We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude inflexible reservation staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BreakFree on George
Ranked #92 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Attempted to redeem a much advertised coupon and was met with rude, rigid and inflexible reservation staff, so were unable to use our coupons at all. Therefore wasted $260 on this hotel. They would not budge an inch to meet us 10 percent of the way, let alone half way with anything at all regarding our reservation, so we lost all our money and couldn't use our coupons at all. At the end of the day the hospitality industry relies on, and deals with people, human beings. Our experience with attempting to make a reservation at this hotel using a coupon system which they offer, we found to be inhospitable. The opposite of what hospitality should be about.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rina P, Front Office Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear john g,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience with our reservations department. I am sorry to hear that you have experienced disappointment during your reservation process.

Although we had clear block out dates and terms & conditions stated on the voucher, quite a
lot of additional dates were also heavily booked due to huge response with voucher promotion.

Please do not hesitate to contact myself directly via rina.park@breakfree.com.au to discuss this further hence I can explain the hotels position.

Thank you again for your review and hope to have opportunity to welcome you back to BreakFree on George in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rina Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,009)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,640 - 1,646 of 2,009 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed as 4 adults in a 2 bedroomed apartment on the 13th floor for 4 nights. The second bedroom was definitely bijou. Ensuite bedroom wasn't over large but the bathroom was!
Balcony definite bonus. Extended living area and gave great views (especially at night). Kitchen was very well equipped inc. washer/dryer, microwave, oven, gas hob and dishwasher. Décor and furnishings definitely in need of some TLC.
Staff were very helpful.
This hotel is located in Chinatown and the lobby (during the day) seems to be used as a cut-through between George Street and Sussex street and is, therefore, usually very busy! You may wonder at times if you are staying in Australia or China.

Room Tip: George Street is a very busy/noisy street. Rooms on higher floors may help to reduce this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pamela633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rina P, Front Office Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Pamela633,

Thanks for your taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.
It's pleasing to see that you enjoyed your stay and found the benefits of our 2 Bedroom Apartment with things such as a private balcony, fully equipped kitchen and laundry facility.

I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the team and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to BreakFree on George again soon.

Kind regards,
Rina Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This was an excellent find. Within walking distance of Circular Quay, Chinatown and much more. Very pleasant & helpful staff. Room was clean, airy, comfortable and modern. Bed was very comfortable. We could see Chinatown from our window. So many places to eat on George Street. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lowprofile1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rina P, Front Office Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear lowprofile1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at BreakFree on George. It is certainly pleasing to hear you found our room comfortable and friendly team that we pride ourselves on.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rina Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Our room was very comfortable and included a kitchenette with small lounge, a double bedroom, a luxury bathroom and a small balcony. All was kept spotlessly clean and I could not fault the service. Some rather uncouth guests in the lobby on one occasion did not really mar our experience.
In the heart of Haymarket, the area abounds with Asian eateries with Sydney's Spanish Quarter just a few blocks away. An unassuming takeaway establishment across the road sold us the most wonderful pizza! For the purchase of groceries there are shopping centres close by and Paddy's Market is almost on the doorstep.
Buses leave from outside the hotel and trains can be caught from central station or town hall station, both just a few blocks away. See all the sights of Sydney or visit theatres, restaurants and fabulous shops. Don't miss the incomparable Queen Victoria Building!
Friendly and helpful reception staff topped off a wonderful weekend for us!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mermaid277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rina P, Front Office Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Mermaid277,

We thank you for sharing your experience at BreakFree on George and positive comments in regards to our apartment, location and front desk team. Your feedback is certainly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rina Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This was our second trip to the BreakFree On George. Unfortunately the rooms where never cleaned or vacuumed and we stayed for 6 nights. The sheets where never changed and we had to ask for the table on the balcony to be cleaned more than once and the balcony floor to be washed. I do not think we will be going back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rina P, Front Office Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Lianne P,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback from your recent stay at BreakFree on George.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the standard of housekeeping service you have been provided during your stay. I regret the shortcomings in service you have reported from housekeeping and our Housekeeping Manager will certainly address this with her team members.

Please do not hesitate to contact myself directly via rina.park@breakfree.com.au if I can be of any further assistance.

Regards,

Rina Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My sister and I stayed here for a long weekend last week, and I have to say the location was perfect for my needs as I needed to be within walking distance of the Convention centre. The room had plenty of floor space and was clean and the bathroom whilst old looking was clean. There is a Starbucks across the road and a coffee/deli within a 2 minute walking distance that is open 24hrs. I was happy with me stay and look forward to staying there again on my next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 26mangoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rina P, Front Office Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear 26mangoes,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Rina Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

littel hotel on the center of china town! Walking to all the attraction , no breakfast but the room are spaces . we have a room on 10th floor , not very quite but urban. On the front desc you can take an exctra towels or pillow. Nearbuy a rang of restaurants and the peddes market for shopping!!!

Room Tip: Only high flour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yasmin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rina P, Front Office Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Dear Yasmin M,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.
BreakFree on George is the perfect place for a short walk from major Paddy's Market and I’m pleased to see that you enjoyed our convenient location.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sydney.

Kind regards,

Rina Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#51 of 180 in Sydney
350 reviews
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oaks on Castlereagh
#68 of 180 in Sydney
724 reviews
Central Business District
APX World Square
APX World Square
#112 of 180 in Sydney
377 reviews
Meriton Suites
#8 of 180 in Sydney
5,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree on George

Address: Pacific International Apartmen 653 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £99 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree on George 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
35 minutes from Sydney airport and a short stroll from Chinatown, The Star Casino, Sydney Entertainment Centre, Paddy's Market, Darling Harbour, vibrant night life and shopping. Consisting of newly refurbished studios, one and two bedroom apartments, with high-speed broadband access, pay-to-view movies, selected Foxtel channels, lounge and dining area. Most apartments have private balconies (available on request), fully-equipped kitchen in two bedroom apartments, kitchenette in studios, one bedroom apartments, washer/dryer available in all two bedroom apartments, individually controlled air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities. Guest services include 24 hour reception, concierge and same day laundry service. Please provide blankets for the Baby Cot. Maintenance Notice: BreakFree on George is planning an upgrade of rooms from 10 July until 15 October 2017. The hotel plans to minimise disruption towards all guests, but apologises there will be some inconvenience incurred. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your BreakFree on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree On George Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing