We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place to stay......”
Review of Matador Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Matador Motor Inn
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“What a great place to stay......”
Reviewed 9 May 2010

I have been visiting Coffs Harbour every week now for 6 months and have really struggled to find a motel that is comfortable, well located, offers great service, and is well priced. I discovered the Matador 3 weeks ago and will not be looking any further, it is just spot on. The owners have done a lot of work, the rooms are spotless, the service is great, I can walk to work or to have a meal or drink; and the price is well under what I would have expected.

I have no hesitation in recommending the Matador to all.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honesttravel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    82
    20
    8
    9
See reviews for
52
81
21
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2010

Really nice hotel with very friendy owners. There are five of us in our family and the room was big and easily accomodated us and our luggage. I do recommend this hotel, it is ideal however its worth pointing out that its near to the main road and the big Trucks were noisy during the night! Otherwise perfect.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magnet356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brit moving to Auz
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

The motel is in a good location only a few minutes walk from the centre of town, very close to many other motels. The staff are very helpful and friendly an offered advice on places to eat that night. The pool wasn't up to much. The room itself is older in style and tired but it was spotlessly clean. Its not fancy but I would stay there again as a short stop over. We were in a king room and the bed was absolutely huge. We only stayed one night but the room had everything we needed, tea coffee making facilities, fridge and a TV with the movie channels.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Upsticks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wallerawang
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2010

I cant believe this hotel gets good reviews, It is quite disgusting and definately not a 3.5 star, more like a 2 star. It is dirty and very old. The room is very dated, around the 1970's and has an old smell. We had to park our vehicle in an open underground area and then walk up a steep driveway to get to reception. The reception area is untidy and a blue heeler dog greets you with a bark. No one on reception and told that the dog lets people know if someone comes in. Very interesting! The TV is so old that the sound is hard to understand and a waste of time trying to watch and hear. I dont know if we just got a terrible room, but we were very dissappointed. This place is horrible, stay away!! there are lots of hotels in Coffs and signs out for around $70 per night. I will wait until I get to a township from now on and check the accommodation before checking in. I have never done this before, but will from now on. Once caught, but never again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rose120859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dash01, Lessee at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this review, 3 May 2010
We are sorry you felt this way about our motel. If you had a problem why didn't you say something when you checked out? We always ask our guests if they slept well and if everything else was OK. The bed in the said room is only 6 months old and while the TV is old it is not as bad as you portrayed.
If you had brought these grievances to our attention we would have been only too happy to rectify this.
While our bathrooms are old and dated we try to maintain the cleanliness to a high standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2010

It was pouring with rain when we arrived and we were able to unload our luggage under the shelter of the driveway, before parking the car underneath the motel. Room was spotless and the bed was comfy. Tea and coffee provided.
Breakfast came on time, which is a plus, as I think most people only stay o/night on their way to and fro between Brisbane and Sydney. Bathroom could be updated, but it was clean and the towels were soft.
We were in room No. 1, which is away from the Pacific Highway and on the same level as the front desk, so ask for this one if you want a quiet room with a window overlooking the neighbourhood. Check in and out was efficient and fast. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nek88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

I stayed at this motel on my way back from QLD in a King Room, If your looking for an overnight stay in Coffs Harbour i can highly recommend this motel. The rooms are clean, have an older executive look but the furniture is all in new condition so the rooms are well maintained and clean. The beds are a Hollywood King so they are even larger then a normal king which is something different. The motel is on the main highway so some rooms would have some road noise but the King rooms are down the other end so i didnt have much road noise. The owners of the motel are also very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Superior_Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tweed Heads
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2009

Most definately Gary & Denise are FRIENDS now I have stayed at their motel. I have now stayed with them many times. The rooms are great and wonderfully quiet. If there is one symbol to paint on their signs it should be Thumbs Up.

Clean, quiet, great service, what more can we ask for. Oh yes, I forgot, a price that does not interfear with your holiday. I have stayed in several high class ritzy motels over the years. Do they in any way compare to the Matador Motor Inn? NO WAY.

Will I ever recommed them to anyone else? To late, I have already put a recommedation on several Naval sites.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xstoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
1.8 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#4 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Big Windmill
Comfort Inn Big Windmill
#9 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.7 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Royal Palms Motor Inn
Royal Palms Motor Inn
#1 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
1.9 mi away
Park Beach Resort Motel
Park Beach Resort Motel
#5 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Zebra Motel
Best Western Zebra Motel
#12 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matador Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matador Motor Inn

Property: Matador Motor Inn
Address: 11 Grafton St, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#5 Business Hotel in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Matador Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Matador Motor Inn has been operating continuously for more than 40 years and been a home away from home in Coffs Harbour for thousands of guests. In fact the Matador is one of the most popular stop-overs for travellers on the Pacific Highway travelling between Sydney and Brisbane. We have completed numerous refurbishments so now more than ever the Matador is a fabulous choice if you are looking for boutique style motel accommodation. You can enjoy a stay in clean and comfortable rooms. We offer a choice of room configurations: from premium queen and king rooms to twin and family room options. All rooms offer comfortable beds, quality interiors and amenities, LED TVs, Foxtel, ipod docking stations, Lanovera personal products, a tea and coffee larder with quality supplies, toaster, kettle, iron and ironing board and private dining space. All rooms face due north and upper level offers district views. Select family rooms offer a private balcony. We offer an outdoor pool and guest lounge to relax and enjoy as well as a quality, in-room breakfast package. Select pet-friendly rooms are also available, but regretfully we only accept small dogs 10kg and under. Not only is the Matador a regular choice for holidaymakers, it is also very popular with business travellers. We offer free WIFI, a desk area for your laptap or tablet and lounge access. Regular corporate clients are also eligible for special corporate rates so please make inquiries with our friendly team. The Matador provides off street and undercover parking but we must limit parking to one car per room.We wish you safe travels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Matador Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matador Hotel Coffs Harbour
Matador Motel Coffs Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing