We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better”
Review of Matador Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Matador Motor Inn
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Much better”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I used to stay here every week when it was under prior management, but I have not had to go back to Coffs overnight for some time. The new owners are doing a great job and working on getting the little things right.

The only negatives - and these are really personal preference things: the chairs in the rooms look really pretty, but they are not comfortable for someone my size (I am nearly 6' 4"), and they have taken the mini bars out of the rooms.

Other than that a great stay, thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honesttravel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for writing this review we appreciate your time and feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and gave the new owners a chance by staying at our Motel we look forward your next stay, once again thank you for comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    84
    20
    8
    9
See reviews for
52
81
21
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

A small motel with few frills. A comfortable room and adequate bathroom. Clean and tidy.
No restaurant which would have been welcome on a cool rainy miserable night but there are lots of restaurants within a reasonable distance. Not very expensive so fair value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review we appreciate your feedback. We hope to welcome you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Where can i start.
We decided to go up to coffs harbour for Easter break we booked a mid range motel so expected it to be of a standard but not a expensive luxury motel. After a 8.5 hour drive me arrived and were greeted by a pleasant lady who checked us in and also gave us some local knowledge which was handy. We followed the lady upto our room she showed us in and told us about various things like how to turn all appliances and lights on which was a sort of main board by the bed which seemed to me to be quite old and strange you had to flick various switches to turn the tv and lamps on which was simple to use. She then left and we unpacked grabbed a shower to freshen up after a long hot days drive we went into the town had a drive around and found a steak house ( outback jacks ) had a nice simple steak and returned to the hotel. On the Saturday morning we got up at about 9am went to the harbour and had breakfast and found the local dive shop and booked 2 dives for sunday out on a boat dive. We returned to the hotel about 6:30pm to find our room was serviced and clean towels and bed made which was done to a good standard. On sunday we got up early and left to go diving as we left we saw the chamber maid and said good morning later that day we returned about 7pm after a long day to find our room had not been serviced the wet towels were still in the shower awaiting replacing the tea and coffe was not replenished there was dirty mugs on the side and the bathroom had not been touched neither the bed. I went down to reception were i saw the male owner i asked him is there a reason our room had not been serviced so he got his partner she came out with a proper attitude and said was i sure so we went upstairs to show her she walked in grumpy and down right rude and said well you didnt put the service sign up in the window.I said what service sign first we had known about such thing especially as the day before our room was done. She replied that we should of put a sign in the window so the maid knew what rooms to do but we were not even told about this procedure. She then said were is the sign we replied we have no idea and she turned around and said the sign was in the room when we came on friday so we must of either taken it or hid it ( how pathetic ) i said that there was no such sign and she argued she told us and there was a sign so my wife got down checked under the beds no sign i then requested that the room be done she said no not at this time i said it has to be done we need towels and all the rest she then stormed off brought 2 towels threw them on the side and took the others she then went out again and got some coffee and tea but never cleaned the bathroom not the sink or toilet and was very stroppy going on about this sign saying that we had taken it and it was not funny. Now my wife is getting upset being branded a thief which was so out of order and very offensive. I then asked for her to make the bed she refused to do this saying she had a bad back and would not do it so then my wife asked her to leave she did slamming the door.
We then made our bed and were still in shock that she accused my wife and i of taking a sign and being thief's we double checked the room no sign was there at all.
The next day we left to go home and checked out nobody was around so we left when i got home i emailed booking.com and told them about the experience they finally replied saying they contacted the hotel and they said they were not in the wrong.... The owners branded us as thief's how disgusting is that.
I'm so annoyed about this firstly being treated and spoken to so rudely and also being accused of theft i felt i had to let people know about this and hopefully make people aware of the motel and how much of a bad experience we had.
I'm still chasing a days refund from this motel as we simply paid for a service and they didn't give us the service which is wrong also were still upset at the rudeness and accusations that the lady made.
Please read this review before booking i am sad Ive had to write a bad review but i have had to do this and let people know.

Room Tip: Every room is so in need of a coat of paint and updating its old and worn
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jiggsyPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

In my capacity as a medical professional, I visit the Coffs Coast regularly, on most occasions, I happily choose the Matador, renovated, clean, great hosts (you know who you are guys :) ) with quite a homely feel. I enjoy my time in the Coffs Coast very much, very clean air, thanks for reading.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
We thank you for taking the time to post this review your feedback is appreciated.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We've stayed here 3 time now. It's a nice little hotel with friendly staff. The rooms are a little old, but it's a great place to stay when you need a bed. Clean, great staff, right on the highway. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaclyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for your feed back is very much appreciated we look forward to seeing you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cessnock, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

No hot water or barely enough to fill a jug our 8 year old had her shower quick as you coould imagine my wife went to have hers and not enough hot water to have a proper shower . I went to see the lady at reception and she said sometimes if everyone has a shower at the same time it takes a while for the water to heat up again.I then tried and hour later still not hot tired again in early hours of the morning before leaving for home still not hot sent email to the motel and magements response the water was hot in the kitchen and no one else complained about it definately drive all the way home from Brisbane rather than stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leslan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
We are sorry to see this review on Tripadvisor and to hear the comments made as we have exchanged several emails regarding this subject.
The facts are that no problem with hot water either by myself or our plumber could be found all we can say is that we have had numerous guests in that room both before this guest and after and no one person has commented regarding hot water.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed here for one night over the Easter Long weekend. Great price considering it was peak time. Staff very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and sufficient. Not too noisy considering it was on the highway. Great value for money. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us we look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
1.8 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#4 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
78 reviews
1.7 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
256 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Big Windmill
The Big Windmill
#9 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#13 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
184 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Palms Motor Inn
Royal Palms Motor Inn
#1 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
543 reviews
2.7 mi away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#3 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
2,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matador Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matador Motor Inn

Property: Matador Motor Inn
Address: 11 Grafton St, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#5 Business Hotel in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Matador Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Matador Motor Inn has been operating continuously for more than 40 years and been a home away from home in Coffs Harbour for thousands of guests. In fact the Matador is one of the most popular stop-overs for travellers on the Pacific Highway travelling between Sydney and Brisbane. We have completed numerous refurbishments so now more than ever the Matador is a fabulous choice if you are looking for boutique style motel accommodation. You can enjoy a stay in clean and comfortable rooms. We offer a choice of room configurations: from premium queen and king rooms to twin and family room options. All rooms offer comfortable beds, quality interiors and amenities, LED TVs, Foxtel, ipod docking stations, Lanovera personal products, a tea and coffee larder with quality supplies, toaster, kettle, iron and ironing board and private dining space. All rooms face due north and upper level offers district views. Select family rooms offer a private balcony. We offer an outdoor pool and guest lounge to relax and enjoy as well as a quality, in-room breakfast package. Select pet-friendly rooms are also available, but regretfully we only accept small dogs 10kg and under. Not only is the Matador a regular choice for holidaymakers, it is also very popular with business travellers. We offer free WIFI, a desk area for your laptap or tablet and lounge access. Regular corporate clients are also eligible for special corporate rates so please make inquiries with our friendly team. The Matador provides off street and undercover parking but we must limit parking to one car per room.We wish you safe travels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Matador Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matador Hotel Coffs Harbour
Matador Motel Coffs Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing