was a blessing during a very long car trip for our family. The beds were warm, soft and comfy. The rooms were small, but meticulously clean and suited our needs for the night. The decor was gorgeous - it was lovely (and refreshing) to see that some of the retro features were not-only retained, but also reinvigorated. The newly-renovated features of the bathroom was beautiful and the whole experience - from the foyer space, to the communal living room, to the bedrooms - was just what we needed. Thank you for a brief, but pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paola Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Many thanks for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to provide feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.6 mi away
The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#14 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
201 reviews
1.8 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#6 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour
Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour
#36 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
451 reviews
1.7 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
285 reviews
1.7 mi away
Royal Palms Motor Inn
Royal Palms Motor Inn
#1 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matador Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matador Motor Inn

Address: 11 Grafton St | Cnr of Pacific Hwy and Albvany Street, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#5 Business Hotel in Coffs Harbour
Price Range: £65 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Matador Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Matador Motor Inn has been operating in Coffs Harbour as an accommodation haven continuously for more than 40 years and has been a home away from home for thousands of guests. Just five minutes’ walk to the central business district, the Matador Motor Inn is one of the most popular accommodation stop-over Motels in Coffs Harbour. For the travellers, we are situated halfway between Sydney and Brisbane. The Matador Motor Inn with its relaxing atmosphere is the choice of many travellers on the Pacific Highway. Late check-in by arrangement only please call. Having completed numerous refurbishments leveraging the property’s ’70s heritage, now more than ever the Matador is a fabulous choice if you are looking for affordable, boutique motel accommodation and outstanding customer service. You can enjoy your stay in clean, comfortable and stylish rooms. We offer a choice of configurations: from Premium Queen and King to Twin and Family room options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Matador Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matador Hotel Coffs Harbour
Matador Motel Coffs Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing