We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BreakFree on George”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BreakFree on George
Ranked #96 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We had a lovely experience staying in this hotel. Our trip was quite disjointed so we stayed for 6 days over a period of two weeks. The staff were so helpful. They kept our large luggage in storage for us while we took short trips. The location is very central, quite near to Darling Harbour. Rooms are very spacious and bright.Staff very friendly and chatty and very professional. Only negative thing is they don't have a stairs!!!!
We found all the staff lovely but especially Julius and Bart who went out of his way to be especially helpful. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 601TrishD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rina P, Front Office Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Dear 601TrishD,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

It was definitely a pleasure to have you here at BreakFree on George and I am glad that you had an enjoyable time. I will be sure to share your valuable feedback with the team.

Thank you and looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Rina Park
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,644 - 1,650 of 2,126 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and i stayed here for a couple of nights before our cruise. It was nice, clean and comfortable. We couldnt fault it as we booked it for a really good price! Close to supermarkets, shopping malls and food courts.

Thanks

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rina P, Front Office Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Dear Bek D,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience with us at BreakFree on George.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel’s convenient location and our comfortable rooms.

It will certainly be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rina Park
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed there overnight. It was clean but very noisy and on an intersection, so not much time to sleep. Some of the staff were friendly but others could hardly direct you out the door. Better places to stay in sydney

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Sharport67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rina P, Front Office Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Dear SPortelli,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

Whilst we have shared your positive comments with our team, we strive to continuously improve our services and facilities.

We do hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to stay with us in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rina Park
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here in February. We had a two bedroom apartment with kitchenette on the 18th floor. Two good sized bedrooms and lounge/ kitchenette. Large balcony - if you have a head for heights. Hotel is in a good location. Within walking distance of the railway station and the buses pass by the front entrance to the hotel. Very close to the shops - supermarket and restaurants. On arrival in Sydney we bought a ticket that allowed us to use the trains, ferries and buses (there are also free buses that pass the front door). We also walked to Darling Harbour and although it was a good walk - down to Sydney Harbour.

The hotels was clean and the reception staff helpful. I was celebrating my 65th birthday whilst staying there and reception left a bottle of wine and some nibbles in our room - which was a lovely touch and very much appreciated.

There is a little coffee shop across the road and for the price of a cup of coffee you can get free wifi.

Room Tip: If you are sharing with another ensure that you have a two bedroomed apartment and not a one bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SuenBrianSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rina P, Front Office Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Dear SuenBrianSolihull,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing your wonderful experience on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to read your sincere and thoughtful review on reception staff. Your wonderful compliments will be shared with our team and this will certainly inspire us further in our strive for service excellence.

We are truly grateful for your positive feedback and look forward to creating another memorable experience on your next trip to Sydney.

Kind regards,

Rina Park
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Breakfree was a good choice for a quiet night right in the middle of Sydney. The reception staff were efficient and friendly. The only downsides were a cramped bathroom and a lack of free wifi. There is no way that a hotel can be rated 5 stars with costly wifi wireless access - most hostels have free wifi so it is hard to believe that hotels still do not.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Stevokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rina P, Front Office Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Dear Stevokid,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
We value your comment and suggestion to help us to serve our guests better.

We look forward in welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rina Park
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

staff very friendly and extremely helpfull.
situated in china town close to pubs and resturants.
walking distance to darling harbour.
our room was self contained with decent size fridge, microwave coffee maker cutlery etc.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Egidio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rina P, Front Office Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Dear Egidio R,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We will definitely share your positive words with the team.

We do hope you will take the opportunity to stay with us again when your plans bring you back to Sydney.

Kind regards,

Rina Park
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is a reasonably-priced hotel located close to the centre of Sydney. On the plus side you're really close to shopping (there's a supermarket and a range of shops located a block away in World Square), and several good restaurants (try Casa Astuarina on Liverpool Street for some great Spanish food).

Parking is off-site (just across the street, but still a hassle if you're not travelling light), there is no pool/gym, etc., and the reception can be a bit slow, but all in all it's a great spot.

Room Tip: Rooms facing George Street (the main street in Sydney) can be very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alex_Roach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rina P, Front Office Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Dear Alex_Roach,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your comments are indeed valuable to us, as they help us in our commitment to exceed guest expectations and create memorable experience for all our guests.

We are delighted to receive your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rina Park
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#51 of 181 in Sydney
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Veriu Central
Veriu Central
#152 of 181 in Sydney
2 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree on George

Address: Pacific International Apartmen 653 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £79 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree on George 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
35 minutes from Sydney airport and a short stroll from Chinatown, The Star Casino, Sydney Entertainment Centre, Paddy's Market, Darling Harbour, vibrant night life and shopping. Consisting of newly refurbished studios, one and two bedroom apartments, with high-speed broadband access, pay-to-view movies, selected Foxtel channels, lounge and dining area. Most apartments have private balconies (available on request), fully-equipped kitchen in two bedroom apartments, kitchenette in studios, one bedroom apartments, washer/dryer available in all two bedroom apartments, individually controlled air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities. Guest services include 24 hour reception, concierge and same day laundry service. Please provide blankets for the Baby Cot. Maintenance Notice: BreakFree on George is planning an upgrade of rooms from 10 July until 15 October 2017. The hotel plans to minimise disruption towards all guests, but apologises there will be some inconvenience incurred. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BreakFree on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree On George Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing