We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very relaxing,laid back resort.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smugglers on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Morisset, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very relaxing,laid back resort.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We found the accomodation very spacious and well equipped. After spending 3 days essentially cooped up in a tiny studio in Byron(weather wasn't their fault) that cost a fair bit more than Smugglers, we were very pleasantly surprised. Great location and beautiful gardens added to an enjoyable stay. Would definitley return.

Room Tip: pool view rooms lovely. At our age-60-downstairs is better. Don't have to haul luggage upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    115
    29
    10
    3
See reviews for
158
122
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stopped over on our drive back from Byron to Sydney. I can see why it has a good rating. It's well priced and it's close to the beach but it's not the ideal place for romantic holidays or travelers looking for a quiet night's sleep. We were after something more high end and with a view since we were on our honeymoon but everything was all booked out so booked the Smugglers based on its rating.

The apartment was fine - some modern pieces and some older ones. Comfortable bed. Bathroom is older (fan and shower head in desperate need of replacement) but it was serviceable and clean. Powerful air conditioning unit was much appreciated.

Our real issue was with the noise and thin walls/floor. Unfortunately, we had a ground floor unit outside the pool so it was noisy during the day with kids playing. At night, we could hear babies crying, people walking above you, talking outside and our curtain was broken so it only half closed which mean little privacy from people walking past when you had the lights on at night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Rooms were spacious and very well equipped. Location on the beach is great.
Only downsides I could see was that there wasn't any lock or chain on the door to stop children from opening
on their own. Location also requires you to cook or drive to coffs

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cjlm45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walcha, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We found Smugglers to be a very pleasant place for a quick trip to catch up with friends. It is in walking distance to a nice little beach where we swam each day and wandered along the sand. The site itself is showing signs of age, but still a good value place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wauchope
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

This was my fifth visit to Smugglers on the Beach and I will definitely be coming again. It is in such a peaceful and quiet location but still an easy drive into town. The apartments are well maintained and the staff are friendly and helpful. I love coming here!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
249 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

What a great find this place was, and it was purely by chance. It is away from the main area of town (approx 10 minutes). We had a two bedroom apartment which was upstairs (Two level apartments) with its own full length deck, BBQ, and table with seats. The unit was fully fitted out with full kitchen including dishwasher. Double spa bath, and air conditioning. The styling of the apartments is older but fully maintained, and the rooms are perfectly clean. There was a lot of personal decorations throughout the unit adding a nice warm touch. The staff were fantastic and so accommodating. They even offered a selection of DVDs for free although a charge was supposed to be applied.
The last great feature is that you are almost on the beach excepting for a thin line of trees, and what a great beach, which is the only sound you here all day and all night, wonderful, no traffic.
We cannot recommend Smugglers highly enough.

Room Tip: If you want a great value quality place to stay in Coff's Harbour, check out Smugglers
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

I love this place, have stayed here before and this time was just 1 night, perfect location, close to the beach, the 1 bedroom I stayed in is perfect, everything you need if right there.The staff are great and always willing to help with everything so you have a comfortable and happy stay.Looking forward to staying there again soon, this time for a week.I call it my little hide away 2nd home.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydneygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort
1.8 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#4 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#13 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#9 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.8 mi away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#3 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,161 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nautilus Beachfront Villas & Spa
Nautilus Beachfront Villas & Spa
#26 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers on the Beach

Property: Smugglers on the Beach
Address: 36 Sandy Beach Rd | Korora, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Smugglers on the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers On The Beach is absolute beachfront accommodation located just five minutes north of Coffs Harbour's City Centre. Coffs Harbour accommodation at its finest, Smugglers On The Beach offers 16 fully self-contained resort style apartments. Nestled among tropical gardens, all apartments have their own private patio or balcony overlooking the pool, floodlit gardens or magical Pacific Ocean. The large apartments are designed and custom furnished to provide plenty of space for a relaxed and comfortable holiday, with attention to the minor details that help to make your holiday in Coffs Harbour a special one. With 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments we can cater for everyone from the solo traveler, couples, large families right through to large group bookings for weddings, sporting events, family reunions or almost any other occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smugglers on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing