We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location Sydney”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BreakFree on George
Ranked #90 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Central location Sydney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great place to stay in Sydney. Central to Thai town and China town. Paddys market really close. Short walk to most attractions or you can catch the 555 free bus and see the city. Darling harbour is only a five minute walk and at night the city light are spectacular.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rina P, Front Office Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear rob m,

Thank you for the wonderful review on your recent stay at BreakFree on George.

Our hotel location is certainly one of our competitive strengths which is near to major attraction and entertainment venues.

Once again, thank you for your valuable and positive feedback and we look forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Rina Park
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    718
    397
    120
    102
See reviews for
579
449
95
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I recently stayed here with friends for a one night stay as we were going to the theatre. Easy check in / out service with friendly staff. We stayed in the open plan room with a separate main bedroom, two bathrooms and two single beds and a sofa bed in the main area. Nice clean and tidy kitchenette area. The shower / baths while clean, look a little dated and will probably be due for a renovation soon. We also found the room to be quite noisy - admittedly we were only on the first floor but 3 out of 5 of us were woken by a group of guys fighting in the street below at 1.30am.

Beds were very comfortable and the pillows were AMAZING! Would be happy to stay again if on a higher floor to escape any street noise.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sachabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rina P, Front Office Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear sachabella,

Thank you for choosing BreakFree on George for your recent stay.

We are very delighted to hear that you were happy with our room and service offered by front desk team. I will definitely share your compliments to our team members.

I would like to extend my sincere apologies for unfortunate experience that you have mentioned.
We have addressed your feedback and will look into this matter further for improvements.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you again soon at our hotel.

Kind regards,

Rina Park
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Only stayed one night, great location, the staff were lovely and very helpful, the room was a good size and comfortable. The only negatives were no parking you had to park else where, and it was very noisy, didnt get much sleep from traffic on george street. Was on the 12th floor. But all in all very good.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonsofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rina P, Front Office Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear sonsofa,

Thank you for staying at BreakFree on George and we appreciate your kind feedback.
I am so delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us, especially when you mentioned on our helpful front desk team.

Unfortunately being in such a central location can easily attract noise from the street. However to ensure pleasant stay for our guests we are currently looking at number of different options to minimize street noise.

Once again, thank you for your valuable review and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rina Park
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

The location of the hotel is easy to find from Central Station as it is on George Street facing Sussex Street. We stayed for 3 nights. As we arrived at 11.30am the lovely lady behind the reception asked us if we would like to place our bags in the locked storeroom until check in at 2pm. We accidently left our bags on the trolley next to the storeroom & when we came to collect them we were told that they had been taken to our room. This was fantastic service for a small hotel. Any question we asked at the desk they were only too happy to help, even booking our airport shuttle for us, which arrived when it was supposed to. Our room (1213) was comfortable and the furnishings look rather new. The street noise wasn't too bad. We were so tired after sightseeing all day that that didn't bother us. The free 555 bus stops just metres from the front door to the hotel this takes you into the city & up as far as Circular Quay. Very happy with our stay here and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unclebuckMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rina P, Front Office Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear unclebuckMelbourne,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay experience at BreakFree on George. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our central location and hospitality offered by front desk team.

It was indeed a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards,

Rina Park
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Our holiday was only for 6 nights but we could not fault this place. It is in a great location with the bus stop practically at the door and the Capitol Theatre just across the road. Paddys Market and Enterainment venues were all close by. What we wanted was a clean, comfortable apartment which was handy to transport etc as we are not as fit as we used to be and this one filled our expectations admirably.

Bev F

Room Tip: We were on the 11th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rina P, Front Office Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Beverly F,

Thank you for your kind review of BreakFree on George!

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the overall atmosphere of the hotel and the location was a convenient for you.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Sydney.

Kind regard,

Rina Park
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salamander Bay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Location is great for top end of city, between Sussex St and George St., with free green shuttle bus service to The Quay - Central operating 9:30 - 3:30pm. Bus stop near hotel entrance. Entertainment venues close by. Queen studio was comfortable, clean and had been refurbished. If windows closed properly would help dampen street noise. Reception staff friendly and helpful. On departure, the desk-booked airport shuttle bus provided an on-time and quick service. Happy with my stay at Breakfree on George.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 567Mollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rina P, Front Office Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear 567Mollie,

Thank you for the wonderful review on your recent stay at BreakFree on George.

We are delight to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will surely be sharing this positive review with our team members.

We certainly look forward in welcoming you back once again.

Kind regards,

Rina Park
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

While the location was great allowing easy access to Paddy's markets, free bus, capital theatre the traffic noise was horrific. Being on the main street of Sydney the noise from the street below went almost 24 hrs.
we booked 2 rooms to sleep 1 adult and 2 children in each, studio room included a small kitchen. on arrival the beds where made up as singles but still butted together instead of being separated and there was no bedding provided for pull out couch. there was also only 2 plates, no pots or large bowls to allow for any cooking.. These problem did get sorted but we really shouldn't have had to ask for these simple things to be done.
rest of the service was good, the fact that they will hold your bags for you before and after check out is great.
Would stay here again for 1 night if I was going to a show at theatre but not for the 3 days we stayed just simply because of the noise disturbing your sleep.

Room Tip: maybe if you could be higher up the noise wouldn't be s bad, but we where on the 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rina P, Front Office Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Paula M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with BreakFree on George. I am pleased to see that you found our location and service by our team to your liking.

I do sincerely apologise for the inconvenience you experienced in regards to the noise issue.
We are in the process of looking at the different options to minimize traffic noise.

Thank you again, your feedback is important to us and we hope to welcome you back to BreakFree on George in the near future.

Regards,

Rina Park
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney World Square
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#76 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree on George

Property: BreakFree on George
Address: Pacific International Apartmen 653 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree on George 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sydneys entertainment precinct, BreakFree on George Sydney offers accommodation to suit both business and leisure travellers. Just 35 minutes from Sydney airport and close to Capital Square Lightrail Station, Chinatown, The Star Casino, Sydney Entertainment Centre, Paddy's Market, Capitol Theatre, Sydney Entertainment Centre, Cockle Bay and Darling Harbour. BreakFree on George Sydney gives you access to all Sydney has on offer. The accommodation at BreakFree on George Sydney consists of studios, one and two bedroom apartments, all with high-speed broadband access, pay-to-view movies, selected Foxtel channels, lounge and dining area. Most apartments have private balconies (available on request), fully-equipped kitchen in two bedroom apartments, kitchenette in studios, one bedroom apartments, washer/dryer available in all two bedroom apartments, ISD/STD direct dial phones and voice mail message service, individually controlled air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities. We offer guest services at BreakFree on George Sydney including 24 hour reception, concierge and same day laundry service. From your doorstep take a short stroll and sample the best that Sydney City has to offer with multi-cultural dining, vibrant night life and a host of bars, clubs and entertainment catering for all ages and budgets. If shopping is on your wish list, the designer boutiques of Pitt Street and the bustling market style of Sydneys famous Paddys Markets are both within close proximity of BreakFree on George Sydney. BreakFree on George Sydney caters to a diverse range of travellers and is well suited those looking for affordable inner-city accommodation. Please provide your own baby blankets for the Baby Cot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BreakFree on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree On George Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing