We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard, clean & affordable”
Review of Toreador Motel

Toreador Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Toreador Motel
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Standard, clean & affordable”
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

My partner & I booked this to break up a trip during Easter long weekend from Syd to Gold Coast.
Your standard motel with no great expectations on our part. The owner was friendly, the room was clean & basic with free wi-fi.
There was a screw lose on the bathroom door knob & the sink drain stank & needed cleaning but otherwise both were minimal issues.
We would stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MS1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    29
    21
    8
    4
See reviews for
18
36
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tweed Heads
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I have been coming to visit Val & John for 2-3 years now. The times I have been here alone, with my wife and also to check town for our 42nd year of our Navy joining have always been as clean, well catered, and close to all sites have been marvellous for us. As a point of having a clean well laid out BBQ area was a lot like Alice In Wonderland.

For our members to have a wonderful time having Barbies ETC, without worrying Val and John or other in house Guests a perfect "no headache".

My wife both having the chance to stay here as a couple or each alone make the other half able to stay at home without a worry about each other.

Can we tick all 4 sorts of trips below. Even with traffic up and down on the highway, it doesn't take long to forget.****************************************************

Room Tip: Keep eyes ope for Visitors Centre and turn right going north or left going south when you see them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xstoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

John and Val are lovely people. After having troubles we needed accommodation at 8pm for myself and my young family. It was no hassel at all to put us in a room. They where very welcoming and are family friendly. The place was clean and had tea and coffee facilities. We then had breakfast there before going out for the day and the food was nice.

Great value and very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Had room 19, which was the last available room. It is well away from the highway, so you would think that would make it quiet, but the noise from the ceiling fan (clunk, clunk, clunk) and then the airconditioner, which sounded like a truck in our room made it impossible to sleep well. There was tea and coffee making equipment, which was good. The bathroom was not clean, dirt and dust built up over the years, and the face washer smelled awful, and there were cockroaches in the room. We left very early in the morning as we couldn't stand being in there anymore. Yuk.

Room Tip: Don't go there or at least avoid room 19,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liznnev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John and Val S, Owner at Toreador Motel, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
We are disappointed to read this review as we work hard to keep our rooms clean and pest free- in fact recent guests commented to us on the cleanliness of this room. Most of our guests leave very happy and those who have a genuine concern raise with us on departure so we can attend to.Judging by the other hotels Nev & Liz have stayed in and reviewed they should have chosen a 5 star resort to meet their expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Coffs Harbour hotels

Glen Innes, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Nice and clean. John, the owner was fantastic and went out of his way to assist us with accommodation. We rang at 5pm New Year's Eve and job found us a room. Room was clean and very spacious with a king size bed. Grat value.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John and Val S, Owner at Toreador Motel, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Thanks for this - we aim to provide the best service we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I'm a business traveller,(my company pays, and I requested this place over more expensive rooms) my wife accompanies me, and we like this place a lot. John & Val the owners are incredibly friendly, the rooms are clean, the beds comfortable. Sorry, that's all I need in an hotel/motel. Close enough to walk to CBD. We're regulars and will stay that way.

Room Tip: Expect road noise, it's right by the Pacific Highway, that's called convenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nazeingian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John and Val S, Owner at Toreador Motel, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Thanks for this great review - your appreciation endorses the hard work we are doing to improve the motel to encourage guests to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

The people who run it are very friendly and helpful.
The room allocated to me is right next to the highway. Quite noisy at night as many trucks passing through during the night.
Unfortunately, the room is very basic. And it seems to be the case when you travel with your pet.
Same room as the others but charge more.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David97sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John and Val S, Owner at Toreador Motel, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Our Pet Friendly rooms are always very popular and we are frequently told "good value for money".
Unlike our other rooms they are equiped with vinyl flooring for easy cleaning and after each pet stay sprayed and thoroughly cleaned.
Pet rooms are located close to garden area for exercise and toiletting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.7 mi away
The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour
Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour
#33 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
421 reviews
1.6 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#4 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Motor Inn
Premier Motor Inn
#15 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
33 reviews
1.6 mi away
Royal Palms Motor Inn
Royal Palms Motor Inn
#1 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toreador Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toreador Motel

Property: Toreador Motel
Address: 31 Grafton St, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Toreador Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Toreador Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toreador Hotel Coffs Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing