We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Matador Motor Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Bananatown Motel(Coffs Harbour)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Coffs Shearwater Motel(Coffs Harbour)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Toreador Motel(Coffs Harbour)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Motor Inn(Coffs Harbour)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bentleigh Motor Inn(Coffs Harbour)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
93
89
22
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
89
22
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanpacific highwayroad tripundercover parkingconvenient locationstay there againa great place to stayfree wifieasy accessthe managersthe gold coastacross the roadmiradormotelsydneyretrohosts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
198 - 203 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2010

I have been visiting Coffs Harbour every week now for 6 months and have really struggled to find a motel that is comfortable, well located, offers great service, and is well priced. I discovered the Matador 3 weeks ago and will not be looking any further, it is just spot on. The owners have done a lot of work, the rooms are spotless, the service is great, I can walk to work or to have a meal or drink; and the price is well under what I would have expected.

I have no hesitation in recommending the Matador to all.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honesttravel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

Really nice hotel with very friendy owners. There are five of us in our family and the room was big and easily accomodated us and our luggage. I do recommend this hotel, it is ideal however its worth pointing out that its near to the main road and the big Trucks were noisy during the night! Otherwise perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magnet356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

The motel is in a good location only a few minutes walk from the centre of town, very close to many other motels. The staff are very helpful and friendly an offered advice on places to eat that night. The pool wasn't up to much. The room itself is older in style and tired but it was spotlessly clean. Its not fancy but I would stay there again as a short stop over. We were in a king room and the bed was absolutely huge. We only stayed one night but the room had everything we needed, tea coffee making facilities, fridge and a TV with the movie channels.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Upsticks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

I cant believe this hotel gets good reviews, It is quite disgusting and definately not a 3.5 star, more like a 2 star. It is dirty and very old. The room is very dated, around the 1970's and has an old smell. We had to park our vehicle in an open underground area and then walk up a steep driveway to get to reception. The reception area is untidy and a blue heeler dog greets you with a bark. No one on reception and told that the dog lets people know if someone comes in. Very interesting! The TV is so old that the sound is hard to understand and a waste of time trying to watch and hear. I dont know if we just got a terrible room, but we were very dissappointed. This place is horrible, stay away!! there are lots of hotels in Coffs and signs out for around $70 per night. I will wait until I get to a township from now on and check the accommodation before checking in. I have never done this before, but will from now on. Once caught, but never again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rose120859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dash01, Lessee at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2010

We are sorry you felt this way about our motel. If you had a problem why didn't you say something when you checked out? We always ask our guests if they slept well and if everything else was OK. The bed in the said room is only 6 months old and while the TV is old it is not as bad as you portrayed.
If you had brought these grievances to our attention we would have been only too happy to rectify this.
While our bathrooms are old and dated we try to maintain the cleanliness to a high standard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2010

It was pouring with rain when we arrived and we were able to unload our luggage under the shelter of the driveway, before parking the car underneath the motel. Room was spotless and the bed was comfy. Tea and coffee provided.
Breakfast came on time, which is a plus, as I think most people only stay o/night on their way to and fro between Brisbane and Sydney. Bathroom could be updated, but it was clean and the towels were soft.
We were in room No. 1, which is away from the Pacific Highway and on the same level as the front desk, so ask for this one if you want a quiet room with a window overlooking the neighbourhood. Check in and out was efficient and fast. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nek88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews